Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 04:03 AM
Member
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post

give me my q, give me my echo! Where are you ceton? Fill this tv emptiness in my life.

Can you please give us an eta? Please!

Drama rant over.

Really looking forward to getting what ceton has to offer.

+1
boomhower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post

Give me my Q, give me my echo! Where are you Ceton? Fill this tv emptiness in my life.

Can you please give us an ETA? PLEASE!

Drama rant over.

Really looking forward to getting what Ceton has to offer.

Eric:
Yesterday my XBox 360 went blank - No Audio/Video. After doing research I learn't that this is a known issue. Temp fix is this and more permanent fix is to heatgun GPU with removing X Clamps. This is due to bad soldering of GPU on board. For me the towel trick worked and I think I am good for few days or weeks.

You might all think why I am posting this is Ceton Echo section. The reason is simple, I have two such XBoxes and my wife and friends laugh when I do the "Towel Trick". Microsoft should be ashamed making such low quality stuff. I can't wait till Ceton is released . You have thousands of customers like me who will do the same.

Forget all the fluff, just ensure that
1) Quality is good. I believe this is your job Resist pressure from sales weasels to release it "early" or be first to market. You already are ahead of the game.
2) It does its primary job well (Live TV)
3) You price it well. I will buy it on day 1 if you price it 129 or under

If you meet all three then you have a winner.
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #333 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Um, the Xbox problem was fixed a couple of years ago when the Jasper models were released. You must have an older box. Agree that it was a bad deal with the old boxes, but you'd be much better served with the Xbox Slim (quieter, draws less power, much more reliable). Sell your old ones on craigslist while they still work, or trade them in at gamestop etc. for Slims if you want to keep them as an extender and game machine.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #334 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 10:26 AM
Member
 
kcr6419's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Shoot...I'll have to be under $99. I'm thinking more like $79 before I'd buy one.
kcr6419 is offline  
post #335 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post

Um, the Xbox problem was fixed a couple of years ago when the Jasper models were released. You must have an older box. Agree that it was a bad deal with the old boxes, but you'd be much better served with the Xbox Slim (quieter, draws less power, much more reliable). Sell your old ones on craigslist while they still work, or trade them in at gamestop etc. for Slims if you want to keep them as an extender and game machine.

Yup. These are older boxes. I already traded one for Slim. I am waiting for Echo and will trade in the other two. I just wanted to highlight to Eric was to focus on quality and price and Ceton has a winner.
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #336 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcr6419 View Post

Shoot...I'll have to be under $99. I'm thinking more like $79 before I'd buy one.

You are right. I would buy XBox Slim if it was 199. I would go for 129
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #337 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnewsgrp View Post

Forget all the fluff, just ensure that
1) Quality is good. I believe this is your job Resist pressure from sales weasels to release it "early" or be first to market. You already are ahead of the game.
2) It does its primary job well (Live TV)
3) You price it well. I will buy it on day 1 if you price it 129 or under

If you meet all three then you have a winner.

1. That's the goal
2. Again, important goal
3. Can't comment

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #338 of 7721 Old 03-09-2012, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

1. That's the goal
2. Again, important goal
3. Can't comment

Haha. I thought I might get price out somehow. Worth a shot.
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #339 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 08:12 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Can you at least say if the Echo will be under $600? Throw us a bone to at least make us feel like we got a win.
cybrsage is offline  
post #340 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 08:18 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,348
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Can you at least say if the Echo will be under $600? Throw us a bone to at least make us feel like we got a win.

He's already said the target is to make the pricing of the Echo competitive with the XBOX, so that has to put it well under $600. So I think he can comfortably say yes as an answer to your question without giving anything away .
gsr is offline  
post #341 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 360 just got the RRoD and is the older model out of warranty. I knew I was pushing it forcing it into an extender role Hurry up Ceton!!
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #342 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

Agreed. Just saw the "official" product listing on the Ceton site a couple of days ago and immediately thought of a project I've had in mind for a few years now.

I'm a college football nut. I currently have season tickets for my favorite team's home games, but for away game Saturdays I'm watching the ESPNs and whatever networks are airing games all day into the wee hours of Sundays. Lots of flipping between channels.

With the Echo I'm envisioning what I fondly refer to as "The Wall", something I almost have my wife agreeing to. The 61" screen in the middle, with 3 (or more) 27 - 32" screens across the top of that. An Echo attached to each of those showing the different games and I'm in hog-heaven, except for the obvious issue of controlling those screens independently. I believe this would require the ability to set each Echo to a different carrier frequency for the remote (otherwise a single button press affects all of the units), but I'm no expert on this subject.

Just dreaming out loud. Back to reality...

This guy did it, but he controls his extenders through an application using TCP/IP. Pretty cool.

http://www.hdhomesportsbar.com/

Tim
TimA is offline  
post #343 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Can you at least say if the Echo will be under $600? Throw us a bone to at least make us feel like we got a win.

