watercooled gaming HTPC in an antec fusuion remote case - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 12-02-2011, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaburko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have been playing with this for a while. Wanted to combine the raw power of a gaming pc + the cool look n' feel of an antec fusuion case which sits nicely in the living room. On top of that, i wanted it to be watercooled. its an i5 2500k overclocked to 4.5 GHz and a EVGA GTX570 SC

Thats the original case



Thats my case after i cut all the walls and made some holes (for the cable management later)



And this is the final result











screenshot of the temps



aaaand this wont be an HTPC without live-tv :-). this is the EPG (I use DVBLink TVsource + EPG grabber)

gaburko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 12-02-2011, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
kenyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, PRofMA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's impressive. I couldn't get an H60 water cooler into my GD05...the only way to do it would probably to cut holes and mount the radiator outside like you did :-)
kenyee is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 12-02-2011, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
winterescape's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice job, that looks fantastic!
winterescape is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 12-02-2011, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Looks sweet, I have the same pump/res combo in my desktop.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 12-03-2011, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaburko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenyee View Post

That's impressive. I couldn't get an H60 water cooler into my GD05...the only way to do it would probably to cut holes and mount the radiator outside like you did :-)


Thanks guys

Re the H60 - its a nice and small radiator, so if you are able to drill a hole in the case and get it out you can even leave it at the back of the case, not to the side so its practically invisible from the front
gaburko is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 12-03-2011, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaburko View Post

Thanks guys

Re the H60 - its a nice and small radiator, so if you are able to drill a hole in the case and get it out you can even leave it at the back of the case, not to the side so its practically invisible from the front

Only problem is you need to either disassemble it or cut a very large hole.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 12-27-2011, 01:07 PM
Member
 
mephiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, trouble installing the H60 in the GD05 huh? Darn, I just put in an order for an H60 for my GD05 case. Where was your trouble area? Could you not run the fan & radiator to the left side of the case where the single 120mm case fan is? It seemed like that's where I'd have the most clearance for the radiator, but that fan is pretty close to the front edge of the case. The only other location I can imagine is the rear most 120mm fan on the right side, close to the CPU.

I'm not opposed to cutting holes to feed the CPU plate through and keep the radiator outside, I'll just have to attach it somehow. Ideally I'd like to keep it all in the case though.

I figure as long as I can fit it reasonably close to one of the case fans, if I can't align it with screw holes I'll just zip tie it to secure it.
mephiska is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 01:20 AM
Newbie
 
Zeigren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice!
Zeigren is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaburko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mephiska - i really have no experience with the H60, but why dont you just buy the parts and build your own watercooling? Its usually more efficient not to mention upgradeable. the watercooling above is my first ever watercooling, so its not that hard to build really.

Gaming on an HTPC is soooo much fun - i am now playing games in 3D with nVidia 3DTVPlay on my 50 inch plasma with a wireless controller, best Christmas ever :-)
gaburko is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 03:46 AM
Member
 
NoWorthWhile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you manage the EPG?

EPGCollector? Or internet-based xmltv?

I'm asking because in your screenshot, I see it is color-based, with HD Tags and coverart of the show.
NoWorthWhile is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 04:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What type of screen is that?

HTPC Enthusiast
Scallica is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoWorthWhile View Post

How do you manage the EPG?

EPGCollector? Or internet-based xmltv?

I'm asking because in your screenshot, I see it is color-based, with HD Tags and coverart of the show.

You can add the colored categories in the WMC settings, for the channel logos use this.
http://mychannellogos.com/default.aspx
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 07:05 AM
Member
 
NoWorthWhile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

You can add the colored categories in the WMC settings, for the channel logos use this.
http://mychannellogos.com/default.aspx

I should've been clearer ^^

I already know about this neat plugin. I'm just looking for more information as to what is your EPG source? Do you pass it through BSEPG or directly into TV Source?
NoWorthWhile is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaburko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoWorthWhile View Post

I should've been clearer ^^

I already know about this neat plugin. I'm just looking for more information as to what is your EPG source? Do you pass it through BSEPG or directly into TV Source?

