llano cpu question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-10-2011, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
 
ron9879's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Just wanted to know what the a6-3600 processor is equivalent to. I can't find any info or reviews on this specific processor. I know it's only 2.1 ghz, but it's quad core. Do you think processor can handle 1080p without hardware acceleration? I wonder if it's equal do athlon x3.
ron9879 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-10-2011, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dj4monie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron9879 View Post

Hi,

Just wanted to know what the a6-3600 processor is equivalent to. I can't find any info or reviews on this specific processor. I know it's only 2.1 ghz, but it's quad core. Do you think processor can handle 1080p without hardware acceleration? I wonder if it's equal do athlon x3.

Rene can answer this better since he's actually used.

But AMD can handle any video you want to put through it. I believe it even does 29/59 Cinema speed video. You can also play 3D games with it, including recent games if you turn down the detail a bit.

When it comes to CPU power its advantage Intel all the way. So it depends on what your doing. If you're going to do any encoding with your HTPC, get an Intel, unless you don't mind having a bit more time used up to do the same job.

Why would you turn-off hardware acceleration? The APU handles it all... Now if AMD can get its act together on the CPU side, only hardcore gamers will even need to buy video cards...

A. Thomas -
GSN: djfourmoney
'03 SRT-4 12.74@106 in the 1/4
PSN - DJFourMoney
dj4monie is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-10-2011, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
In Passmark the A6-3500 is right between the Athlon II X3 440 and Phenom II X3 715. The A8-3800 is right between the Athlon II X4 630 and AMD Phenom II X4 910. They don't have an entry for the 3600, unfortunately, but I would *think* it'd be just above the 3500.

My old Phenom II x3 705e / HD 3200 system can handle 1080p video just fine so I am sure this would. The 705e scores just barely above a A4-3300.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-10-2011, 11:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron9879 View Post

Hi,

Just wanted to know what the a6-3600 processor is equivalent to. I can't find any info or reviews on this specific processor. I know it's only 2.1 ghz, but it's quad core. Do you think processor can handle 1080p without hardware acceleration? I wonder if it's equal do athlon x3.

Even A6-3500 (= A6-3600 with one core disabled), well even any decent dual-core processor, can decode 1080p pretty easily without GPU acceleration. The average CPU usage at the playback of this 1080p AVC clip (ripped directly from BD with MakeMKV) with LAV Source/Splitter+ffdshow (libavcodec)+EVR:

- A6-3500 TC 2.1GHz: 35%
- A4-3400 DC 2.7GHz: 45%

renethx is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-11-2011, 04:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thx for that info, renethx. I'm getting impatient waiting for the SL5/Netflix fix and thinking of upgrading to a lower end Llano. I know most favor the i3's, but this rig sees some light gaming duty.
Ruiner is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off