Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 151
It's not exactly an RDP session, extenders use, I guess I'd say "RDP technology" to render the UI, meaning that the logic for the UI actually runs on the PC, but gets displayed on the extender using something like RDP. The video itself is streamed to the extender raw where it's decoded and displayed by the extender's hardware.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
So it is some sort of hybrid of RDP and streaming then.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #993 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
kemist1117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Basically a drm'ed rdp session with streaming enabled. There was an open source project that started working on cracking it to enable PC extenders but not much came of it.
kemist1117 is offline  
post #994 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,992
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 244
I really hope they don't try to crack it. The day such effort succeeded is the day that CableLabs officially revoke WMC license to use CableCard tuners. We can all kiss our HTPCs goodbye.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #995 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I really hope they don't try to crack it. The day such effort succeeded is the day that CableLabs officially revoke WMC license to use CableCard tuners. We can all kiss our HTPCs goodbye.

Or we could revolt and throw everyone who thinks DRM is a good idea in jail...
mcturkey is offline  
post #996 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 05:23 PM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

Or we could revolt and throw everyone who thinks DRM is a good idea in jail...

YES. I would vote for that. Really useless useless feature
kalex is offline  
post #997 of 7721 Old 07-19-2012, 05:39 PM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zon2020 View Post

I agree that the sat companies are the leading edge. I was just pointing out that the technology and features that used to only be available DIY are now being rolled out by content distributors. Yes, the cable companies are behind, and some cable companies are far behind and will never catch up, but none of them are sitting still, and the things that DirecTV has today will become more commonplace, first with with DISH and FIOS probably, and then with the cablecos.
It's a moving target.
The cost issue will continue, but the capital investment in a multi-TV whole-house cablecard system is not insubstantial. Sometimes it's portrayed here as only costing $2/month. The actual cablecard fee is not the major cost.

Agree with your points but you are in DirecTV land. We in cable land are pretty much in hell. My only option right now is cablevision. I can get DTV but I have to put a $500 deposit in my apartment building to install the dish. My balcony is on the wrong side so I have to have DTV installers do roof install. Cablevision does offer its DVR for free for new subscribers only. Right now I can't get it without paying for it. There is no competition in my area. Weird rules in brooklyn NY where one cable company is in the area. FIOS is not here yet. If i get DTV then my internet price goes up since i get a "discount" when I have TV and internet bundled. DVR is $14 a month then I would need a cable box which is another $6.50 plus cablevision has the balls to charge for remote control. When I had Tivo cablevision managed to screw me big time. My tivo needed 2 cable cards. First cable card is $2.00 and each additional one is $2 as well but cablevision came up with another charge of $5 so my second cable card ended up costing $7 instead of $2. Thats every month. I asked them what the charge was and nobody could explain to me what it means. Charge showed up as "premium outlet fee". I tried fighting it for 6 months and got absolutely no where.

So i bought a i3 computer on sale got ceton and extender and right now I'm paying $2 only. Best of all with HTPC i have access to everything over the internet via xbmc and WMC for live tv. Cablevision gets $2 from me for this. Oh and those cablevision dvrs are horrible. I had it for about 2 weeks as a test and it was 160GB model that missed recordings and had an interface of windows 3.1 running on intel 86 processor.

So my moto is the less I give to cablevision the better I feel. Hell if they keep raising prices the way they are going I will kill off TV part completely and go OTA
kalex is offline  
post #998 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
nycjoe77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My motto is 'always be closing' but yours is pretty good too
nycjoe77 is offline  
post #999 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
tkole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you to all that have responded no to the beta program. Just got in off the wait list.
gonzo90017 likes this.
tkole is offline  
post #1000 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 01:09 PM
Member
 
werd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I got accepted the second go around very excited about this smile.gif. James(motz) is the man! Although I don't have a tv tuner yet (waiting for the Q) I will be throwing every movie and tv show I got at this in every format I can to give ceton the best review I can. Very excited!
werd is offline  
post #1001 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 03:31 PM
Member
 
sydlexius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stanton, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by motz2k1 View Post

+1, I will add to backlog.

I don't know if your selection process for the backlog is any different from the initial round, but feel free to add my name to the list of backlog-interested!
sydlexius is offline  
post #1002 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by motz2k1 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post

When the Ceton guy that was participating in this thread ignored questions about multimedia capabilities of the Echo, I assumed it was just a matter of the company's PR folks wanting to announce features their way. But, now that they're asking people to spend $180 on the thing and they're still not telling people, I'm starting to think they don't know. Is there a technical reason it would be challenging? Are the blu-ray folks giving them a hard time?

We will be releases all tech specs and feature list before any beta units are shipped or any payment is requested, everyone will know fully what they are

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

I was assuming the status update told folks if they were in or out, no? I got neither so assumed my registration didn't go through.

So there were 2 emails. 1 is our general newsletter which was also posted on our blog http://www.cetoncorp.com/blog. You can sign up for the newsletter here: http://cetoncorp.com/company/about/ on the bottom right.

Is there a process to confirm my initial registration to the beta was processed? I don't recall any confirmation aside from the onscreen result? Can one re-register now if need be?