Hi, on the surface, quite a complicated setup, but all is automated. I use EPG collector to "download" the EPG, passes it through big screen epg and then TVSource picks the final XML file to display in WMC. I use my channel logos for the logos of the channels. As mentioned above, the colors are just a feature of WMC, nothing additional there. Cover art is available only for some shows and channel logos is not available for all channels either. Still, the eye-candy hugely helps in the SAF (spouse acceptance factor)
gaburko is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
kenyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, PRofMA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mephiska View Post

Hmm, trouble installing the H60 in the GD05 huh? Darn, I just put in an order for an H60 for my GD05 case. Where was your trouble area? Could you not run the fan & radiator to the left side of the case where the single 120mm case fan is? It seemed like that's where I'd have the most clearance for the radiator, but that fan is pretty close to the front edge of the case. The only other location I can imagine is the rear most 120mm fan on the right side, close to the CPU.

I'm not opposed to cutting holes to feed the CPU plate through and keep the radiator outside, I'll just have to attach it somehow.

I still have to put my H60 in the for sale section, but AFAIK, you can't take the CPU plate off since it's a sealed system.

On the left side, you'll run into your power supply's modular cables. On the right side, you'll hit your motherboard (the fan's bottom is at the same level as the motherboard and the H60's radiator is as thick as a fan, so it's 2x the fan thickness).
Actually, thinking about it a bit more, I could probably have suspended it over the CPU like the DVD drive is suspended but I'm not sure if the water cables are flexible enough to do this.

If you get it to work, put up photos. I'm curious if it's even possible to get it to fit in the case. You could probably get it to fit outside the case but you'd have to cut a hole big enough to route the cpu plate at the very least
kenyee is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 08:06 AM
Member
 
mephiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaburko View Post

mephiska - i really have no experience with the H60, but why dont you just buy the parts and build your own watercooling? Its usually more efficient not to mention upgradeable. the watercooling above is my first ever watercooling, so its not that hard to build really.

This is my first experience with water cooling as well. I only looked briefly at buying all the parts individually and building my own setup, but the cost of individual parts scared me away pretty quick. $50 average for just a CPU block, $70+ for the radiator, plus a reservoir, pump, hoses, adapters & fittings, coolant, and so on. I'd end up spending $250-300 for a fully custom setup just to cool the CPU.

The H60 was only $60 on Amazon. It may not be as efficient as a full custom setup, but I'll try it out. I'm hoping it will perform at least as well as the full size Zalman in my desktop, but in a very cramped HTPC case. And if it doesn't work I'll just return it.

Quote:


Gaming on an HTPC is soooo much fun - i am now playing games in 3D with nVidia 3DTVPlay on my 50 inch plasma with a wireless controller, best Christmas ever :-)

Yeah it is. Playing Skyrim on Ultra high settings at 60+ fps on my 46" screen from my comfy couch using an xbox 360 controller for windows is a glorious thing.

In my little GD05 case I have shoehorned a Sapphire Radeon 6950 2gb, 2 HDD, 1 SSD, a Samsung Blu-Ray player and a 700W OCZ power supply. With the i5-2500k overclocked to 4.7ghz this box generates a TON of heat when playing games. Initially I had case temps reaching 55-65C, case temps, not CPU temps!

I reconfigured the fans for push-pull and cut holes in my entertainment center where the case fans are with a dremel tool (it's IKEA, who cares ). That dropped those temps to 30C, but the CPU needs more cooling than the low profile heatsink can provide, and the situation is worsened by the fact that half of the heatsink fan is covered by the blu-ray player.

Wish me luck with the H60! I'll take pics as I go.
mephiska is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 12-28-2011, 08:18 AM
Member
 
NoWorthWhile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaburko View Post

Hi, on the surface, quite a complicated setup, but all is automated. I use EPG collector to "download" the EPG, passes it through big screen epg and then TVSource picks the final XML file to display in WMC. I use my channel logos for the logos of the channels. As mentioned above, the colors are just a feature of WMC, nothing additional there. Cover art is available only for some shows and channel logos is not available for all channels either. Still, the eye-candy hugely helps in the SAF (spouse acceptance factor)

Awesome, thanks, that's what I wanted to know.
NoWorthWhile is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 04-10-2013, 04:02 AM
Newbie
 
jake13942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same case and thinking about putting XSPC water block on my GTX 670. Were you able to close the top lid with that GPU water block fill port raised higher than the card?
jake13942 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off