Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 7721 Old 02-14-2012, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsurkin View Post

Here on Cablevision/Optimum, the Cisco TAs are well-known for random reboots, which foul up recordings on Tivos and Moxis (RIP). Cisco, to my mind, has no interest in solving this issue or providing any support. Do you have any insight into how this problem can be resolved? One solution I've heard is to just not connect the TA, and forgo those channels that are switched digital. I would sooner do that than subject my soon-to-be-acquired Q/Echo system to random reboots.

And yeah, I'm buying one Q and one Echo the day you put them on sale.

So, by no means am I saying TAs are perfect, but they have gotten a lot better in the last year. I will say we have (and are continuing) to put a lot of effort into making the TA experience more reliable, and I'm actually scheduled to go into TWC's lab next week to do some more testing with them.

I can't say I've seen TA's spontaneously reboot since the 1501 TA firmware from Cisco. There is a known issue on the 1402 firmware, but 1501 fixes it and we've worked with most MSOs to get 1501 deployed ASAP.

I will say that Cisco's TA group (which is different than their CableCARD group and their SDV server group) has actually worked with us and provided some feedback, and we have worked with them (the only reason the current Cisco TA firmware supports 6 tuners and not 4 is because we sent them a 6-tuner InfiniTV) so perhaps we actually have more reliable TA support that our competitors?

If you can simply ignore the TA or not depends on your system. In my case, there are literally about 6 non-switched HD channels so I essentially have to use a TA or my setup is useless.

Are you experiencing specific TA-related issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajohnson1 View Post

sounds like a Q3 release target?

I'm going to defer to the nearest Magic 8 ball for the answer on that one

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 7721 Old 02-14-2012, 09:45 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,654
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

because we sent them a 6-tuner InfiniTV

So when will you guys send me (and other interested buyers) a 6-tuner InfiniTV? I'll be happy to pay for mine...
gsr is online now  
post #273 of 7721 Old 02-14-2012, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
ncarty97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsurkin View Post

Here on Cablevision/Optimum, the Cisco TAs are well-known for random reboots, which foul up recordings on Tivos and Moxis (RIP). Cisco, to my mind, has no interest in solving this issue or providing any support. Do you have any insight into how this problem can be resolved? One solution I've heard is to just not connect the TA, and forgo those channels that are switched digital. I would sooner do that than subject my soon-to-be-acquired Q/Echo system to random reboots.

And yeah, I'm buying one Q and one Echo the day you put them on sale.

What is the 'Cisco TA'? I have Optimum and we've had two problems with regards to our InfiniTV:

1) We had a problem with 7MC losing the set up (basically says no tuner available and we have to reset up). Ceton worked pretty hard to correct this and its much less of an issue now. I replaced my router (I share one tuner to another PC) which seemed to really be the issue, but I wondered if it had something to do with Optimum as well.

2) Lately, we've been having a lot of signal drops in the middle of shows. It's not specific to cable cards though as our neighbors (condo) are reporting the same thing and most have regular DVRs.
ncarty97 is offline  
post #274 of 7721 Old 02-15-2012, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ncarty97:
Here's the Cisco data sheet:
www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/video/ps9159/.../7013834.pdf

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #275 of 7721 Old 02-15-2012, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Eric:

Thanks for your reply. I have one additional question concerning HDMI.

I currently have a Denon receiver (an older model) that supports HDMI 1.1, so I have my LG Blu-Ray player set to output audio over HDMI in PCM format. Does the Q support this level of audio support, or will I have to update my receiver when I buy the Q? Note that I easily convinced my wife to approve the Q (because it won't have the external hard drive problems randomly exhibited by the SA8300HD), but it will be more difficult to persuade her that we need to spend another $850 to update the receiver at the same time.

Thanks for your time & trouble.

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #276 of 7721 Old 02-15-2012, 12:56 PM
Member
 
werd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what is everyone's wishlist for 3rd party / internet sourced content.

I mentioned a few earlier but curious what you all hope for.

Personally I'd love.
MLB.TV, NBA league Pass, NFL Sunday Ticket, NHL, Hulu, Nextflix.

I'm sure there are a few I'm forgetting so post your wishlist!
werd is offline  
post #277 of 7721 Old 02-15-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsurkin View Post

Eric:

Thanks for your reply. I have one additional question concerning HDMI.

