Hdmi 1.4 vs. Hdmi 1.3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 01-11-2012, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am watching movies in FULL BLU-RAY from my HTPC (Details in my Signature).

My screen is LG 42LW450Y Cinima 3D LED.

My question is if i will change from my regular cable HDMI 1.3 (Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet)

To HDMI 1.4 (High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet)

i will actionly see any difrens ?

by the way my playback is not perfect so the way i doing this Research.

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 01-11-2012, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
idividebyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
no it doesnt improve anything, it only adds features like 3d support and higher resolutions among other things
idividebyzero is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 01-11-2012, 08:42 PM
Member
 
blue00civicsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
idividebyzero is correct, besides 3D, which I beleive was supported in 1.3b, 1.4 gives the cable capability of transmitting 4k resolution.

Just another member working his way towards a dedicated home theater room!!!
blue00civicsi is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But my LED is 3D ... and before that i had regular

LED without the 3D and it was perfect and now

After i buy my new 3D-LED and didn't change A

Thing it is not perfect so i am trying to look for thet problem

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 12:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 54
There is no such thing as 1.3 or 1.4 HDMI cables, there is standard-speed, and high-speed. High-speed is recommend for 1080p and needed for 3D.
What is full Blu-Ray?
jdcrox is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 12:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how cam i can still see 3D movies (Not good but still) ?

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I want to know the same thing.

I have a PS3 and an HDMI 1.3 cable. 3D blu-ray doesn't work with this combo.

However my nvidia GTX460 is able to do 3D perfectly on this tv with the exact same cable once the 3DTV play software is installed with Arcsoft TMT5.

How is this possible? The TV is a 1 year old Sammy 3D plasma.
sharangad is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Actually according to nvidia HDMI 1.3 cables can support the HDMI 1.4a mandatory 3D formats:

http://www.nvidia.co.in/object/3dtv-play-faq-in.html

"What is the difference between HDMI 1.4 and 1.4a?

HDMI 1.4 requires that 3D TVs support the frame packing 3D format at 720p50, 720p60 and 1080p24 or 720p60 and 1080p24. HDMI 1.3 cables can support the mandatory HDMI 1.4a 3D formats. HDMI Licensing LLC recently announced the HDMI 1.4a specification, which adds two mandatory formats for broadcast 3D content: Side-by-Side Horizontal and Top-and-Bottom. The mandatory HDMI 3D formats are now:

For movie content:
Frame Packing:
1080p @ 23.98/24Hz
For game content:
Frame Packing
720p @ 50 or 59.94/60Hz
For broadcast content: (NEW IN HDMI 1.4a)
Side-by-Side Horizontal
1080i @ 50 or 59.94/60Hz
Top-and-Bottom
720p @ 50 or 59.94/60Hz
1080p @ 23.97/24Hz"

http://www.nvidia.co.in/object/3dtv-play-faq-in.html#q8

I own one of the GPUs listed above and the product specification states it supports HDMI 1.3.

The HDMI 1.3 interface on the NVIDIA GPUs can be programmed to support the mandatory HDMI 1.4a 3D formats. Also, a DVI port on the PC can be programmed to output the mandatory HDMI 1.4a 3D formats, and can connect to a 3D TV using a DVI-to-HDMI adapter.
sharangad is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
idividebyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Theres a version of HDMI 1.3 that is basically 1.4 as they used it to test features 1.4 would have, it supports most of the same stuff like 3d. Either 1.3b or 1.3c supports everything 1.4 does except the weird stuff like ethernet. Most 1.3 HDMI cables sold should support 3d.

(I dont like saying "high speed", thats extremely vague marketing speak and easily abused, who knows how many old HDMI cables were marketed as "high speed" because they had more bandwidth than component/VGA. Changing the name was a stupid idea and to make things worse they did it after the fact that they were officially calling it 1.4)
idividebyzero is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

My question is if i will change from my regular cable HDMI 1.3 (Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet)

To HDMI 1.4 (High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet)

i will actionly see any difrens ?

In theory, a "high-speed" (f/k/a HDMI 1.4) cable is the one specified for use
with 3D.

In practice, if you're getting 3D from your existing HDMI cable, switching to a
high-speed cable won't make any difference. However, since a 6', high-quality,
high-speed HDMI cable should cost less than US$10, maybe it wouldn't hurt
too much to switch.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 01-12-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Again, there's no such thing as an HDMI 1.3 or HDMI 1.4 cable, there are "Standard" (category 1) or "High speed" (category 2) HDMI cables. HDMI versions (1.3, 1.4, 1.2, etc) are referring to the protocol that is used over that cable, the capabilities and communication that go on between (for example) TVs and players. Some HDMI 1.3 or 1.4 features may require bandwidth beyond what is tested/guaranteed with a "Standard" (category 1) HDMI cable, but that doesn't mean they won't work.

