Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 115 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My guess is we will get smooth 1080i playback after the next update. It has to otherwise Ceton will have a real mess on their hands.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
1080 is in the next f/w. I wouldn't think ceton would have done the early release without it coming down the pike. I really think 1080p support is the key to HBR mkv playback in WMC because with only 720p it had to down convert from 1080p to 720p and change the framerate from 23.xxx to 60. With all that out of the way I expect it will do just fine with mkv's but with the ICS support it can do a dual boot mode and be a streamer outside of WMC where what it can handle will be much less limited.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3423 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

TOSlink/HDMI audio passthrough. Echo settings menu plugin to WMC. Android ICS support as a Christmas present. Just your run of the mill WMX stuff from 2009.. nothing interesting really.

Not sure passthrough was in the email, bitstream over HDMI or Optical was. Not sure that fully covers passthough since TOS was mentioned.

skybolt is offline  
post #3424 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

... I expect it will do just fine with mkv's but with the ICS support it can do a dual boot mode and be a streamer outside of WMC where what it can handle will be much less limited.

Maybe the extender will run on ICS and the streaming will be from within the extender, much like XBMC has done with similar devices (PIVOS).

skybolt is offline  
post #3425 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

TOSlink/HDMI audio passthrough. Echo settings menu plugin to WMC. Android ICS support as a Christmas present. Just your run of the mill WMX stuff from 2009.. nothing interesting really.

Not sure passthrough was in the email, bitstream over HDMI or Optical was. Not sure that fully covers passthough since TOS was mentioned.

This is correct. It said nothing about passthrough. Iirc passthrough deals with PCM. unless thy meant bitstream and have been saying passthrough..

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #3426 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

Not sure passthrough was in the email, bitstream over HDMI or Optical was. Not sure that fully covers passthough since TOS was mentioned.

Is there a difference? Of course full dts decoding would be ideal for use in locations where there is no AVR to do it.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3427 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

1080 is in the next f/w. I wouldn't think ceton would have done the early release without it coming down the pike. I really think 1080p support is the key to HBR mkv playback in WMC because with only 720p it had to down convert from 1080p to 720p and change the framerate from 23.xxx to 60. With all that out of the way I expect it will do just fine with mkv's but with the ICS support it can do a dual boot mode and be a streamer outside of WMC where what it can handle will be much less limited.

I'm hoping it will be 1080p/60 or 30 correctly and not 24p. 24 can come later for me.

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #3428 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Sammy2 is offline  
post #3429 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Is there a difference? Of course full dts decoding would be ideal for use in locations where there is no AVR to do it.

I know, I was being nice on my correction ...
But that does leave a question, since the addition of the settings menu, will the Echo automaticlly switch audio or is that a function of the settings.
Meaning listen to SS with the AVR, turn the AVR off and PMC to the tv works.

Passthrough is not being implemented this time out, unless Marrio is correct in that they said passthrough and meant bitstream.

skybolt is offline  
post #3430 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I was under the impression that the Echo didn't yet work with Windows 8. Has this already been addressed?
crbaldwin is online now  
post #3431 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Relleum View Post

You're obviously not a Microsoft software developer. End development for WinRT is a fusion of Silverlight and WPF built on COM wrappers.

You couldn't be more wrong about it. Let's say you have no clue what WinRT really is.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3432 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Wow, 20 channels in Australia. Do they even use CableCARDs there? Unless it has a CableCARD tuner it will not tune encrypted CATV content. I do not see enough details in that article to give even an incling of the 720 doing that. And if it requires a monthly fee it will be a hard sell because the end user might as well keep their status quo in paying the CableCO for the STB's.
The article you linked is heresay and rumer. Until we have hard facts on the 720 we cannot begin to discuss it's cababilities.
BTW, I am not so young. I have been assembling computers for going on 30 years now. Can you say autoexec.bat and config.sys? How about COBAL and FortranV?

CableCard is a US only standard (thanks to FCC and CableLabs). Other countries has different ways of dealing with cable encryptions.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3433 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

Not sure passthrough was in the email, bitstream over HDMI or Optical was. Not sure that fully covers passthough since TOS was mentioned.

Passthrough and Bitstream are the same thing. I have plenty of mkvs to test this HDMI passthrough/bitstream thing smile.gif From Dolby Digital Plus to DTS-HD MA.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3434 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

I was under the impression that the Echo didn't yet work with Windows 8. Has this already been addressed?

Echo works with WMC. WMC in Windows 8 (after you get your free activation code from MS) is essentially the same as Win7. I have not heard anything about not working with Windows 8. But by default, WMC extender traffic is blocked by Win8 firewall (unchecked in filewall settings). You need to enable it yourself.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3435 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

BTW, I am not so young. I have been assembling computers for going on 30 years now. Can you say autoexec.bat and config.sys? How about COBAL and FortranV?
I say it COBOL. tongue.gif But I remember well having multiple autoexec.bat options to manage that base and extended memory just right to get the SoundBlaster working in a particular game. Every now and then, I still come accross my copy of Windows 1.0. that I have saved somewhere. wink.gif
vladd is offline  
post #3436 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Passthrough and Bitstream are the same thing. I have plenty of mkvs to test this HDMI passthrough/bitstream thing smile.gif From Dolby Digital Plus to DTS-HD MA.

