Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 7721 Old 04-19-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrinch View Post

I wonder if that means it's just using one of the existing Ceton/SD/Hauppauge solutions or they actually went through CableLabs to have their own CC device approved.

Please don't take what I'm saying below as me attempting to spread FUD - that is not my intent. I'm trying to write down my thought process and share it with others.
http://cablelabs.org/opencable/udcp/...ads/OC_PNP.pdf does not show any new certified CableCARD devices. It is possible they have something still in the process, but I would think that's unlikely as the company is only about a year old, and to design a CableCARD tuner + this product in only a year, especially for a new company, is unlikely just due to the amount of engineering required. Keep in mind it took Ceton about 4 years to launch a CableCARD tuner alone. It also took SiliconDust, who had an existing ClearQAM tuner to start with, 2+ years to do the same thing.
I'm not aware of any partnership between Ceton and them (though I suppose there could be some sort of deal going on I'm not aware of) which leaves me two possible conclusions:
1. They are using the SiliconDust platform (likely USB based, but with 3 tuners) and have basically 2 three-tuner (this change should likely take almost no engineering effort from SD) DCR-2650s inside of it.
2. They do not have a tuner yet, and are betting on purchasing InfiniTV 6 units when they are available.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 7721 Old 04-19-2012, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmcxiiad View Post

Xbox, Playstation and nintendo probably all run some linux variant as well.

Not to nitpick, but the Xbox runs a version of Windows underneath. It may be WinCE or a varient of Windows Embedded, but it's definitely not Linux
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #453 of 7721 Old 04-19-2012, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
w84no1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Central VA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just waiting for the beta!!!
w84no1 is offline  
post #454 of 7721 Old 04-19-2012, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
mmcxiiad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

Not to nitpick, but the Xbox runs a version of Windows underneath. It may be WinCE or a varient of Windows Embedded, but it's definitely not Linux

I had put windows in and I must have deleted it. Yeah, Microsoft is not a fan of Linux. The only exception I know is Hotmail. If I remember hotmail is (or at one time) on linux. If I remember though they moved it off.
mmcxiiad is offline  
post #455 of 7721 Old 04-19-2012, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mmcxiiad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
more about Whiteman Technology's Delta DVR

This is getting more interesting
mmcxiiad is offline  
post #456 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 06:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Wouldn't this DVR talk be more appropriate in the Q thread? Or it's own thread? Since it's not an extender solution?

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is online now  
post #457 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmcxiiad View Post

more about Whiteman Technology's Delta DVR

This is getting more interesting

It's amazing that it's taken so many years to finally get WMC set top boxes that work with cable providers. Better late than never!
lockdown571 is online now  
post #458 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
ahwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the major drawbacks of using the Xbox 360 as a WMC extender besides the noise and power usage, is the fact that there is no direct volume control. Because I use external speakers, my TV disables the ability to adjust volume level directly. I'm crossing my fingers that Ceton has included this functionality into these products, as I suspect there are others with a similar configuration...
ahwman is offline  
post #459 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
mmcxiiad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

It's amazing that it's taken so many years to finally get WMC set top boxes that work with cable providers. Better late than never!

I think it was just last year that Microsoft announced windows embedded would support the media center. Prior to that companies would haver to build a windows machine to do an appliance like device. But had microsoft been a little more agressive on this, they could have been far ahead by now.
mmcxiiad is offline  
post #460 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Haba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post

One of the major drawbacks of using the Xbox 360 as a WMC extender besides the noise and power usage is the fact that there is no direct volume control. Because I use external speakers, my TV disables the ability to adjust volume level directly. I'm crossing my fingers that this functionality in incorporated as I suspect there are others with a similar configuration...

I wholeheartedly agree. I have just been researching this issue myself. I was given a 360 with drive read errors and have been testing. I do NOT understand why Microsoft choose to not allow volume adjustment via the extender's WMC volume control.

My wife and I would both love to see a volume amplifier to raise volume levels up to 200% like they have in Media Player Classic. The sound levels on some movies are very, very low.
Haba is offline  
post #461 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

Not to nitpick, but the Xbox runs a version of Windows underneath. It may be WinCE or a varient of Windows Embedded, but it's definitely not Linux

The extender functionality of it is definitely Linux. All WMC extenders are based on it.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #462 of 7721 Old 04-20-2012, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

The extender functionality of it is definitely Linux. All WMC extenders are based on it.

