Automatic renamer and file mover - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 51 Old 11-01-2011, 02:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djdcm0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a program that will rename TV shows based off of IMDB or TVDB and automatically move it to the specific TV show folder. Currently I download the show on my workstation, transfer it to my media server where I use The Renamer to change the file name then I manually move each show to its own folder. My file structure is as follows:

TV SHOW/
TVSHOW - S01E01 - Episode name
TVSHOW - S01E02 - Episode name

I do not have seasons broken down to seperate folders.

I want to set it up so that I download the TV show from the work station but at the same time have the file sent over the network to a transfer's folder on the server (I do not want torrent programs running on the server). Then have a program run automatically on a schedule to search the transfer folder, or even if I have to run it once a week to rename and move the files is fine. Is there anything out there that will do that? I have been unable to find anything like that. I also don't care about getting fan art and the likes. I let XBMC do that for me.

On a side note, are there any good Movie renamer programs out there? I'm looking for something simple that will just add the year at the end of each movie.
djdcm0722 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 51 Old 11-01-2011, 02:38 AM
Senior Member
 
TRaSH-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Holland
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sickbeard does that for me.
TRaSH- is offline  
post #3 of 51 Old 11-01-2011, 04:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djdcm0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I'll look in to that.
djdcm0722 is offline  
post #4 of 51 Old 11-01-2011, 03:07 PM
Member
 
hagur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Reykjavik - Iceland
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Google "therenamer".

Does exactly what you want.
hagur is offline  
post #5 of 51 Old 11-01-2011, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sickbeard is awesome. Works the best with usenet.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #6 of 51 Old 11-02-2011, 03:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djdcm0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagur View Post

Google "therenamer".

Does exactly what you want.

Thats what I was using to rename the files before I moved them, I didnt see an option to automaticaly move the files.

Was messing around with Sickbeard last night. Seems to be what I'm looking for. Thanks for the info. Great program.
djdcm0722 is offline  
post #7 of 51 Old 11-02-2011, 06:03 AM
Member
 
hagur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Reykjavik - Iceland
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an option to move files in the configuration window of the program. Cannot remember exactly where it is, but I'm using it for that exact purpose. Rename AND move files, works like a charm

See screenshots #5 and #7:
http://www.therenamer.com/screenshots.html

Notice the "Auto move" checkbox at the bottom, next to the Tv and movie archive folder setting.
hagur is offline  
post #8 of 51 Old 11-02-2011, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djdcm0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah ok, there it is. I like the fact that Sickbeard will "watch" the folder and automatically move it.
djdcm0722 is offline  
post #9 of 51 Old 11-02-2011, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
another plus for sickbeard. I used to do it all manually, but sickbeard has changed that completely.

CouchPotato is another program for movies, but I don't like that as much.
davdev is offline  
post #10 of 51 Old 11-03-2011, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
rdb4133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are there any easy guides out there for setting up Sickbeard on Windows?
rdb4133 is offline  
post #11 of 51 Old 11-04-2011, 02:50 AM
Senior Member
 
TRaSH-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Holland
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just unpack then place a shortcut of the .exe in the startup.
Reboot or run the .exe then open the browser and browse to your sickbeard page.
TRaSH- is offline  
post #12 of 51 Old 11-04-2011, 04:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Sickbeard is awesome. Works the best with usenet.

Did you install "Python"? What is Python?
I NEVER saw Sickbeard until this thread. What is the prefered way to set it up? I looks like it continually downloads episoided of shows I select. Are the epsiodes in HD (are they full-screen without Ads)?
Do I need to install anything other than Python (or Windows Binaries) to get it working?
Thanks.
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #13 of 51 Old 11-04-2011, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post

Did you install "Python"? What is Python?
I NEVER saw Sickbeard until this thread. What is the prefered way to set it up? I looks like it continually downloads episoided of shows I select. Are the epsiodes in HD (are they full-screen without Ads)?
Do I need to install anything other than Python (or Windows Binaries) to get it working?
Thanks.

Ignore all that python stuff. Just install the windows binaries or whatever its called. It downloads the shows in the quality you select. Yes there is no ads. Any tv show you download from anywhere worth a crap will have no ads. To use this app though you need to either set it up with torrents or usenet.

It was made for usenet and works better with it. You can sign up for astra for 11 a month. Hopefully I'm not breaking any rules here.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #14 of 51 Old 11-04-2011, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Ignore all that python stuff. Just install the windows binaries or whatever its called. It downloads the shows in the quality you select. Yes there is no ads. Any tv show you download from anywhere worth a crap will have no ads. To use this app though you need to either set it up with torrents or usenet.