Further the category/speed of a cable is a guarantee of minimum performance. There is nothing that says a Standard HDMI cable can't do 3D or 1080p, the fact that it's "Standard" just means it either wasn't tested to High Speed standards (or possibly failed).

The wiring/pinout of Standard and High Speed HDMI cables are identical, there's nothing different, the only difference is the level of testing they passed, the guarantee of performance that comes with them.

Just as an example, according to HDMI:
http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49

Standard, Category 1, HDMI cables are tested to approximately 1080i. So you might think that that would mean you need a High Speed cable for 1080p. Well I have two 50' Monoprice HDMI cables that happily carry 1080p60 all day long despite the fact that you can't even buy a High Speed cable that long (the longest High Speed HDMI cable is 25')

So there, remember the Category of an HDMI cable is just a guarantee of minimum performance, not a ceiling or a maximum. I look at it this way, if you're buying a new cable, get a High Speed one just to be sure it will work, but if you've already got a Standard HDMI cable that's working fine, there no gain replacing it.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 01:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nevertheless with my standard cable the PS3 refuses to do 3D, but the PC can.
sharangad is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharangad View Post

Nevertheless with my standard cable the PS3 refuses to do 3D, but the PC can.

If one device can do 3D but the other can't, with the same cable, it's likely due
to a minor electronic differences in the how the HDMI transmitters and receivers
work. In these cases, using a cable with a different length makes it work.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 08:22 AM
ymc
Member
 
ymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I tell whether my cable is standard or hi-speed?
ymc is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 09:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 112
You'd most likely have to look at the documentation that came with it.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymc View Post

How can I tell whether my cable is standard or hi-speed?

If your cable does what you want it to do, it's not important. If you're interested,
I'd examine the cable heads and possibly the manufacturer's web site (unless
you're buying generic HDMI cables like I do.) Failing that, a new 6', high-speed
HDMI cable from Monoprice is less than US$4.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamilcar Barca View Post

If your cable does what you want it to do, it's not important. If you're interested,
I'd examine the cable heads and possibly the manufacturer's web site (unless
you're buying generic HDMI cables like I do.) Failing that, a new 6', high-speed
HDMI cable from Monoprice is less than US$4.

Or your choice of about 50 different high speed HDMI cables of various lengths for $3-10 at Amazon.

If you really want really good, name brand ones, Amazon also sells the Acoustic Research Pro III for less than $15 (others sell them for $60-80).

Personally, I see no reason spend more than $10 for an HDMI cable.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am really not an expert but I love good quality

I can see differences i used to have two really simple

HDMI cables each of them less than 5$ and i have really

not bed HTPC and 3D LED but the quality was not good

I sew a lot pixel noise and the 3D was weird so i chenge

both of the cable to :

Monster Blu-Ray 950 Advenst High Speed HDMI Cable X 2
(From The HTPC To --> AVR To ---> 3D LED )

And the 3D was a lot better the timeing and nise from the pixel

was a lot better. so in the end the new cables the

high speed/CAT 2/ 1.4 or what ever is better.

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 11:48 AM
Member
 
newirishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

I am really not an expert but I love good quality

I can see differences i used to have two really simple

HDMI cables each of them less than 5$ and i have really

not bed HTPC and 3D LED but the quality was not good

I sew a lot pixel noise and the 3D was weird so i chenge

both of the cable to :

Monster Blu-Ray 950 Advenst High Speed HDMI Cable X 2
(From The HTPC To --> AVR To ---> 3D LED )

And the 3D was a lot better the timeing and nise from the pixel

was a lot better. so in the end the new cables the

high speed/CAT 2/ 1.4 or what ever is better.

not sure what you mean by timing and noise - but if you spent more than max $10 for that cable you wasted money.
newirishman is online now  
post #20 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

I am really not an expert but I love good quality

But don't confuse higher prices with higher quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

I can see differences i used to have two really simple HDMI cables each of them less than 5$

An HDMI cable isn't 'worth' more than $5-$15 even if the manufacturer places
a much higher 'value' (i.e., price) on it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

I sew a lot pixel noise and the 3D was weird

"Pixel noise", if I understand what you mean, can easily be a symptom of a
marginal or defective HDMI cable. Replacing it was the right thing to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

so i chenge both of the cable to :

Monster Blu-Ray 950 Advenst High Speed HDMI Cable X 2

At $120 list, the price is about 20 time the value. However, if it works, who
cares? It's not like you have to pay $120 every month.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

And the 3D was a lot better the timeing and nise from the pixel
was a lot better. so in the end the new cables the high speed/CAT 2/ 1.4 or
what ever is better.