$1 < Price of Echo < Price of Q < 1 Trillion Dollars

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #344 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
flavius99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

$1 < Price of Echo < Price of Q < 1 Trillion Dollars

$1 < Price of Echo < Price of Q < $1000?
flavius99 is offline  
post #345 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I thought we narrowed it down to something like: Echo < Xbox360
tgrinch is offline  
post #346 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 12:38 PM
Member
 
kcr6419's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimA View Post

This guy did it, but he controls his extenders through an application using TCP/IP. Pretty cool.

http://www.hdhomesportsbar.com/

Tim

Pretty cool. Now I don't have to write my own. Works nicely.
kcr6419 is offline  
post #347 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 09:45 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

$1 < Price of Echo < Price of Q < 1 Trillion Dollars

Nice! So it will be cheaper than the failed stimulous package!
cybrsage is offline  
post #348 of 7721 Old 03-10-2012, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Nice! So it will be cheaper than the failed stimulous package!

Yeah, but the accessories will be another few trillion dollars

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #349 of 7721 Old 03-11-2012, 08:57 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

Yeah, but the accessories will be another few trillion dollars

Darn. I have a pile of stimulous money sitting around, but only about $300 billion.
cybrsage is offline  
post #350 of 7721 Old 03-12-2012, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
tmrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eric,

One quick question - will it also share it's tuners like infinitv? I'd love to have echo/q combos for the tvs and be able to watch on my desktop as well...

Thanks,
Tim

BTW - can't wait for this!
tmrobert is offline  
post #351 of 7721 Old 03-12-2012, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmrobert View Post

Eric,

One quick question - will it also share it's tuners like infinitv? I'd love to have echo/q combos for the tvs and be able to watch on my desktop as well...

Thanks,
Tim

BTW - can't wait for this!

Echo is only an extender; It has no tuners.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #352 of 7721 Old 03-12-2012, 12:49 PM
Newbie
 
tmrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

Echo is only an extender; It has no tuners.

Sorry I wasn't clear - I meant if the Q can share out it's tuners...
tmrobert is offline  
post #353 of 7721 Old 03-13-2012, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
potts.mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just wanted to say that my htpc crapped out last week. I'd love to by 2 echos and a q to replace the htpc and two Tivos.
potts.mike is offline  
post #354 of 7721 Old 03-13-2012, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
lfilomeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post

Um, the Xbox problem was fixed a couple of years ago when the Jasper models were released. You must have an older box. Agree that it was a bad deal with the old boxes, but you'd be much better served with the Xbox Slim (quieter, draws less power, much more reliable). Sell your old ones on craigslist while they still work, or trade them in at gamestop etc. for Slims if you want to keep them as an extender and game machine.

Slowbiscuit: While it is true that the newer, slimmer models of the XBOX are quieter, better designed, and draw less power, they are designed to be a gaming console and not a Media Center Extender. Just buying a new XBOX to be use as an extender is not cost effective (at least to me). I am working with SageTV and have 4 extenders. I have not moved to MCE due to their innability to offer a real extender. CETON might change all that.
lfilomeno is offline  
post #355 of 7721 Old 03-14-2012, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Not cost effective? They only cost $150 on sale, which is probably what the Echo will cost. I'm not following you.

If you want cheap extenders, the Linksys DMA-2100 can still be found on fleabay for $100 or less. I have one, it works. Not as well as the Xbox, but it's good enough after you disable menu transitions on it.

I wouldn't swap out a Sage setup for MCE with 4 extenders either, but cost shouldn't deter folks new to MCE from getting extenders. Ceton will probably be a much better solution when it comes out, I'll grant you.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #356 of 7721 Old 03-14-2012, 06:02 AM
Member
 
gustovier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man I get a little sad every day when I think about how google came and bought sagetv. They won't give updates on what's happening which is even worse. I wish more people would have realized how much better sagetv was than MCE in every regard (except play ready support for cable card premium channels). I really think it came Down to the default UI.
gustovier is offline  
post #357 of 7721 Old 03-14-2012, 06:19 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,348
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by gustovier View Post

Man I get a little sad every day when I think about how google came and bought sagetv. They won't give updates on what's happening which is even worse. I wish more people would have realized how much better sagetv was than MCE in every regard (except play ready support for cable card premium channels). I really think it came Down to the default UI.

If more people had used SageTV, that might have just accelerated the purchase by Google. But for me (and I'm sure just about everyone posting in this thread), support for CableCard channels is a must-have feature, so SageTV wasn't really an option for us.
gsr is offline  
post #358 of 7721 Old 03-14-2012, 07:00 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I never saw a reason to buy something I already had for free.
cybrsage is offline  
post #359 of 7721 Old 03-14-2012, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
lfilomeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post

Not cost effective? They only cost $150 on sale, which is probably what the Echo will cost. I'm not following you.

If you want cheap extenders, the Linksys DMA-2100 can still be found on fleabay for $100 or less. I have one, it works. Not as well as the Xbox, but it's good enough after you disable menu transitions on it.

I wouldn't swap out a Sage setup for MCE with 4 extenders either, but cost shouldn't deter folks new to MCE from getting extenders. Ceton will probably be a much better solution when it comes out, I'll grant you.

Got your point but mines is $150 times 4 is $600 worht of extenders without shipping! I can have the wife going nuts over this and making my media center experience miserable! I truly believe CETON will deliver with their extenders. The WMC restrictions to people overseas (I am in Puerto Rico) is what got me thinking about really switching over. I am very happy after I cut the cord and access content online without restrictions with Sage. Maybe if someone knows and wants to share a trick or two on how to avoid this annoying content restriction will make me do the jump.
lfilomeno is offline  
post #360 of 7721 Old 03-14-2012, 11:43 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
You guys shold vote to become a state, then you are no longer overseas.
cybrsage is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off