HDMI Audio not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-04-2011, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
licnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all

my computer is both an htpc and a workstation so it is connected with HDMI to an onkyo avr and to a monitor with vga. My OS is win 7 64. The problem is that I cannot seem to find any way to enable HDMI solely for audio while working on the monitor. Windows seems to require video to be fed at the same time. If I disable the video to the onkyo that I have HDMI to, the audio properties become greyed out "not plugged in" and I cannot use the audio.

Is there anyway to enable HDMI audio within windows without being forced to pretend it is a monitor?

Video card: Geforce GT 240
Receiver: Onkyo HT-RC360
licnyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-04-2011, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Does your video card have a dvi and hdmi connection? If it does, you could connect the monitor via dvi as display 1 and the avr via hdmi as display 2. Then, extend your desktop to display 2.
audit13 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-04-2011, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
licnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Does your video card have a dvi and hdmi connection? If it does, you could connect the monitor via dvi as display 1 and the avr via hdmi as display 2. Then, extend your desktop to display 2.

Thanks. I discovered that there is no way one can stream only audio. HDMI works only if the video feed is present. So your solution works but I will be losing the mouse cursor on the second screen. Also I can't clone as my monitor is not widescreen.

How crazy is that? Couldn't they allow audio only when the designed HDMI? It almost made me regret the purchase of the new receiver as I still have to connect the htpc to avr using hdmi and spdif.
licnyc is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-05-2011, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by licnyc View Post

Thanks. I discovered that there is no way one can stream only audio. HDMI works only if the video feed is present. So your solution works but I will be losing the mouse cursor on the second screen. Also I can't clone as my monitor is not widescreen.

How crazy is that? Couldn't they allow audio only when the designed HDMI? It almost made me regret the purchase of the new receiver as I still have to connect the htpc to avr using hdmi and spdif.

Hmm, that's weird becuase I can stream hi-def flac files to my avr with my monitor turned off or on.
audit13 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-05-2011, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
licnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Hmm, that's weird becuase I can stream hi-def flac files to my avr with my monitor turned off or on.


Do you mean that you are streaming flac to avr using hdmi without streaming video to avr at the same time? That's strange-I thought this was impossible.
licnyc is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-05-2011, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It is impossible. HDMI requires a video signal for the audio signal to piggyback. He's just not seeing the cloned/extended desktop that is going to the AVR.

Edit: (this is what I get for skim reading).

Even though his monitor is turned off, the HTPC is still sending a video stream to the AVR.
vladd is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-05-2011, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by licnyc View Post

Do you mean that you are streaming flac to avr using hdmi without streaming video to avr at the same time? That's strange-I thought this was impossible.

Yes. I have an hdmi cable going to the avr, dvi cable to the tv. Audio is not carried over the dvi cable; therefore, I can only hear sound when the avr is running.
audit13 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off