DVI Doctor losing EDID info ocassionally - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-16-2011, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GameGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belmont, CA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DVI Doctor hooked up between a Zotac GT430 and an Onkyo TX-SR606 via HDMI -> DVI -> HDMI to bitstream audio.

The DVI output of the card is hooked up directly to my tv.

When everything is running fine, the HTPC, which is running Windows 7 x32 SP1, can see both displays.

However, from time to time, the secondary (Onkyo) display is not detected. When this happens, I have to hook up power to the DVI Doctor and get it to "refresh" its EDID info. After this, it works fine, sometimes for a couple of weeks, sometimes just a few days.

The device is slightly over 18 months old and the problem started a month or so ago. I know many people here use this particular device, so I wanted to know if anybody else has experienced this issue.

Thanks.
GameGod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-16-2011, 08:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The Onkyo could be the problem. The 606 HDMI failing after a year or so is a known issue.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-16-2011, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GameGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belmont, CA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

The Onkyo could be the problem. The 606 HDMI failing after a year or so is a known issue.

I have devices connected to the other HDMI inputs on the receiver that don't exhibit this issue. Wouldn't this problem show up for them as well if that was the case?

Edit:
I googled the 606 HDMI issues, and it seems like when the HDMI daughter board is fried, nothing one does gets it to work again. In my case, I don't have to touch anything on the receiver, I just have to "refresh" the DVI Doctor.

In any case, since the DVI Doctor is between the receiver and the HTPC, even if the HDMI input was going bad, the HTPC should still detect the receiver, since the DVI Doctor is supposed to pretend that the receiver is always present and on, right?
GameGod is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off