Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,903
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

There really aren't that many TVs in existence anymore. To qualify as a TV, and not a monitor, it would need to have a tuner built in. Most "TVs" sold today do not, and are, in fact, monitors - people and marketing just call them TVs out of habit and simplicity. If you have a monitor with speakers built in that does not support any form of remote control, then that's a limitation of the monitor, not the Echo or any other device you connect. Most consumer electronic devices don't have independent volume control like what you're describing.
A lot of morden PC monitors come with HDMI input and support HDCP. I think this is the kind of monitor he is refering to.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Roginator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK, USA
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Echo is now for sale on Amazon! whee!
Roginator is offline  
post #3333 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,775
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roginator View Post

The Echo is now for sale on Amazon! whee!
They also have an InfiniTV 4 / Echo bundle that's a pretty good deal. Price for the Echo alone is still better on Newegg.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #3334 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roginator View Post

The Echo is now for sale on Amazon! whee!

I better cancel my Newegg preorder before it ships since they're apparently already shipping from Amazon and we still don't know exactly what we're going to get in terms of firmware.
crbaldwin is offline  
post #3335 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

A lot of morden PC monitors come with HDMI input and support HDCP. I think this is the kind of monitor he is refering to.

That's the same thing as what I'm talking about - a "modern PC monitor" is the same as the big screen "TVs" you see advertised, just a different size. Either way, if it doesn't support a remote, that's a limitation of the monitor, and has nothing to do with the Echo or any other CE device you connect to it. HDMI just carries a digital signal, and most devices have no volume control independent of the display or receiver.
mcturkey is offline  
post #3336 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Both the Echo and the InfiniTV4/Echo combo have been pulled from amazon. I seem to remember this same thing happening last year when the HDHR Prime was released through newegg.

BTW, the InfiniTV4 internal is $149 right now on newegg.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3337 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

BTW, the InfiniTV4 internal is $149 right now on newegg.

FYI the sale on InfiniTV ends today

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #3338 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Eric, How's the 1080 stuff (Progressive and de-interlacer) coming along?

And thanks for the heads up on that sale price.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3339 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Amazon has the HDHR3 on sale for $129, nice for a network tunner.

skybolt is offline  
post #3340 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I know this is the Echo thread, but there's nothing to talk about the Echo right now. The Prime is $120 at newegg right now.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3341 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Haba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

There really aren't that many TVs in existence anymore. To qualify as a TV, and not a monitor, it would need to have a tuner built in. Most "TVs" sold today do not, and are, in fact, monitors - people and marketing just call them TVs out of habit and simplicity. If you have a monitor with speakers built in that does not support any form of remote control, then that's a limitation of the monitor, not the Echo or any other device you connect. Most consumer electronic devices don't have independent volume control like what you're describing.

I disagree, most t.v.s sold today still have some kind of tuner, speakers, remote control, inputs and outputs that are designed for t.v. use. Most set top boxes are designed to work with t.v.'s not pc type monitors with speakers and no wireless remote control.
Haba is offline  
post #3342 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haba View Post

I disagree, most t.v.s sold today still have some kind of tuner, speakers, remote control, inputs and outputs that are designed for t.v. use. Most set top boxes are designed to work with t.v.'s not pc type monitors with speakers and no wireless remote control.

Exactly, of my 6 recently purchased flat screens (Different brands, models), all of them have ATSC tunners in them.

skybolt is offline  
post #3343 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haba View Post

I disagree, most t.v.s sold today still have some kind of tuner, speakers, remote control, inputs and outputs that are designed for t.v. use. Most set top boxes are designed to work with t.v.'s not pc type monitors with speakers and no wireless remote control.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

Exactly, of my 6 recently purchased flat screens (Different brands, models), all of them have ATSC tunners in them.

My thoughts exactly.

That said, All I really need is a 80" LED with ONE HDMI input and a power input. That would/could save me a bundle but these TV's come with all these extras because the Joe's of the world don't know that they actually don't need it.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3344 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,903
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
I believe all consumer TVs (retailed as such) require to have ATSC tuners. TVs with no built-in tuners are typically labeled as commercial/professional products and can't be purchased in retail stores.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3345 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
tima94930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

There really aren't that many TVs in existence anymore. To qualify as a TV, and not a monitor, it would need to have a tuner built in. Most "TVs" sold today do not, and are, in fact, monitors - people and marketing just call them TVs out of habit and simplicity.

Where do you get that from? From low to high end, all the TVs lining the walls and shelves of stores like Best Buy have tuners capable of ATSC and Clear QAM. At least I'm not aware of one that lacks such a tuner. What's hard to find are TVs with CableCard slots, but you're not talking about just them.
tima94930 is offline  
post #3346 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:53 AM
Member
 
motz2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Both the Echo and the InfiniTV4/Echo combo have been pulled from amazon. I seem to remember this same thing happening last year when the HDHR Prime was released through newegg.
BTW, the InfiniTV4 internal is $149 right now on newegg.

The amazon listings were mistake posting that went live a bit early as you have to prepare the listing pretty early for amazon. Just so everyone knows smile.gif

Software Developer on My Media Center -> Ceton Corp.

motz2k1 is offline  
post #3347 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Thanks.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3348 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by tima94930 View Post

Where do you get that from? From low to high end, all the TVs lining the walls and shelves of stores like Best Buy have tuners capable of ATSC and Clear QAM. At least I'm not aware of one that lacks such a tuner. What's hard to find are TVs with CableCard slots, but you're not talking about just them.

