Anyway To Use XBMC As A Front-End For WMC For Watching and Recording Live TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-27-2011, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks,

I really want to hop on the CableCard bandwagon and ditch my Verizon-supplied DVR. Problem is, as far as I know, the only software that can view and record live TV of encrypted channels (using CableCards) is Windows Media Center, and I hate the Windows Media Center front end.

Is there anyway to use XBMC as a front-end to Windows Media Center? In other words, I don't care if behind the scenes to make it work XBMC uses Windows Media Center to get guide info and schedule recordings and watch live tv. As long as I don't see Windows Media Center, I'm happy. I just want it to appear as if I'm using XBMC to watch live tv and schedule recordings. How they accomplish it doesn't matter to me.

Are there any plug-ins to XBMC that do this?

Thanks!
nullqwerty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-27-2011, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,371
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 81
No.
kapone is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-28-2011, 02:33 AM
Member
 
gaburko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

I hate the Windows Media Center front end.

Thats a pretty strong statement re what is probably the most unobtrusive front end.
gaburko is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-28-2011, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To each his own I guess. Being unobtrusive is only one of many characteristics one could look for in an HTPC front-end and most other ones I look for WMC completely fails in. I've had it as my main interface for my HTPC for over a year now and overall am really disappointed with it (i.e. hate it). I wanted to love it (really wanted to), but alas I don't at all. I'd list out my complaints but there isn't much point. I'm moving on to XBMC which I guess officially puts the nail in the coffin for my hopes of using my htpc as a set-top box dvr replacement.

Hopefully one day there will be a second choice for a front-end you can use with cablecards and encrypted channels.
nullqwerty is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-28-2011, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, it looks like what I want to do is possible, with one exception...can't watch/record any channels not listed as Copy Freely.

Can someone confirm the following for me:

Setup:
HDHomeRun Prime with CableCard
MythTV
XBMC with Myth TV Plug-in
FIOS in MA (all channels marked as Copy Freely except Premiums and VOD)

Capabilities:
Watch and record Live TV for all channels except Premiums (HBO, etc) and VOD
Exclusively use XBMC as the Front-End software. Video showing it can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gA7Y...eature=related


Is this all true and correct?
nullqwerty is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-28-2011, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

Setup:
HDHomeRun Prime with CableCard
MythTV
XBMC with Myth TV Plug-in
FIOS in MA (all channels marked as Copy Freely except Premiums and VOD)

Capabilities:
Watch and record Live TV for all channels except Premiums (HBO, etc) and VOD
Exclusively use XBMC as the Front-End software.

I can't confirm that exact setup, but I know this works in general. I use SageTV to record stuff OTA and clear QAM (Time Warner Cable) and then a script called SAGETV-XBMC to move them into my XBMC library. The only time I have to go to SageTV is to setup recordings.
pkscout is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-29-2011, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

So, it looks like what I want to do is possible, with one exception...can't watch/record any channels not listed as Copy Freely.

Can someone confirm the following for me:

Setup:
HDHomeRun Prime with CableCard
MythTV
XBMC with Myth TV Plug-in
FIOS in MA (all channels marked as Copy Freely except Premiums and VOD)

Capabilities:
Watch and record Live TV for all channels except Premiums (HBO, etc) and VOD
Exclusively use XBMC as the Front-End software. Video showing it can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gA7Y...eature=related


Is this all true and correct?

I hope you're also prepared to have some fun... or does MythTV run stably on windows these days if it runs at all?
Or you might be linux savvy... don't know...

The fact that XBMC doesn't support HD audio bitstreaming is more than enough to keep me away from it...

A guy here on the forum somewhere said he installed XBMC nightly builds twice every week on four computers... that is definitely something I would rather not get into... even if it means putting up with 7MC...

To each his own like you put it...
balky is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-29-2011, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by balky View Post

A guy here on the forum somewhere said he installed XBMC nightly builds twice every week on four computers... that is definitely something I would rather not get into... even if it means putting up with 7MC...

If someone is choosing to install the nightly builds (which are, in essence, alpha on a good day) that's his or her choice. I installed the stable version of 10.1 just under a year ago and haven't upgraded since. I've done more Windows updates in the last year than XBMC updates.
pkscout is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-29-2011, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just installed 11.0 beta 1 last night and was blown away. Man...XBMC has come really far in the last 2 years. It now blows Boxee away in my opinion.

Unfortunately though, I have a feeling that any attempt to get CableCard tuner access through it is going to leave me with limitations and headaches. It seems though that they have built LiveTV directly into XBMC with PVR functionality, but it's not stable yet and uses other programs as back ends (WMC Not being one of them).

But check out the new Version 11. It rocks! And you'd never know it was beta.
nullqwerty is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-29-2011, 10:16 AM
Member
 
mike10778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

I just installed 11.0 beta 1 last night and was blown away. Man...XBMC has come really far in the last 2 years. It now blows Boxee away in my opinion.

But check out the new Version 11. It rocks! And you'd never know it was beta.

I agree---making leaps and bounds. I installed Eden the other night as well---runs very nicely - smooth and fast. Lots of possibilities, and I also have been using it more than Boxee too.
mike10778 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 12-29-2011, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

So, it looks like what I want to do is possible, with one exception...can't watch/record any channels not listed as Copy Freely.

Can someone confirm the following for me:

Setup:
HDHomeRun Prime with CableCard
MythTV
XBMC with Myth TV Plug-in
FIOS in MA (all channels marked as Copy Freely except Premiums and VOD)

Capabilities:
Watch and record Live TV for all channels except Premiums (HBO, etc) and VOD
Exclusively use XBMC as the Front-End software. Video showing it can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gA7Y...eature=related


Is this all true and correct?


So you are thinking of this - http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=MythTV

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-30-2011, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty close. Maybe the eventual future version of that. Unfortunately for that one you can't schedule recordings meaning you have to go back to MythTV to do that. One day though...
nullqwerty is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off