Why do i have black bars on all 4 sides? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-09-2012, 04:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a hp pavillion dm3 laptop connected to my denon 3808ci then to my epson 1080ub. All output has black bars on 4 sides. Is this my video card?
Is there some setting i may be missing? All other media (ps3, xbox, hddvd player, cable box) work fine. It's like i'm watching a "mini" version on my screen.

Sorry guys but i'm a newbie at htpc.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-09-2012, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Black bars all round sounds like an underscan issue. You can usually fix this using the advanced driver settings for the GPU (certainly can on ATI cards).
tman247 is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-09-2012, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 137
There could be two reasons why you have black bars on all sides. One has already been identified as underscan. This occurs when the video output does not extend to the outer edges of the display. Depending on the type of GPU your HTPC has, there may be a way to expand the image to fill the screen using the utilities that were installed along with the GPU drivers.

A second possibility is that you're watching a standard definition image that's letterboxed in a 4:3 image area. This is easily remedied by using the zoom feature on your TV.
captain_video is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-09-2012, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Speqtre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since you said "all output", I'd concur it's an underscan issue.

If everything else was working fine but 7MC, I'd tell you you have to run the Setup wizard in 7MC, as it seems to like to do its own thing separately.
Speqtre is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-09-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speqtre View Post

Since you said "all output", I'd concur it's an underscan issue.

I guess it helps to read all the words in the post. Definitely an underscan issue.
captain_video is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-10-2012, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speqtre View Post

Since you said "all output", I'd concur it's an underscan issue.

If everything else was working fine but 7MC, I'd tell you you have to run the Setup wizard in 7MC, as it seems to like to do its own thing separately.

Thanks for the replies.
What is 7mc and where would i find it?

Edit: doh! windows 7 media center.
Ok, how do i do a setup and what do i change in my situation?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-10-2012, 04:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1302559

Come on guy's ! Use the guide . The free stuff is really great but the paid "stuff" is wicked awesome and will save you weeks of frustration.
flocko is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-10-2012, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1302559

Come on guy's ! Use the guide . The free stuff is really great but the paid "stuff" is wicked awesome and will save you weeks of frustration.

And it will only take you several months to read through the nearly 32,000 posts between Assassin's Simple/Beginner HTPC Buying Guide, Guide to Building a HD HTPC, and Windows 7 Media Center : Setup Guide, Knowledge Base & Support. All of which mention over/under scanning among about 10k other various topics.
cdru is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-10-2012, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
idividebyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
did you set the resolution to 1920x1080? My tv underscans if I set the resolution to anything other than 1080 or 720
idividebyzero is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-11-2012, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1302559

Come on guy's ! Use the guide . The free stuff is really great but the paid "stuff" is wicked awesome and will save you weeks of frustration.

You know if you would have asked something in a forum that i frequent daily (diy subs, ht gaming, projectors) I would have answered your question in order to help you and possibly save you some time. but thats cool, I'll see if i can find the answer somewhere in that thread.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-16-2012, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I finally figured it out. I had to set my projector's video scaling to 92%. Now there's a head scratcher for ya! 92% huh? who woulda thunk it?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off