Really? Odd, because I've not had tuners on the last couple of screens that I've purchased. Given how limited broadcast signals are, I would have though external tuners/antennas were common for those, rather than using a built-in tuner.

Either way, though, the original point stands - volume control has nothing to do with the Echo, so it's silly for anyone to blame the Echo for this.
mcturkey is offline  
post #3349 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,903
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

Really? Odd, because I've not had tuners on the last couple of screens that I've purchased. Given how limited broadcast signals are, I would have though external tuners/antennas were common for those, rather than using a built-in tuner.

External antenna, maybe. External tuner, no unless you are talking about really old TVs that only has NTSC analog tuners. External tuners are not required. All of them come with ATSC (most of them also ClearQAM) tuners.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3350 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
BSD truk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Port Washington, NY
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm pretty disappointed with the 1080 progress (or lack thereof) and lack feedback from Ceton regarding when we can expect it to work. I went ahead and built a HTPC in anticipation of the Echo with the hopes that it would provide 1080 Live TV as well as streaming ripped movies at 1080 to multiple rooms. I have been trying to stay positive but it is hard when the release is in a few days and there still isn't 1080 support. I feel pretty foolish at the expenditure of building the HTPC now. frown.gif I have cancled my preorder at newegg. frown.gif
BSD truk is offline  
post #3351 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSD truk View Post

I'm pretty disappointed with the 1080 progress (or lack thereof) and lack feedback from Ceton regarding when we can expect it to work. I went ahead and built a HTPC in anticipation of the Echo with the hopes that it would provide 1080 Live TV as well as streaming ripped movies at 1080 to multiple rooms. I have been trying to stay positive but it is hard when the release is in a few days and there still isn't 1080 support. I feel pretty foolish at the expenditure of building the HTPC now. frown.gif I have cancled my preorder at newegg. frown.gif

I've used my HTPC to feed content to my AVR/HDTV since March 2011 and have been using it exclusivelly for CableTV since June 2012. Why do you feel foolish in building the HTPC now? They work fine with or without the Echo. The Echo is an extender to be placed in other locatations for a whole home solution.

That said, I am trying to keep the faith that ceton will pull this off. There still is time this week.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3352 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I feel 100% positive that Ceton will pull this off. I'm just not sure that it will happen in the original timeframe. I'd rather believe they won't release a product until it's working as advertised. There's no way this is being released to the public in it's current state.
captain_video is offline  
post #3353 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
As a DVR/PVR extender, my echo works great!
tstolze likes this.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3354 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

As a DVR/PVR extender, my echo works great!

Yes, we know smile.gif, it's the rest of that have issues.

skybolt is offline  
post #3355 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSD truk View Post

I'm pretty disappointed with the 1080 progress (or lack thereof) and lack feedback from Ceton regarding when we can expect it to work. I went ahead and built a HTPC in anticipation of the Echo with the hopes that it would provide 1080 Live TV as well as streaming ripped movies at 1080 to multiple rooms. I have been trying to stay positive but it is hard when the release is in a few days and there still isn't 1080 support. I feel pretty foolish at the expenditure of building the HTPC now. frown.gif I have cancled my preorder at newegg. frown.gif

I wouldn't feel foolish, I have buit two for this endevor, one in a VM, and most recently one for the HT. I find the fanless, no moving parts solution which boots directly into 7MC and does NOT need a keboard to be real nice actually. Much differant then only a few years ago. This actually works more like an STB then an HTPC.

skybolt is offline  
post #3356 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSD truk View Post

I have cancled my preorder at newegg. frown.gif

Me too given the serious outstanding issues and unknowns so close to shipping and Newegg's restocking fees.
crbaldwin is offline  
post #3357 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I hardly call the issues serious. My echo works fine, excepting HBR mkv's but mkv was never even promissed.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3358 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I hardly call the issues serious. My echo works fine, excepting HBR mkv's but mkv was never even promissed.

Well for most of us, no 1080 support, even scaled down at this point is an issue for most, and PCM 2.0 only audio. I see your point not too serious. rolleyes.gif

I know there are a few days before release, they can still fix EVRYTHING before the first person plugs there's in.

Does the beta end on the 30th? biggrin.gif

EDIT: Don't forget most of us want to replace the HTPC with the Echo, and put the server back where it belongs.

skybolt is offline  
post #3359 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BruceD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

I wouldn't feel foolish, I have buit two for this endevor, one in a VM, and most recently one for the HT. I find the fanless, no moving parts solution which boots directly into 7MC and does NOT need a keboard to be real nice actually. Much differant then only a few years ago. This actually works more like an STB then an HTPC.

I'm a bit interested in your VM htpc. Can you give a brief synopsis of what it contains and what else it might be running ?

I'm currently trying to layout a plan for an ESXi 5.1 server running a number of things, such as a WHS2011 server, a Win7 htpc,using an HDHomerun with InfinityTV cable (Comcast) , and a number of echos as extenders.

I'd be most interested in what you've done so far or are planning.

BruceD


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BruceD is offline  
post #3360 of 7721 Old 11-26-2012, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceD View Post

I'm a bit interested in your VM htpc. Can you give a brief synopsis of what it contains and what else it might be running ?...

I'll send you a PM, this was covered many posts back. Just don't want to reinvent the wheel again.

skybolt is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off