Would switching from Happauge 2650 to Homerun Prime HDHR3-CC require cable company? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-03-2012, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickpapagiorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Happpauge 2650 USB Cablecard USB TV tuner that's been working great, but when I bought it, I thought it would work like an HD Homerun and allow me to watch TV on any other computer connected to my network. I have since learned that it does not do this. I would like to be able to watch TV on my laptop and office computer, in addition to my HTPC, which is in my living room.

Thus, I was thinking about upgrading to the HD Homerun Prime HDHR3-CC (3 tuner cablecard TV tuner), but I don't want to mess with the issues I went through with Comcast to get the new cablecard activated.

So my question is, could I just put the cablecard I already have that's already activated in the HD Homerun and go through the WMC set up, or would I need to reactivate the cablecard?

BTW, I have Windows 7 32 bit.

Thanks,

Kevin
nickpapagiorgio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-03-2012, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to contact Comcast support to re-pair your CableCard with the new tuner.

HTPC Enthusiast
Scallica is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-03-2012, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickpapagiorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I was afraid of... thanks,

Kevin
nickpapagiorgio is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-03-2012, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If Verizon FIOS is in your area, you may want to consider switching as they do not require pairing.

HTPC Enthusiast
Scallica is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-03-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickpapagiorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even though I live less than 15 minutes from Philadelphia... we do not have Fios in my area. I'm not sure why though.

Kevin
nickpapagiorgio is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-03-2012, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Just a cautious note: if you think initial pairing of the cable card is hard, re-pairing is even harder unless you lucky to encounter a CSR that knows what he/she is doing which is very rare. I have done this once and ended up return the old card and get a new cable card instead.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Silicondust Hdhr3 Cc Hdhomerun Prime Cablecard Tv Tuners

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off