WinTV-HVR-1950 QAM scan - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-25-2011, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
soccerpork17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had just bought a hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1950 and the setup was all good. I have my cable cord plugged into my comcast digital cable box and then the cable box is plugged into the device with a separate cable cord. All AV cords and firewire cords are set up fine too. But when I search for clear QAM channels, it can't find any or any other types of channels, please help.
soccerpork17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-25-2011, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Zagor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you want clear QAM channels, you must connect the cable cord coming from the wall into the tuner card. Do NOT daisy chain from wall to cable box to tuner card. You need a splitter and split the signal coming from the wall so that one cable goes to the cable box and the other goes to the 1950. Also want software are you using to the scanning?
Zagor is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-25-2011, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
soccerpork17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks a lot for the help, and im using the standard wintv software do u have a suggestion for a different one?
soccerpork17 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-26-2011, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Zagor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, if you have Win 7, the built in Windows Media Center is A LOT better. It's more like a DVR with a real TV guide and recording options etc...
Zagor is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-26-2011, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WMC for most although if you want a full media center you should consider using the setups in the guides or using MediaPortal.
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off