Skype through a HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-27-2011, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
paulsiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone attempted to hook a Skype camera on top of their HDTV to via their HTPC for video conferencing? I am curious to know what sort of hardware is needed. Some of the webcam for example have built in HD encoding to reduce cpu usage, but I notice that even those camera recommend at least a 1.8 Ghz dual core. This probably mean an older machine cannot be used?

I also notice some of the TV and blueray also have a camera connection, since their cpu are likely to be rather limited, how is it they can stream skype without a core 2 duo?

Paul
paulsiu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-27-2011, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recommend the Logitech Webcam Pro 9000. I have it sitting on the top of my HDTV connected to my HTPC. The picture quality is great.

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/webcam...s/devices/6333

HTPC Enthusiast
Scallica is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-28-2011, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Logitech Orbit AF, by the tv on the stem attachment; matches perfectly the video eye level on the 50 inch tv. Has perfect angle to cover the room on minimum zoom, or zoom on the couch only, or pan around the room onto the kids showing their tricks to the grandparents. 4x2.5GHz phenom is powerful enough to encode the video; but as my bottleneck is the upload speed, it probably never had to encode HD. Microphone does not get any complaints.

The greatest problem for me is the pan and zoom control, I have not found a way besides clicking with the mouse on a panel on the screen (using the remote would be perfect, but I have no time to play with 3rd party remote control applications).
Roussi is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-28-2011, 05:22 PM
Member
 
Tyborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I also use the Logitech Orbit AF. I am using Eventghost and so I'm able to use my remote to chase the kids around the room as they show off there tricks and zoom in on things they want to show grandpa and grandma. Also using SkypeMCEAnswer to answer calls from within media center.
Tyborg is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off