Nope. Extenders *could* be based on Linux. They all were not. The 360 does not run any Linux.
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #463 of 7721 Old 04-26-2012, 01:59 PM
Member
 
dah12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Am I remembering correctly? The Ceton Echo page today says "coming in 2012". Didn't it say "coming soon" before? Thoughts on significance?
dah12 is offline  
post #464 of 7721 Old 04-26-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well damn it better be 2012.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #465 of 7721 Old 04-26-2012, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
facesnorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pocono Mountains
Posts: 1,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would this device be the first extender for both Movies and TV? I find it odd that the Xbox can serve as an extender for TV but not Movie rips. And that Media center PC's can stream movies but not TV. Great to have a device coming out that can extend both. Will it work with My Movies? Can it work in conjunction with Autonomic's Media Control System?
facesnorth is offline  
post #466 of 7721 Old 04-27-2012, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dah12 View Post

Am I remembering correctly? The Ceton Echo page today says "coming in 2012". Didn't it say "coming soon" before? Thoughts on significance?

I share your concern--a change like that usually is significant. I'm very interested to see what they say at the Cable Show (Boston, May21-23).

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #467 of 7721 Old 04-27-2012, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Metric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by facesnorth View Post

Would this device be the first extender for both Movies and TV? I find it odd that the Xbox can serve as an extender for TV but not Movie rips. And that Media center PC's can stream movies but not TV. Great to have a device coming out that can extend both. Will it work with My Movies? Can it work in conjunction with Autonomic's Media Control System?

My xbox plays all my moves with ff/rwd intact - I just convert to wtv 1080p

I want to die in my sleep like grandpa... not kicking and screaming like the people in his car.
Metric is offline  
post #468 of 7721 Old 04-27-2012, 08:23 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,420
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsurkin View Post

I'm very interested to see what they say at the Cable Show (Boston, May21-23).

That would be about a 5-10 minute walk from my office (well, at least for the days I don't work from home), but too expensive to even consider attending given what I'd get out of it.
gsr is online now  
post #469 of 7721 Old 04-27-2012, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metric View Post

My xbox plays all my moves with ff/rwd intact - I just convert to wtv 1080p

I also convert rip movies using handbrake and they play fine in WMC using Xbox as extender.
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #470 of 7721 Old 04-27-2012, 09:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metric View Post

My xbox plays all my moves with ff/rwd intact - I just convert to wtv 1080p

But you lose HBR audio and Chapters right? And I thought the 360 couldn't handle (in extender mode) full BD bitrates.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is online now  
post #471 of 7721 Old 04-28-2012, 12:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
facesnorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pocono Mountains
Posts: 1,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metric View Post

My xbox plays all my moves with ff/rwd intact - I just convert to wtv 1080p

There may be DIY workarounds, but as an integrator, we cannot really implement this kind of solution that involves extra hurdles. This Ceton hopefully can provide just the simplified solution we have been looking for.
facesnorth is offline  
post #472 of 7721 Old 04-28-2012, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Echo extender "soon", likely within a few weeks.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/17/c...one-echo-beta/

I hope they're ready for my order.

Here's to hoping we'll hear something this week.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #473 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 06:32 AM
Member
 
Venomnusss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, Florida
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like it is close......

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/30/c...eta/#continued

.
Egyptian Tomb Home Theater!!!
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...highlight=tomb

Please visit my Web Page:

http://www.eyecit.net

Venomnusss is offline  
post #474 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 06:44 AM
Member
 
paulinmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like we have quite a wait left. At the end of the video on Engadget the Echo beta doesn't start until July 15th, so I would assume it won't be released to retail for a couple of months after that. Dang.
paulinmn is offline  
post #475 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 09:02 AM
Member
 
werd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That video
werd is offline  
post #476 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 09:07 AM
Member
 
werd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
werd is offline  
post #477 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 09:11 AM
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by werd View Post

http://cetoncorp.com/ceton-beta-registration/

Go go go!

I signed up for both betas: apps & extender
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #478 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker View Post

I signed up for both betas: apps & extender

Did you guys get any sort of confirmation when you signed up? I just got a blank screen after hitting submit. Maybe their servers are overloaded?
lockdown571 is online now  
post #479 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 09:36 AM
Member
 
paulinmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Did you guys get any sort of confirmation when you signed up? I just got a blank screen after hitting submit. Maybe their servers are overloaded?

I got the same thing a couple of hours ago. Was expecting some sort of confirmation, be it web page or e-mail based.
paulinmn is offline  
post #480 of 7721 Old 04-30-2012, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
tkole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Did you guys get any sort of confirmation when you signed up? I just got a blank screen after hitting submit. Maybe their servers are overloaded?

If you scroll back to the top the confirmation is there. For some reason it doesn't bring you to the top of the page after it refreshes.
tkole is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off