Official Ceton Echo Extender Info Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 7721 Old 09-03-2012, 01:37 PM
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

I wonder if Microsoft would be willing to "sell" WMC to Ceton and if Ceton would be interested....hmmm
I have no doubt that MS will sell WMC... I certainly hope Ceton is a possible buyer, but I feel they're too small to get any consideration, not to mention money.
ImThat1Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 7721 Old 09-03-2012, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
IMO, Ceton developing a replacement DVR software from the ground up sounds much more realistic than them attempting to purchase WMC... it would be a much better opportunity to build something fresh and new. Getting CC certifcation would seem to be the most difficult aspect of this and wouldn't be surprised if they're already researching this for a future milestone after the Q is released.
tgrinch is offline  
post #1263 of 7721 Old 09-03-2012, 05:18 PM
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrinch View Post

IMO, Ceton developing a replacement DVR software from the ground up sounds much more realistic than them attempting to purchase WMC... it would be a much better opportunity to build something fresh and new. Getting CC certifcation would seem to be the most difficult aspect of this and wouldn't be surprised if they're already researching this for a future milestone after the Q is released.
Yeah, getting CableLabs to support anything other than WMC is definitely the hardest part.

I would love if Ceton would not only build their own media software, but also sell (or license as freeware? smile.gif) it for use on normal Windows HTPCs. Maybe have BluRay and all those nice codecs baked in as well. And if they came out with an extender software I could run on a cheap Atom/E-series build, that would make it even sweeter.

A man can dream, no? :P
ImThat1Guy is offline  
post #1264 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So these things are supposed to be shipping next week buy there is still no word on what extra things they will do? what is the date by which beta tester need to say yes or no to the beta and give them a cc number?
Derek K. is offline  
post #1265 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 07:02 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

So these things are supposed to be shipping next week buy there is still no word on what extra things they will do? what is the date by which beta tester need to say yes or no to the beta and give them a cc number?
They're going to announce something next week - they haven't said that the Echo's will be shipping next week. I suspect we'll find out most of the specs next week so we can make our final decision on whether to join the beta or not.
gsr is offline  
post #1266 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

They're going to announce something next week - they haven't said that the Echo's will be shipping next week. I suspect we'll find out most of the specs next week so we can make our final decision on whether to join the beta or not.

sorry, you're right. I went back through this thread and found the statement from eric about news being released on the 10th, not the echos shipping.

one more week...
Derek K. is offline  
post #1267 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
ceton has stated repeatedly that the specs will be given to the beta testers before the beta testers pay for the beta Echo.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1268 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImThat1Guy View Post

Yeah, getting CableLabs to support anything other than WMC is definitely the hardest part.

CableLabs actually doesn't have any say in it. The software just needs to implement the necessary DRM to get copy once content off the OCUR (such as WMDRM) - and that agreement is between the software manufacturer and the DRM manufacturer, not CableLabs.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #1269 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Doesn't CableLABS just write the spec or rules to meet DRM requirements?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1270 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Doesn't CableLABS just write the spec or rules to meet DRM requirements?

Essentially CableLabs says "these are allowed DRM systems" - you pick which one(s) you want to support, then do whatever the maker of that DRM system tells you to do.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #1271 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Okay. Thanks!

So there's other systems you can comply with other than WMC's DRM. Can you create your own system too as long as it works with CableCARD technology?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1272 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Okay. Thanks!
So there's other systems you can comply with other than WMC's DRM. Can you create your own system too as long as it works with CableCARD technology?

WMDRM is the only one that anyone has ever actually implemented in software (I believe the ATI tuner also implemented Real Helix in hardware, but no software ever used it). To clarify, WMDRM isn't tied to WMC specifically - other software could implement.

Someone could go through the process of having another DRM system approved, but that is unlikely to have any real world benefit in most cases.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #1273 of 7721 Old 09-04-2012, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Yeah, no need to go through that expense if you don't have to. I'm guessing that the Uverse "tuners" with WinCE baked in uses WMDRM too but I could be off base as it isn't a cable system (or so they claim to avoid allowing CableCARD tuners and this is why I am no longer with them). What DRM does TiVo use, I wonder?

BTW, looking forward to that final acceptance email next week!!

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1274 of 7721 Old 09-05-2012, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

They're going to announce something next week - they haven't said that the Echo's will be shipping next week. I suspect we'll find out most of the specs next week so we can make our final decision on whether to join the beta or not.

They can count me in anyway. It couldn't be too hard to beat out the XBOX. There initial spec of sorts looked prety good, not to mention the firmware we test at first is not going the firmware which is released in the end. So you never know what good things can come from avid testers feedback. JMO.

skybolt is offline  
post #1275 of 7721 Old 09-05-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 192
So the Android companion app is officially out now. $5, and no trial would make me reluctant to buy it. Plus, the PC app required for the companion app apparently installs a metadata grabber. I of course understand the need to do that, but at the same time, I already have to maintain metadata for MediaBrowser, and don't want to have to manually maintain stuff for this as well (yes, the idea with YAMMM is that you don't have to do anything to make it work, but since I at one point used YAMMM with the Movie Library, I know from experience that that is just a fantasy).

