HDHomerun Prime Owners Thread - Page 90 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 71Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2671 of 2681 Old 06-19-2016, 12:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,920
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
You can use a Win7 PC for recording.

There are still things to finish before it will be acceptable for most people. The biggest things DRM and the ability to pause live tv. It is also doesn't have a progress bar when watching recordings, and if you stop watching a recording you can't start playing it again where you previously stopped watching it yet.

I have moved most of my recording schedule from WMC over to the HDHR DVR but I still use WMC for some things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
You don't have to use the DVR app for playback. I use Plex or Kodi.
I finally had a chance to play around with this and I have a few questions.

Win 10,
The HDHR DVR app seems to work fine on Win 10, I can watch and record everything except DRM'ed channels(just the premiums on my Comcast system) which is to be expected. My questions are, is there a way to have the guide show just the channels I want or do I have to have all of them? And what are the transport commands for keyboard/mouse when watching live and recorded? And are there any tricks to using the Discover feature other than using the search box and/or just scrolling through all the plates/banners, can the display manner be changed, alphabetized for example?

Win 7,
Also, I don't see any DVR functions/buttons when launching the HDHR View app on the Win 7 machine, I'm guessing I'll need a third party app like Kodi or Plex to initiate recordings on that machine?

I realize I can find answers for these questions at the SD forum but sometimes you have to really search and drill down through threads to find them, I figured here might get quicker results.

Thanks

Last edited by Keenan; 06-19-2016 at 12:58 PM.
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2672 of 2681 Old 06-19-2016, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 3,805
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1228 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Win 10,
My questions are, is there a way to have the guide show just the channels I want or do I have to have all of them?
You can disable individual channels in channel lineup section of the tuner's webpage. Click the star once to make it a favorite channel, click it again to disable. This does not have any affect on WMC.

Quote:
And what are the transport commands for keyboard/mouse when watching live and recorded?
There is no pause/rewind/ffwd in live TV yet. You can use the arrow right/left keys to skip forward 30 seconds and 10 seconds back. Use the up arrow to skip forward 10 minutes and the down arrow for 10 minutes back.

Quote:
And are there any tricks to using the Discover feature other than using the search box and/or just scrolling through all the plates/banners, can the display manner be changed, alphabetized for example?
The only thing you can do is hide programs you aren't interested in. Once you hide a program it won't show up in discovery again. You can do a search for .hidden (the dot is not a typo). That will show you the programs that are in the current guide listings that you have hidden so you can un-hide them if you change your mind.

Quote:
Win 7,
Also, I don't see any DVR functions/buttons when launching the HDHR View app on the Win 7 machine, I'm guessing I'll need a third party app like Kodi or Plex to initiate recordings on that machine?
We need to use Kodi with the HDHomeRun add-on to access the DVR on Win7 PCs.
Ken.F is offline  
post #2673 of 2681 Old 06-19-2016, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,656
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1241 Post(s)
Liked: 388
fyi:

Your tuner's homepage is myhdhomerun.com
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #2674 of 2681 Old 06-19-2016, 02:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,920
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Great, thanks guys!
Keenan is online now  
post #2675 of 2681 Old 06-19-2016, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Maybe it's just the time warner customers under the new charter (spectrum) name that didn't have DRM stripped from the regular channels then cause there has been no change in mine.
DotJun is offline  
post #2676 of 2681 Old 06-20-2016, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,425
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Maybe it's just the time warner customers under the new charter (spectrum) name that didn't have DRM stripped from the regular channels then cause there has been no change in mine.
I'm not quite sure what you are saying here.. I'm on Charter and have been for years. I have DRM on all the Premium Channels (except an odd collection of just a few) but not really on the tier 1 or tier 2 Extra Channels..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #2677 of 2681 Old 06-20-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Maybe it's just the time warner customers under the new charter (spectrum) name that didn't have DRM stripped from the regular channels then cause there has been no change in mine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
I'm not quite sure what you are saying here.. I'm on Charter and have been for years. I have DRM on all the Premium Channels (except an odd collection of just a few) but not really on the tier 1 or tier 2 Extra Channels..
They haven't merged yet. Even when they do, it will probably be quite a while before anything changes. So I wouldn't expect Charter and TWC to have the same DRM'd channels.
mdavej is offline  
post #2678 of 2681 Old 06-20-2016, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
rc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
They haven't merged yet. Even when they do, it will probably be quite a while before anything changes. So I wouldn't expect Charter and TWC to have the same DRM'd channels.
They technically have closed on the merger, but yes, integration hasn't been done yet and probably won't be for a long time.
rc05 is online now  
post #2679 of 2681 Old 06-22-2016, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc05 View Post
They technically have closed on the merger, but yes, integration hasn't been done yet and probably won't be for a long time.
I believe that I read the target is 4th qtr 2017. So assuming everything works out, in 2018 all Charter, TWC, and Brighthouse users will merge to a common system (channels, packages, pricing).
btinindy likes this.

Last edited by Krispy Kritter; 06-22-2016 at 11:17 AM.
Krispy Kritter is offline  
post #2680 of 2681 Old 06-24-2016, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krispy Kritter View Post
I believe that I read the target is 4th qtr 2017. So assuming everything works out, in 2018 all Charter, TWC, and Brighthouse users will merge to a common system (channels, packages, pricing).


This is what I was wondering about. So I have to wait till 2018 before I find out if they remove DRM on half my channels huh?
DotJun is offline  
post #2681 of 2681 Old 06-24-2016, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 111
The View app is running native on 2016 Samsung TVs. This a full featured version of Homerun View.

If it finds the DVR on the local network it enables the DRV Gui features. It supports DRM channels. I am able to view all my Comcast channels as well as OTA from my Extend. Nice thing is the you only have the TV's internal upscaling so you get a nice image, no double scaling.. It isn't working on 2015 Samsungs but those models are rumored to get the new version of Samsung's Tizen TV OS in the fall, so the View will likely run on the 2015s at that point.
gtgray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off