I thought that, but read the email, bitstream over TOS? TOS can handle the speed but the SPDif interface won't handle the HBR stream. So maybe there talking about AC-3 only?
I guess we'll know later tonight/tomorrow.

skybolt is offline  
post #3437 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

I thought that, but read the email, bitstream over TOS? TOS can handle the speed but the SPDif interface won't handle the HBR stream. So maybe there talking about AC-3 only?
I guess we'll know later tonight/tomorrow.

DD 5.1 and DTS 5.1 can be considered as bitstream as well. All BD players can do this easily: bitstream HD audio to HDMI interface with AVR (via EDID for guide) and extract DD 5.1 or DTS 5.1 to TOS/SPDIF. And if you connect HDMI directly to TV, they automatically output PCM 2.0. I don't know how much Echo can handle this bitstream thing inside WMC extender.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3438 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Passthrough and Bitstream are the same thing. I have plenty of mkvs to test this HDMI passthrough/bitstream thing smile.gif From Dolby Digital Plus to DTS-HD MA.

I thought that, but read the email, bitstream over TOS? TOS can handle the speed but the SPDif interface won't handle the HBR stream. So maybe there talking about AC-3 only?
I guess we'll know later tonight/tomorrow.

HDMI passthrough is the ability to pass the HDMI audio and video signal through when it is powered off (as PCM or (signal the display can accept)). I was under the assumption only an AVR can implement this. Sending the raw non-decoded original is bitstream. I see these used interchangeably all the time but really it's bitstream.

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #3439 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Maybe this will clear it up. There is a slight difference, apparently.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3440 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Maybe this will clear it up. There is a slight difference, apparently.

That's where I got my learnings when I first jumped into the HTPC world. And realized soon after that they were indeed different.

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #3441 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
ICS? I almost spit out my soda..

Ok, once dual-boot support to Android is in, XBMC starts to become a real option. This is now legitimately a contender at $179. I will wait for final production firmware with dual-boot to hit before considering buying one, but this is a game changer. If the hardware is capable enough (and by all indications it is), Android support means we'll have the software. Well played, Ceton. Well played.
mcturkey is offline  
post #3442 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

ICS? I almost spit out my soda..

Ok, once dual-boot support to Android is in, XBMC starts to become a real option. This is now legitimately a contender at $179. I will wait for final production firmware with dual-boot to hit before considering buying one, but this is a game changer. If the hardware is capable enough (and by all indications it is), Android support means we'll have the software. Well played, Ceton. Well played.

I'm actually thinking (hoping really) the same thing.

Isn't it possible that with this little underpinning we could see capability similar to what google grabbed SageTV for? The hardware should be more capable than the sage hardware, right?

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #3443 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

... The hardware should be more capable than the sage hardware, right?

How do you mean? The HD300 can do everything, Sage was limited on CC support, but thats it.

skybolt is offline  
post #3444 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

How do you mean? The HD300 can do everything, Sage was limited on CC support, but thats it.

I don't see that as a slight against the HD300 but rather a statement that the hardware in the Echo is at least as good as that within the HD300.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3445 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

I'm actually thinking (hoping really) the same thing.
Isn't it possible that with this little underpinning we could see capability similar to what google grabbed SageTV for? The hardware should be more capable than the sage hardware, right?

Yeah, it is, actually. This also provides a very nice hedge against the eventual phasing out of WMC.
mcturkey is offline  
post #3446 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I'm seeing an android based Q. ceton just needs to get the DRM worked out and I'm pretty sure that they will.

As far as a netflix app in android on the Echo goes, I'm not so sure the PQ will be very good when you take something designed for a phone or a tablet and put it on a 32" or larger screen. And 32" is probably pushing it. It probably won't look too good on a 24" monitor. I can't get too excited about that just yet.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3447 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I'm seeing an android based Q. ceton just needs to get the DRM worked out and I'm pretty sure that they will.
As far as a netflix app in android on the Echo goes, I'm not so sure the PQ will be very good when you take something designed for a phone or a tablet and put it on a 32" or larger screen. And 32" is probably pushing it. It probably won't look too good on a 24" monitor. I can't get too excited about that just yet.

I have a Pivos, and it's not bad, not the same as a BD player but pretty nice just the same.

skybolt is offline  
post #3448 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Echo works with WMC. WMC in Windows 8 (after you get your free activation code from MS) is essentially the same as Win7. I have not heard anything about not working with Windows 8. But by default, WMC extender traffic is blocked by Win8 firewall (unchecked in filewall settings). You need to enable it yourself.

This is false. It doesn't work on windows 8. All of the GUI is black. If you can find your way through the darkness, or hit dedicated buttons to play stuff you can see video though.

Xbox 360 extender works fine with Windows 8. I opened a bug report, but it was closed for some stupid reason... saying it's the same as the companion apps lack of windows 8 support.
Diverge is offline  
post #3449 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 08:50 PM
Member
 
motz2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
We are working hard on getting Windows 8 Support working on the Echo, it will not be there for launch.

We just updated the infiniTV and the Ceton Companion to support Windows 8 Pro with Media Center.
Diverge likes this.

Software Developer on My Media Center -> Ceton Corp.

motz2k1 is offline  
post #3450 of 7721 Old 11-27-2012, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by motz2k1 View Post

We are working hard on getting Windows 8 Support working on the Echo, it will not be there for launch.
We just updated the infiniTV and the Ceton Companion to support Windows 8 Pro with Media Center.

Thanks for the info!

When my bug report was closed, there really wasn't a good reason why it was closed, or any info on future support. I replied to it, but I guess no one follows up on closed bug reports.
Diverge is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off