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #1276 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 04:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

So the Android companion app is officially out now. $5, and no trial would make me reluctant to buy it. Plus, the PC app required for the companion app apparently installs a metadata grabber. I of course understand the need to do that, but at the same time, I already have to maintain metadata for MediaBrowser, and don't want to have to manually maintain stuff for this as well (yes, the idea with YAMMM is that you don't have to do anything to make it work, but since I at one point used YAMMM with the Movie Library, I know from experience that that is just a fantasy).

The $5 is not so bad, I have a few plugins which cost alot more.
If your interested in the Echo, this app may enhance it.
I agree with the YAMM mantanence, I never liked YAMM that much ...

skybolt is offline  
post #1277 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

The $5 is not so bad, I have a few plugins which cost alot more.

Yeah, I should've been more clear that it's the lack of a trial that I'm more concerned with.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #1278 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
dsurkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
jhoff80--

I was one of the beta testers. I found the program, and particularly the release version, to be polished and reliable. If you tell me what feature interests you the most, I may be able to give you some detail about its operation.

--Dean L. Surkin
dsurkin is offline  
post #1279 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I probably should post this else where but I thought I would give aquick blurb here because of the OP.

I bought the Companion app, and it looks prety nice. It gives you complete control and a little more over the MC on which it is installed.
No remote play back, like remote potato. Also no extender supoort from what I can see. This confuses me just a little. I would think it would be the main thing this app supports. Hopefully I am wrong about this, if I am it is not obvious on how it support's them. I am not home at the moment, so maybe the extender needs to be powered on. I will have to try this when I get home tonight. WPB.

EDIT: Good News it does support the Extenders as long as you get the latest services patch. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1428039/ceton-companion-app-available-now

skybolt is offline  
post #1280 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
ncarty97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I really hope we get the specs on this thing soon. If it will handle Blu-Ray and DVD rips, I'll pre-order one or two as soon as it is available (HD-DVD and MKV would be a nice bonus too), so I can stop screwing around with getting my HTPC to put out on two different TV's.
ncarty97 is offline  
post #1281 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
The specs should go out to the beta testers next week but IDK if it will be public yet. Ceton has said it'll do mkv's.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1282 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 12:58 PM
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

The specs should go out to the beta testers next week but IDK if it will be public yet.
Lol, like the beta testers won't tell us.

I mean, it doesn't seem remotely likely for Ceton to make everyone sign a wavier.
ImThat1Guy is offline  
post #1283 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
The companion app testers didn't leak info. I suspect that there will be a non-disclosure agreement but that ceton will also make it public anyhow.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1284 of 7721 Old 09-06-2012, 01:52 PM
Member
 
ImThat1Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

The companion app testers didn't leak info.
That's a good point. Although, Ceton did have demos on Youtube.
ImThat1Guy is offline  
post #1285 of 7721 Old 09-07-2012, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
nycjoe77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImThat1Guy View Post

...I have no doubt that MS will sell WMC...

Huh? What gives you that impression?
nycjoe77 is offline  
post #1286 of 7721 Old 09-07-2012, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe77 View Post

Huh? What gives you that impression?

Because of thier stance of not fixing any of the known issues they have with 7MC, and thier public statements about dropping support of current components in MC, most recently the Internet Tv support.

Doesn't mean the product is dead, not yet anyway. Because it's distrubted with win7, they have to support until the EOL for win7, which hasn't been anounced as of yet (AFAIK). And 7MC seems to be the only avenue worth persuing since the death of Sage (IMO), for me anyway.

skybolt is offline  
post #1287 of 7721 Old 09-07-2012, 12:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,004
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 245
When was the last time MS sold any of its discountinued technology to outsiders? Most big companies would rather let something they no longer need die than sell to others which could potentially come back compete with them some times later. I'm affraid the only time you can buy WMC from MS is when it is bankruptted and needs to sell its IPs in a fire sell.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1288 of 7721 Old 09-07-2012, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImThat1Guy View Post

Lol, like the beta testers won't tell us.
I mean, it doesn't seem remotely likely for Ceton to make everyone sign a wavier.

I don't *THINK* we had the app testers sign NDAs. As far as I know, we didn't have any information embargo on the app (and lets be honest, with that many testers, info is going to leak). There will be an agreement with the beta extender for the duration of the beta period, but I don't *THINK* there will be an NDA.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #1289 of 7721 Old 09-07-2012, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
And there you have it from the source!

I'm ready for the Echo beta.. hopefully the units will ship next week!

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1290 of 7721 Old 09-07-2012, 01:14 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
If Eric does not post info soon, I am going to slip into his house and run CCleaner on all his computers...

...phear me!!!
cybrsage is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off