It was made for usenet and works better with it. You can sign up for astra for 11 a month. Hopefully I'm not breaking any rules here.

Thanks for the feedback. The Slickbeard website has some Usernet recomendations. They say if I download less than 80GB a month it is cheaper to go with Blocknews. Of course I have no idea what (how much) I'll be downloading at this time.
I guess there's one way to find out ....
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #15 of 51 Old 11-04-2011, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post

Thanks for the feedback. The Slickbeard website has some Usernet recomendations. They say if I download less than 80GB a month it is cheaper to go with Blocknews. Of course I have no idea what (how much) I'll be downloading at this time.
I guess there's one way to find out ....

Imo just go with the unlimited plan from astra, unless $11 is too much. You can get as much as you want and never have to worry about how much quota you have.

You need to use this link its not on the main astra page
http://www.news.astraweb.com/specials/kleverig-11.html

Unlimited downloads at full speed always. I download at 1.7mb/s always.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #16 of 51 Old 11-04-2011, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
rdb4133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post


Thanks for the feedback. The Slickbeard website has some Usernet recomendations. They say if I download less than 80GB a month it is cheaper to go with Blocknews. Of course I have no idea what (how much) I'll be downloading at this time.
I guess there's one way to find out ....

There is also usenet server & newshosting
rdb4133 is offline  
post #17 of 51 Old 05-23-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I'm Using SickBeard w/SABnzbd per the quides and it isn't properly placing the shows in the correct folders. Any help?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #18 of 51 Old 05-23-2012, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Anyone?

For some reason Boardwalk Empire came out right..

Here's my settings for SABnzdb and SickBeard as well as what I'm getting in explorer (computer):
LL
LL
LL
LL

Sammy2 is offline  
post #19 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Anyone?

For some reason Boardwalk Empire came out right..

Here's my settings for SABnzdb and SickBeard as well as what I'm getting in explorer (computer):

Check your sick beard pst processing log or manually run a post process.

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #20 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

Check your sick beard pst processing log or manually run a post process.

I tried that and the results were the same but I'll try again. As I also want all TV Shows to automatically end up in my TV Series folder and It's doing post processing there and Media Browser acts up while that's happening. Of course, going forward it probably won't matter too much because I'll only be getting new shows and not building an entire library.

EDIT: I actually tried that but it only does one episode at a time. It would be much better to have this automatic. I can go into explorer and move them into series\\season folders probably faster.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #21 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdb4133 View Post

There is also usenet server & newshosting

I originally used usenet server but switched to astra. Usenet server had more then a few incompletes where astra hasn't had the same problem.
cdru is offline  
post #22 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
rdb4133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdru View Post

I originally used usenet server but switched to astra. Usenet server had more then a few incompletes where astra hasn't had the same problem.

I've noticed the same thing as well. I'm actually using one of the 1.1TB block deals from NewsgroupDirect. I have used 304 GB in about 6 1/2 months and I don't have any problems with incompletes, but I'm also only using it for TV current TV shows.
rdb4133 is offline  
post #23 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Wait guys, this thread is about automatic renamer and file movers not newgroups. I use and like astraweb, especially the $8/mo ($96/year special) pricing.

At any rate, I'm wondering if Media Center Master will do this for me?

How does the "Add a T.V. Series" function work?

And what does "Auto Re-name files and folders for all titles" do?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #24 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 12:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 590
In.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #25 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

In.

Huh?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #26 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 01:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post


Huh?

I want to get in this thread to follow replies and catch up reading later.

On vacation now. No time now.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #27 of 51 Old 05-24-2012, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Just subscribe to it??

I thought that you started to post something and your boss walked in on you!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #28 of 51 Old 05-25-2012, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Well Mfusick's in but does anybody have any suggestions?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #29 of 51 Old 05-26-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Just subscribe to it??

I thought that you started to post something and your boss walked in on you!

Boss would be wife. She want take jetski out for a quick run. In Clearwater FL area

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #30 of 51 Old 05-26-2012, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Wait guys, this thread is about automatic renamer and file movers not newgroups. I use and like astraweb, especially the $8/mo ($96/year special) pricing.

At any rate, I'm wondering if Media Center Master will do this for me?

How does the "Add a T.V. Series" function work?

And what does "Auto Re-name files and folders for all titles" do?

Any help?

Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off