nVidia 520 GT and Dolby True HD/ DTS Master - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > nVidia 520 GT and Dolby True HD/ DTS Master

Home Theater Computers

Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
07:18 PM Liked: 11
post #1 of 14
01-05-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
Hi all,

Just bought this card and a Onkyo 805 Dolby True HD/DTS Master capable receiver...use TNT5 as the player

The amp is showing it's playing DD and DTS, but the True HD and DTS Master lights on the amp are not turning on even though TMT5 indicates that's what it's paying...

Have turned off the HDMI audio pass through on the amp...

Any ideas would be welcome.
shappy1010's Avatar shappy1010
05:35 AM Liked: 11
post #2 of 14
01-06-2012 | Posts: 93
Joined: Oct 2011
Hi Chris,

The Nvidia 5xx series does not support TrueHD/DTS (The 4xx series does believe it or not) No biggie, as it can transmit Multichannel, make sure you set 24k 192khz in your audio settings on the HDMI port in display drivers. Your AV will show Multichannel with the appropiate bit rate, don't worry about it no showing dolby or DTS as the end result is the same.
Davinleeds's Avatar Davinleeds
05:52 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 14
01-06-2012 | Posts: 5,410
Joined: Mar 2006
Which card is it? My readings are the 570 and higher don't do HD audio. 465/470/480 don't either.
Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
08:20 PM Liked: 11
post #4 of 14
01-07-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davinleeds View Post

Which card is it? My readings are the 570 and higher don't do HD audio. 465/470/480 don't either.

Its the 520 GT..Asus Silent. I don't get it...doesnt the card simply ps on the stream for a receiver to decode? I just purchased the card and an Onkyo 805 to go fro analogue out of my HTPC to HDMI..damit!1

So which card, hopefully silent does do HD Audio??
Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
08:45 PM Liked: 11
post #5 of 14
01-07-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by shappy1010 View Post

Hi Chris,

The Nvidia 5xx series does not support TrueHD/DTS (The 4xx series does believe it or not) No biggie, as it can transmit Multichannel, make sure you set 24k 192khz in your audio settings on the HDMI port in display drivers. Your AV will show Multichannel with the appropiate bit rate, don't worry about it no showing dolby or DTS as the end result is the same.

So Shappy in TMT5 set to decode to PCM and off you go,l or set TMT5 to Auto decode based on source format?

Thanks for your help on this....
rclifton's Avatar rclifton
12:37 AM Liked: 11
post #6 of 14
01-08-2012 | Posts: 355
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by shappy1010 View Post

Hi Chris,

The Nvidia 5xx series does not support TrueHD/DTS (The 4xx series does believe it or not) No biggie, as it can transmit Multichannel, make sure you set 24k 192khz in your audio settings on the HDMI port in display drivers. Your AV will show Multichannel with the appropiate bit rate, don't worry about it no showing dolby or DTS as the end result is the same.

Sorry but that is incorrect, I have an EVGA 520GT and stream lossless audio just fine using WMC and LAV filters.
Davinleeds's Avatar Davinleeds
04:50 AM Liked: 10
post #7 of 14
01-08-2012 | Posts: 5,410
Joined: Mar 2006
Did you do setup in playback devices?
The nvidia hdmi is default?
In TMT primary audio out is selected?
Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
04:15 PM Liked: 11
post #8 of 14
01-10-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davinleeds View Post

Did you do setup in playback devices?
The nvidia hdmi is default?
In TMT primary audio out is selected?

Hi Davinleeds...answered you alkso on the Arcsoft forum, but for a wider audience on AVS here it is again:

Yes the TX-SR805-1 is set as default. In the configure section it's set as 5.1

For StarTrek 2009 for example choosing Primary Audio only in TMT displays as Dolby 640kbps. Choosing Auto mix based on Source audio the info on TMT switches to Dolby True HD.

The sound noticeably improves but the receiver's display still says DD 5.1

And I thought HDMI was going to be easy!
Davinleeds's Avatar Davinleeds
04:26 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 14
01-10-2012 | Posts: 5,410
Joined: Mar 2006
Does it indicate Nvidia High Definition Audio? Highlight by clicking, then click properties. Then supported formats. What is listed.

Re reading your ArcSoft posts, you have more than one Nvidia High Definition Audio in playback devices?
Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
06:26 AM Liked: 11
post #10 of 14
01-11-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
There's two for some reason.

NVIDIA HDMI Output
NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Not Plugged in

TX-SR805-1
NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Working (with green default tick next to it)

When switching to PCM Uncompressed the Onkyo does switch to Multich and shows 192khz.

Have read the nVidia 520 will bitsream HDAudio under Windows 7 but nothing else.

Jason you must have an idea on this one?
Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
02:51 PM Liked: 11
post #11 of 14
01-11-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by rclifton View Post

Sorry but that is incorrect, I have an EVGA 520GT and stream lossless audio just fine using WMC and LAV filters.

Using Windows 7?
ricabullah's Avatar ricabullah
03:04 PM Liked: 10
post #12 of 14
01-11-2012 | Posts: 1,782
Joined: Mar 2007
Chris,

GT 520 exactly supports HD audio:
http://uk.geforce.com/hardware/deskt...t-520/features

To make sure, you may give it a go with lavfilters configured on mpc.

Test Arcsoft later.

EDIT: Supposing you are using Seven, you must get HD audio over Lav or ffdshow audio filters. If you are getting it but not over TMT, it means you are trying to play the media from the folder on HDD
In this case TMT will down-sample DTSHD to DTS core. Or if it is THD, TMT down-samples it to PCM since there is no core ac3 inside THD.
Davinleeds's Avatar Davinleeds
04:04 PM Liked: 10
post #13 of 14
01-11-2012 | Posts: 5,410
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Albert View Post

There's two for some reason.

NVIDIA HDMI Output
NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Not Plugged in

TX-SR805-1
NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Working (with green default tick next to it)

When switching to PCM Uncompressed the Onkyo does switch to Multich and shows 192khz.

Have read the nVidia 520 will bitsream HDAudio under Windows 7 but nothing else.

Jason you must have an idea on this one?

Under 7 only is a possibility. I've seen posts of similar(various cards) issues and the fix was W7.

I have two listed also cause I have two displays.
Chris Albert's Avatar Chris Albert
08:10 PM Liked: 11
post #14 of 14
01-12-2012 | Posts: 239
Joined: Sep 2004
Update:

Called Asus, they say the Asus GT520 silent that I have does pass on DD Tru and DTS Master, however they did seem a little clueless themselves and could give me no real details...so...but I've had enough. Selling the Onkyo 805 that I purchased and going back to analogue on the Denon 3805.

Thanks for all the help and input...much appreciated.
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3