Blu-Ray Discs Not Recognized - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcantu1 View Post

are you sure thats the right model #? i see the GGC-H20L (which is the drive i have) on their site but not the GCC-H20L

Yes, it's a typo. I should be GGC-H20L. If you have the same drive what is your firmware version and driver date and OS. The discs I've had from Netflix that aren't recognized as BDs of Fair Game, Hangover Part II, Margin Call and Midnight in Paris. Have you played any of these?
JMGNYC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Fair Game played OK for me. Margin Call I got from Blockbuster and it played OK. The others I have not seen.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #33 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

Yes, it's a typo. I should be GGC-H20L. If you have the same drive what is your firmware version and driver date and OS. The discs I've had from Netflix that aren't recognized as BDs of Fair Game, Hangover Part II, Margin Call and Midnight in Paris. Have you played any of these?

firmware is 1.03; driver is the microsoft one 2006, OS is W7x64.

i've never had any problems with BDs not playing...
mcantu1 is offline  
post #34 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Funny I have the same issue and write it off to a drive going bad. I have 2 LG BluRay drive. On in my primary PC that I use for ripping (older) and one in my HTPC that is just for play back (newer).

The older drive I run into BluRays that wont do anything just like you said. But they always play in the HTPC, mater of fact I have never had one that doesn't play on the HTPC.

No relation to rental or retail. Only thing I have noticed, which could be nothing, is that they ones that don't play almost look more traslucent, like you can see through them.

I think the solution is just a new drive.
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
post #35 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I had the same thing with Disney's Tangled BD on my GGW-H20L in Win7 x64. I googled it and lots of people had the same issue, and the recommendation was return it to the store for a different copy, so I figured it was a manufacturing issue.

LG hasn't updated the firmware in years. I'm thinking of buying another drive in case this one conks out (almost 300 HD-DVDs with 3 players all of which have one or more issues )
73ChargerFan is offline  
post #36 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OP, what software are you using for playback?
mcantu1 is offline  
post #37 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcantu1 View Post

firmware is 1.03; driver is the microsoft one 2006, OS is W7x64.

i've never had any problems with BDs not playing...

I've got the same driver and OS but my firmware is 1.04. I think it's an HP special. hmmmmm.....
JMGNYC is offline  
post #38 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Mudder View Post

Funny I have the same issue and write it off to a drive going bad. I have 2 LG BluRay drive. On in my primary PC that I use for ripping (older) and one in my HTPC that is just for play back (newer).

The older drive I run into BluRays that wont do anything just like you said. But they always play in the HTPC, mater of fact I have never had one that doesn't play on the HTPC.

No relation to rental or retail. Only thing I have noticed, which could be nothing, is that they ones that don't play almost look more traslucent, like you can see through them.

I think the solution is just a new drive.

Yes, I noticed too that the discs that didn't play were kind of translucent.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #39 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post

I had the same thing with Disney's Tangled BD on my GGW-H20L in Win7 x64. I googled it and lots of people had the same issue, and the recommendation was return it to the store for a different copy, so I figured it was a manufacturing issue.

LG hasn't updated the firmware in years. I'm thinking of buying another drive in case this one conks out (almost 300 HD-DVDs with 3 players all of which have one or more issues )


Tangled plays on mine no problem. It's a black art. Maybe I need to sacrifice a chicken to the disc gods....
JMGNYC is offline  
post #40 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcantu1 View Post

OP, what software are you using for playback?

It's not a playback problem. i can't even get that far. The drive shows up as empty in Windows Explorer. AnyDVD HD thinks the drive is empty also.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #41 of 44 Old 01-13-2012, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcantu1 View Post

OP, what software are you using for playback?

It never gets to software - when this happens, the drive can't recognize the disk and the access light stays on and the disk spins forever, until you force eject.
73ChargerFan is offline  
post #42 of 44 Old 01-15-2012, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Firmware is not the same as an os driver.
73ChargerFan is offline  
post #43 of 44 Old 01-15-2012, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
When a disc does not play the first thing I try is taking the disc out of the drive and cleaning it. This sometimes works.

The second thing I try is rebooting the computer. Rebooting is a possible solution to multiple problems.

I am guessing that if you have 7MC many optical drive use the Microsoft driver. Mine uses the 7 MC driver last updated in 2006.

Firmware, if it is updated, is updated by the manufacter. The update may not be for whatever is causing a disc to just spin or not be seen.

I do not know of a method to explore the cause of a disc just spinning or not being seen. Sometimes it is a disc issue. You can try playing the disc with a different player. You can also see if other software like AnyDVD sees the disc. If it then plays or is seen I am not sure what that tells you about your optical drive. I don't know if discs can be manufactured to not be seen by computer optical drives. I do hear that some optical drives do not allow ripping.

Optical drives degrade over time and become less reliable at reading discs.

This is the sum of what I know to say about these issues and I hope there is someone who knows more.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #44 of 44 Old 07-19-2012, 07:58 AM
Member
 
waff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to add to this thread. I just had the same issue. My internal BD-RW could not recognize any blu-ray discs. Only DVDs and CDs. After failed attempts trying to get valuable troubleshooting tips from LG, I happened to have a CD/DVD cleaning disc and tried this as a last resort. It must have performed some sort of voodoo, because the laser cleaning disc actually resolved my problem. If you encounter this and are completely out of options, its worth the $10 for the laser cleaning disc. Worked for me, hope this helps someone else.
waff is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off