I currently have a Denon receiver (an older model) that supports HDMI 1.1, so I have my LG Blu-Ray player set to output audio over HDMI in PCM format. Does the Q support this level of audio support, or will I have to update my receiver when I buy the Q? Note that I easily convinced my wife to approve the Q (because it won't have the external hard drive problems randomly exhibited by the SA8300HD), but it will be more difficult to persuade her that we need to spend another $850 to update the receiver at the same time.

Thanks for your time & trouble.

Yes, the Q will support this.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #278 of 7721 Old 02-15-2012, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
tkole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

And I don't (though I would still like it to potentially)



I know it will play recordings, it's a Windows Media Center Extender so it has to. I'm not interested in (just) that, I need something that supports TV (from Dish or DTV) and Blu-ray/DVD rips, ideally in their native folder format.

It seems clear that the Echo can do both, but there's a giant question hanging of if it can do both while connected to a regular WMC machine or if the Q is required to enable the advanced media support current extenders don't. They've stated some advanced functionality will only work with the Q, but the skins are the only example that has been specified so far.

Has it been verefied that the echo will play bd rips in iso or folder structures? I personally hate making mkvs.
tkole is offline  
post #279 of 7721 Old 02-15-2012, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

Yes, the Q will support this.

Eric:

Great! Thanks.

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #280 of 7721 Old 02-16-2012, 05:52 PM
Member
 
nebulink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a datasheet on the Echo I just came across.

http://cetoncorp.com/wp-content/them...Ceton_Echo.pdf
nebulink is offline  
post #281 of 7721 Old 02-16-2012, 05:54 PM
Member
 
nebulink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nebulink is offline  
post #282 of 7721 Old 02-16-2012, 06:04 PM
Member
 
nebulink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this any indication they are getting close or have these documents been posted before?
nebulink is offline  
post #283 of 7721 Old 02-16-2012, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post

Is this any indication they are getting close or have these documents been posted before?

Someone else posted them last week or so - I'd hope its an indicator we'll see it available soon!
tgrinch is offline  
post #284 of 7721 Old 02-17-2012, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Regarding WAF:
I'm the technology geek in the family (how's that for a stereotype!), and sometimes it takes a while for me to persuade my wife to go along with a new gadget. When we got the Squeezebox, it was the good UI/remote design that convinced her. With regard to the Q and the Echo, the thing that convinced her was -
pause for dramatic effect -
the incredibly unreliable nature of the SA8300HD.

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #285 of 7721 Old 02-18-2012, 04:33 PM
Member
 
ajohnson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post

Is this any indication they are getting close or have these documents been posted before?

see page 9
ajohnson1 is offline  
post #286 of 7721 Old 02-20-2012, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone care to speculate whether or not we'll see this device by July?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #287 of 7721 Old 02-20-2012, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

I can't say I've seen TA's spontaneously reboot since the 1501 TA firmware from Cisco. There is a known issue on the 1402 firmware, but 1501 fixes it and we've worked with most MSOs to get 1501 deployed ASAP.

Eric, have you worked with Cox, Cox is still at Cisco TA FW 1402, and claims that is the latest.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #288 of 7721 Old 02-20-2012, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post

Eric, have you worked with Cox, Cox is still at Cisco TA FW 1402, and claims that is the latest.

I know Cox was at least testing 1501 - I'm unsure if they have started deployments offhand. I actually just pinged them about it yesterday

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #289 of 7721 Old 02-21-2012, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
tkole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Eric, any chance that Ceton also sells their softsled software that is running on these units? Those of us already with multiple htpcs would be very likely to buy several licenses of that.
tkole is offline  
post #290 of 7721 Old 02-21-2012, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

I know Cox was at least testing 1501 - I'm unsure if they have started deployments offhand. I actually just pinged them about it yesterday

Eric:

Do you know which firmware Optonline/Cablevision uses? Thanks.

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #291 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 06:49 AM
Member
 
ajohnson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkole View Post

Eric, any chance that Ceton also sells their softsled software that is running on these units? Those of us already with multiple htpcs would be very likely to buy several licenses of that.

microsoft is the only one that can release extender software, and they will never do that.
ajohnson1 is offline  
post #292 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 09:44 AM
Member
 
nebulink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsembe...-features.aspx

Notice one of the features:
Remote Desktop Protocol 7.1 (RDP7.1) includes RemoteFX, which is a set of technologies that includes USB Redirection, Multi-media redirection, Multi-monitor support.

