HDMI Detective - Couple of Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-19-2011, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DGalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I've been struggling with maintaining audio with the TV off, and after trying the EDID driver overwrite approach (which didn't work) I broke down and just spent the $90 on a HDMI detective.

I have 2 questions:

1. Setup: my current setup is HTPC -> AVR -> TV, all via HDMI. Does the device go between the HTPC and the AVR or the AVR and the TV? I'm guessing the latter, since the instructions say that the HDMI out should connect to the display, but I just want to be sure

2. HDCP: how do I know whether I need to worry about this?

thanks
DGalt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-19-2011, 01:19 PM
Member
 
BlaZeR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) The device should go between the HTPC and the AVR.

2) HDCP: If you watch any Recorded TV from a premium channel (HBO, etc), or Blu Ray discs, ISOs from a purchased player like Total Media Theater, or PowerDVD. I would enable this on the device, as it won't really cause any problems with it enabled.

Did you get the HDMI Detective Plus?
BlaZeR2 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-19-2011, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DGalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes I did...(only one available as far as I can tell)

all of the content that I watch is ripped .mkvs, although I guess on occasion I'll watch a BluRay using AnyDVD-HD and MPC
DGalt is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-19-2011, 01:30 PM
Member
 
BlaZeR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You shouldn't really need to use HDCP with the ripped files or the blu ray, with AnyDVD-HD. But I would still enable it, just to prevent any future problems.
BlaZeR2 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-19-2011, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DGalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so there's not reason not to enable it?
DGalt is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-20-2011, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
BTW, I realize this isn't really a response to the question, but, after months of struggling to get everything worked out wrt HDMI handshake issues, I got an HDMI detective. It was delivered yesterday, took about 30 seconds to install, and has solved all of my handshake headaches with my Windows HTPC. For anyone who's willing to pay a relatively small amount of money, it will almost certainly save you more than enough time to make the expenditure worthwhile. I'm gonna get a couple more for my other rooms, b/c I had been experiencing some other handshake problems with my non-HTPC's that had precluded doing some things that I wanted to do.

Great product.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-20-2011, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DGalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yeah i set mine up today (as you said, took about 30 seconds) and now everything works perfectly. peace of mind is worth the $90 IMO
DGalt is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-20-2011, 02:36 PM
Member
 
TheTinkerer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have found that using dvi to hdmi --> TV AND hdmi --> receiver has fixed my problem, 3 weeks and no issues yet!
But thanks for more good reviews about the hdmi detective, it will be what I buy if I run into issues again.,
TheTinkerer is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-22-2012, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
joikd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the HDMI Detective make changing channels instantaneous?
joikd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off