HDHomerun Prime Owners Thread - Page 71 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2103 Old Yesterday, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
action_jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
On Moto, solid amber is good. Slow blink or red is bad.


I assume you have the TA plugged into coax and USB, right? And your cable card is showing activated?


Remember when you talk to Charter, pretend you have a Tivo. If you mention homerun, they'll only get confused. If you get the right person, they should be able to get everything working over the phone. My last activation took about 10 minutes start to finish, a new record for me and Charter.
The TA has an amber light.

Where the line comes into the house and connects to my cable modem, the technician installed a splitter with one wire to the cable modem and one to the TA RF IN. There is a Coax cable running from the out of the TA into the RF IN on the hdhr. There is also a UBS cable connecting the TA to the hdhr.

The cable card is activated and I am able to view many channels. I have not had much time to mess with it since it was connected Monday right before I went into work. Tech said it was set up and I needed to wait for all the channels to load or something like that. On Tuesday I checked it and several channels were working, but some were not. My signal strength is only around 75 to 80 percent and shows up either red or yellow, never green.

What does the TA do? I know they keep talking about all the clear qam channels being fased out soon and that I need a box for each television. Does the TA allow me to get the digital channels or something?

Epson Home Cinema 3010 Projector____Paradigm 9SE MK II Main LR
Yamaha RX-V667 AVR_______________Paradigm CC-270 V.3 Center
Emotiva UPA-5 Amplifier______________Paradigm PS-1200 Sub
Sony BDP-570 Blu Ray_______________Polk bookshelf for Surrounds
action_jackson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2103 Old Today, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by action_jackson View Post
What does the TA do? I know they keep talking about all the clear qam channels being fased out soon and that I need a box for each television. Does the TA allow me to get the digital channels or something?
In short, the TA provides the two-way communications with the headend that are required to receive channels that are transmitted as Switched Digital Video (SDV). SDV channels are not streamed continuously on a fixed channel & subchannel. They are only streamed from the headend to your SDV group when at least one customer in that SDV group has requested (tuned to) that channel.

When you tune to an SDV channel, the tuning adapter sends an upstream request for that service to the headend. If you are the first subscriber in your group to request that channel, the headend routes the transport stream for that channel to an available RF channel/subchannel, and then reports to your TA what that channel/subchannel is. The TA then supplies that information to your CableCard tuner so that it can tune to the temporary RF channel/subchannel for that service.

If you are NOT the first subscriber to request a particular SDV service in your group, then the transport stream routing would already be in place at the headend and the headend only has to inform your TA of the existing channel assignment. Typically, a list of the currently running stream assignments (called a carousel) is regularly broadcast to and stored by all STBs/TAs. This gives them a chance of tuning an SDV channel even if upstream communications needed to request a particular stream setup is temporarily interrupted.

If you are the only subscriber watching a particular SDV service and you tune away from it, the streaming of that service will be discontinued and the channel/subchannel it was occupying will be returned to the SDV pool, available for reassignment to a new SDV channel request.

The whole point of SDV is to be able to offer more services in the same RF bandwidth since services not currently being viewed can be turned off instead of occupying bandwidth with a transport stream that nobody is watching. Heavily viewed services like ESPN, USA, TNT are typically not run as SDV services since the likelihood is very high that somebody will always be watching them. Cable ops need to carefully monitor and manage several parameters to insure that an SDV system operates seamlessly from the perspective of the subscriber, including: the specific services run under SDV, the amount of bandwidth allocated to SDV, and the number of subscribers in an SDV group must be carefully balanced to avoid exhausting the pool of SDV slots available. When that happens, you get the dreaded "channel temporarily unavailable, please try again" message. (Note: that message can also be caused by interruptions in the two-way communications with the headend... often caused by things a subscriber might do within his own home beyond the control of the cable op... loose connections, added splitters, adding an amplifier without a(n) (active) return path, etc.).
slowbiscuit likes this.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11


Last edited by jcalabria; Today at 05:00 AM.
jcalabria is offline  
post #2103 of 2103 Old Today, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
On Moto, solid amber is good. Slow blink or red is bad.


I assume you have the TA plugged into coax and USB, right? And your cable card is showing activated?


Remember when you talk to Charter, pretend you have a Tivo. If you mention homerun, they'll only get confused. If you get the right person, they should be able to get everything working over the phone. My last activation took about 10 minutes start to finish, a new record for me and Charter.
I have the Cisco TA and it is green but blinking is bad. Solid green is good. Mine's solid green so all is well for me..

Sammy2 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off