Is it possible to have your clients connect via RDP to get the extender experience? Isn't that how the old extenders worked?
nebulink is offline  
post #293 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
nebulink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a nice comparison doc of the Windows Embedded os's:
http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...ndard-2009.pdf

If you look on Page 3 you will see they offer easier Third-Party software and driver integration and on page 5 you will see Windows Media Center is fully integrated.
nebulink is offline  
post #294 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsurkin View Post

Eric:

Do you know which firmware Optonline/Cablevision uses? Thanks.

I'm pretty certain they are on 1501, but CableVision is actually a little unique in that they are the only MSO running their TAs in DSG mode and not legacy OOB mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsembe...-features.aspx

Notice one of the features:
Remote Desktop Protocol 7.1 (RDP7.1) includes RemoteFX, which is a set of technologies that includes USB Redirection, Multi-media redirection, Multi-monitor support.

Is it possible to have your clients connect via RDP to get the extender experience? Isn't that how the old extenders worked?

No. RemoteFX requires the OS to be a VM on Windows Server 2008 R2, and does not support machines running on physical HW.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #295 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 05:32 PM
Member
 
rwtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

No. RemoteFX requires the OS to be a VM on Windows Server 2008 R2, and does not support machines running on physical HW.

Does this mean if the HTPC is a windows 2008 server; a VM client could act as an extender?
rwtom is offline  
post #296 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 07:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 157
It wouldn't get around the issue that WMC machines can't be clients. As far as media center is concerned, multiple instances in VMs are no different than multiple instances on different PCs.

And maybe Eric can correct me if I'm wrong, but while the WMC Extender functionality is based on remote desktop, it is not just remote desktop. I believe the remote desktop functionality is just used for the GUI presentation, audio/video is handled (decoded) locally on the extender box.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #297 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwtom View Post

Does this mean if the HTPC is a windows 2008 server; a VM client could act as an extender?

It has to be 2008 R2, and it has to be a Win7 VM on it It's also a little more complex.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

It wouldn't get around the issue that WMC machines can't be clients. As far as media center is concerned, multiple instances in VMs are no different than multiple instances on different PCs.

And maybe Eric can correct me if I'm wrong, but while the WMC Extender functionality is based on remote desktop, it is not just remote desktop. I believe the remote desktop functionality is just used for the GUI presentation, audio/video is handled (decoded) locally on the extender box.

That's relatively accurate

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #298 of 7721 Old 02-22-2012, 11:41 PM
Member
 
EmDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Layton, Utah (USA)
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 questions.

1. If another machine on my network has a InfiniTV card in it, will the Q be able to use these tuners in addition to what it already has?

2. Has Ceton been able to solve the "record after" bug with back-to-back (on the same channel) recordings?
EmDub is offline  
post #299 of 7721 Old 02-23-2012, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

I'm pretty certain they are on 1501, but CableVision is actually a little unique in that they are the only MSO running their TAs in DSG mode and not legacy OOB mode.

"Cablevision is running firmware version STA1.0.0_1520.LR_F.BDSG 1501"
http://optimum.custhelp.com/app/answ...ning%20Adapter

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #300 of 7721 Old 02-23-2012, 05:47 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,654
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 214
EmDub, your questions really belong in the Q thread as the Echo is an extender.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmDub View Post

2. Has Ceton been able to solve the "record after" bug with back-to-back (on the same channel) recordings?

That's Microsoft's bug to fix (I'm assuming you're referring to the bug where you have to specify to record 10 (or more) minutes extra (and not the "when possible" option) at the end of a program to avoid the same tuner being used for back to back recordings on the same channel (which results in the first one ending on time and the second starting on time instead of using the user's specified extra start and end times. I wouldn't expect Ceton to be making changes to core WMC functionality (and I wouldn't think Microsoft would be providing them with the source code to do so), but rather to be writing add-ons to add additional functionality. If I'm wrong and Ceton will have access to fix this sort of issue, that would be a huge selling point for the Q.
gsr is online now  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off