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #1003 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 06:56 PM
Member
 
rjsimmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I received my invitaton to the beta this afternoon! Really looking forward to it! I have been looking for a device like this for several years now.
rjsimmons is offline  
post #1004 of 7721 Old 07-22-2012, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
reggie14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I got an invite in the second go-around too. I was really happy to see that today. Thanks to the Ceton folks and everyone that said 'no' to participating in the beta. smile.gif
reggie14 is offline  
post #1005 of 7721 Old 07-23-2012, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I got my invite the second go around as well, very excited. As fore mentioned - THANK YOU Ceton folks, and especially the people that did not accept there invite biggrin.gif

skybolt is offline  
post #1006 of 7721 Old 07-23-2012, 10:50 AM
Member
 
motz2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

Is there a process to confirm my initial registration to the beta was processed? I don't recall any confirmation aside from the onscreen result? Can one re-register now if need be?

just send me a pm.

Software Developer on My Media Center -> Ceton Corp.

motz2k1 is offline  
post #1007 of 7721 Old 07-23-2012, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I'd like to test this out with my SiliconDust HD Homerun Prime tuner if it isn't too late to get in on the beta.

biggrin.gif

Sammy2 is offline  
post #1008 of 7721 Old 07-23-2012, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by motz2k1 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

Is there a process to confirm my initial registration to the beta was processed? I don't recall any confirmation aside from the onscreen result? Can one re-register now if need be?

just send me a pm.

Pm sent.. Hoping I get in.

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #1009 of 7721 Old 07-24-2012, 02:25 AM
Member
 
motz2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
10 PMs... I feel so special smile.gif
Sammy2 likes this.

Software Developer on My Media Center -> Ceton Corp.

motz2k1 is offline  
post #1010 of 7721 Old 07-24-2012, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
You are, especially for taking the risk to develop such a fine product. I cannot wait 'til it hits the street if I don't get to test it early on.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #1011 of 7721 Old 07-24-2012, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Jakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
RE: Multi-Room DVR Fess

As a point of reference for the discussion, I have FiOS in the Boston area and the monthly charge for a 500GB 2-tuner Multi-Room DVR Package is as follows:
2 Room - $27.99/month
3 Room - $39.99/month
4 Room - $46.99/month
5 Room - $53.99/month
6 Room - $59.99/month
7 Room - $65.99/month

A second 2-tuner DVR is $16.99/month and can share tuners with the Multi-Room DVR via the "Multi-Hub" feature that the user can turn on or off.

A CableCARD is $3.99/month.

I think you can see why there are a lot of folks out there potentially interested in the Q/Echo solution.
Jakes is offline  
post #1012 of 7721 Old 07-24-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I switched from Uverse to Charter and the promo discount is paying for the cost of my HDHR Prime. The Echo will be covered by six months of STB and DVR taxes. Then it's gravy; money in my pocket.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #1013 of 7721 Old 07-24-2012, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
ee2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah... I felt pretty hurt when I didn't even get a beta invite for the app. frown.gif

I realize not everyone can get an echo, and I have no problem with that... but an APK? C'mon. I am dying to use those features! My poor infinitv 4 just isn't as nice if I have to hack around and use either VNC or Rdesktop to do my management functions!
ee2011 is offline  
post #1014 of 7721 Old 07-26-2012, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalex View Post

... First cable card is $2.00 and each additional one is $2 as well but cablevision came up with another charge of $5 so my second cable card ended up costing $7 instead of $2. Thats every month. I asked them what the charge was and nobody could explain to me what it means. Charge showed up as "premium outlet fee". I tried fighting it for 6 months and got absolutely no where. ...

I live in Stony Brook out on the island, wich is also Cablevision. I took a while, but I got two cablecards and it omly cost's me $4 a month - in addition to the the rest of the package fees. I have the Gold package maybe that has something to do with it?

skybolt is offline  
post #1015 of 7721 Old 07-26-2012, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ee2011 View Post

... I realize not everyone can get an echo, and I have no problem with that... but an APK? C'mon. ...

APK? Android app, where did this come from?

what did I miss?

skybolt is offline  
post #1016 of 7721 Old 07-26-2012, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Chupalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Really hoping for the third round of echo betas....There has to be a group that doesn't respond by 7/31 smile.gif
Chupalt is offline  
post #1017 of 7721 Old 07-27-2012, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
That would be sweet!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #1018 of 7721 Old 07-27-2012, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 44
At the expense of appearing too lazy to trawl through 34 pages of posts... redface.gif ...can someone point to a reference to that has up-to-date information about the current status of all this is? Preferably information on what the project is expected to release, as well as info on how far along it is and when it is expected to be released.

Much appreciated.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #1019 of 7721 Old 07-27-2012, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by motz2k1 View Post

just send me a pm.

PM'ed. To confirm registration and to see if I can get in.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #1020 of 7721 Old 07-27-2012, 10:36 AM
Member
 
fox1541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
there was mention of more details being released before the July 31st decision date.

ie: what else besides Media Center will it do?
Netflix
MKV
etc

I may have missed it, was it already posted?

thanks
fox1541 is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off