Re-routing IR Signal Short Distance - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 04:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
savaytse66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to pick up an Xbox 360 to tuck away in the closet and use solely as an MCE extender. The closet is behind the wall that the TV is mounted on, so there will be no line of sight. What's the easiest (cheapest!) way to route the IR signal into the closet? I have an RF extender (but no RF remote) with some of those cables that came with my Harmony 890 and Hauppauge Tuner. The cables have a 3.5mm jack at one end and two sticky leads that go on the components' IR receiver at the other. Can I use these somehow; maybe cut one and splice the leads together? I no longer have the Harmony 890, so that's not an option. My current remote is IR-only.

I only have to go about 6 feet, but the wall is in the way. I have access through the wall for my HDMI cable, power cable, etc, so tucking another wire in there is no problem.

Thanks!
savaytse66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 08:26 AM
Member
 
impmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://www.amazon.com/Next-Generatio...1979086&sr=8-1

Probably not the cheapest option but people seam to like these.
impmonkey is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 10:08 AM
Member
 
setabs138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll recommend this http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-Acou.../ref=pd_cp_e_2

Note that it does not like U-Verse boxes and If you have a Plasma TV it will give off IR signals that may flood the controller.

I have my components behind the couch and ran a 50' 3.5mm cable through the wall and plugged it into the IR receiver which is under my tv.
setabs138 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
savaytse66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm. I wanted to go much cheaper and simpler than either of those options. Thanks, though.

Does anyone know if the Logitech RF extender system has in IR receiver on the base unit? I suspect it does not, but I have one, so if I can use it, that would be ideal.
savaytse66 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Don't forget that Xbox360s have had notorious overheating issues. So if you're going to "tuck one into a closet", you better be really careful that you give it enough fresh air to keep it from dying.

Back to the IR issue...

It's often possible to bounce IR signals off of a wall (or add a mirror if you lose too much signal off of just the wall). But it sounds like in your layout that's not possible. So you'll probably have to chase down an IR-blaster.
Mac The Knife is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by savaytse66 View Post

Hmmm. I wanted to go much cheaper and simpler than either of those options. Thanks, though.

Does anyone know if the Logitech RF extender system has in IR receiver on the base unit? I suspect it does not, but I have one, so if I can use it, that would be ideal.

$40 for the first one seems like a pretty good deal. that harmony one says it is for rf remotes only (it is called the _rf_ extender).
Derek K. is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-23-2011, 07:58 AM
Member
 
jbilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is $16 cheap enough for a wired IR Repeater?
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Or $21 for a wireless IR Repeater?
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
jbilko is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-23-2011, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
savaytse66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, jbilko. I even checked Monoprice, but I must have mistyped my search parameter. Yeah, I can live with $16. I need to place an order there for a few other items anyway, so this works.
savaytse66 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off