Resolution on HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 11-17-2011, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been using my PC as my primary media center for several years now and I have also been using a 27" monitor as the display for the same duration. I just upgraded my "display" to a 42" Panny (42ST30), but with the resolution all the way up (as I had it with my 27" monitor) the picture is acually too large for the TV... which is weird since I have a 15" larger display. I thought it was the TV mode being in "Zoom," but it was in "Full" and all other modes )(except 4:3) have the same problem.

Does anyone have any suggestions on getting the picture to fit proeprly on the screen (I've tried different resolutions, but none of them fit the screen "normally").

FYI, my PC/TV specs:
Pannasonic 42ST30 (1080p)
Core I7 2600k
Asus GeForce GTX 560 TI
8 GB Memory
128 GB SSD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-17-2011, 03:17 PM

play with "overscan"or "underscan" setting in nvidia control panel.

Also set TV to "Screen Fit" if it has such a setting
post #3 of 8 Old 11-17-2011, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 42
You need to set the PC resolution to 1080x1920 specifically. If you just slide the slider all the way over, that may not be what you are getting.
post #4 of 8 Old 11-17-2011, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Look in your TV's Picture menu, most Panasonics have a HD size setting, use size 2 setting to give you 1:1 pixel mapping.
post #5 of 8 Old 11-17-2011, 04:52 PM

The issue has to be with the display settings. Leave the Nvidia setting to automatic as far as what to report to the display (overscan, underscan, automatic). You should have a setting for "1:1" or "dot by dot" on the display. Also, make sure you are using 16-235 (video broadcast standard) for video on your display. 0-255 is the normal setting for computers and this will washout the blacks on the display.