In the end, you replaced a cable that wasn't good with one that was good.
It's not clear at all that HDMI 1.4 helped. It's clear, however, that a cable
that says "Monster", "AudioQuest", or whatever is no better than any other
similar cable.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so you saying that all the cables are the same and if yes how came that i brot from a friend a 400 $ wireworld silver cable everything was brighter ?

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

so you saying that all the cables are the same and if yes how came that i brot from a friend a 400 $ wireworld silver cable everything was brighter ?

Yes. Brighter ain't always better.



Gee$400 bucks for a cable...might just be better to get a calibration at that price! Lol

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

how came that i brot from a friend a 400 $ wireworld silver cable everything was brighter ?

It's physically impossible for an HDMI cable to make video brighter or dimmer.

Marginal or defective HDMI connections show up as symptoms like 'pixellation'
(macro blocking), stuttered audio and/or video, or a signal which the HDMI
sink can't decode at all.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My point was not the price, the point is that not all hdmi cable are the same

some of themthe colors are clearer and better and some of them are brighter

or some just made better.

Try to cut 5$ cable and 50$ monster cable and you will see the difference.

hare some exemple for you my dear expert :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-6rJSmvemE

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

My point was not the price, the point is that not all hdmi cable are the same

some of themthe colors are clearer and better and some of them are brighter

or some just made better.

Try to cut 5$ cable and 50$ monster cable and you will see the difference.

hare some exemple for you my dear expert :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-6rJSmvemE

I have a bunch of monster hdmi cables and even chocolate ones (relatives got em for me) They all look the same to me when compared to my $5 monoprice cable

If you like the expensive cables go for it. I'd just recommend not buying any of the cheap ones from amazon. Mono or BJC all the
way for me

Good article to help people understand hdmi cables
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-...-are-the-same/

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 01-13-2012, 06:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

My point was not the price, the point is that not all hdmi cable are the same

You're right, they're not all the same, there are Standard, and there are High Speed certified ones. And of course there are just plain bad ones that don't work.

Quote:


some of themthe colors are clearer and better and some of them are brighter

It is utterly impossible for an HDMI cable to make a difference in brightness or colors or anything of the sort.

OK, admittedly it is possible, but at 2 million pixels per frame, 24 or 60 frames per second, the probability that each pixel in each frame would fail and be recognized by some common difference (ie all 5% darker) to what it should be is essentially incalculably small.

Digital signals make it or don't. Look at broadcast TV, it either works 100%, or it doesn't and it's completely obvious (blocking, pixelation, or no picture at all). They don't get dimmer or less colorful as the signal weakens, then just start failing spectacularly. If a pixel is supposed to be a value of 100, and the signal is too weak, it gets interpreted as some basically random value, like 230 or 20.

Digital transmissions don't fail/degrade gradually like analog ones, they work, down to a point where they simply don't anymore, and when they don't it's obvious not subtle.

Quote:


Try to cut 5$ cable and 50$ monster cable and you will see the difference.

You need to reread what's been said, no one is saying all HDMI cables are identical, what's been said is that if one HDMI cable works (no pixelation, no sparkles, etc), a "better" HDMI cable, a more expensive one will not make any difference. It's not going to make your picture brighter, or more colorful.

Let me ask you this, is This Cable going to make my printer print any better, will my prints have more contrast, better colors than the "free" USB cable that came with it? It's the same situation with HDMI.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 01-14-2012, 04:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alexkam87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Look i have a problem i have a new htpc and new 3D LED

and I hed a old LCD my new HTPC worked perfect with the

old LCD (it was little so i whanted a bigger one) and after i boght the new 3D LED and didnt chenge

anything everything was very choppy so i am trying to look for

a reason, The new cable just help me make it better it is still

not perfect and i dont know way. so i am trying to change

things to see what is the problem so you are very wallcome to help me.

HTPC: Asus P8P67, DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB Kingston, Intel Core i7 2600K, AMD HD 6790 1GB GDDR5, 6TB 7200RPM, HT OMEGA Claro, Thermaltake ARMOR MX+. Screens: (LG E2241) (LG LED 3D 42LW450Y)
alexkam87 is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 01-16-2012, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

the point is that not all hdmi cable are the same

There is, however, no correlation between quality and price. None.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

some of themthe colors are clearer and better and some of them are brighter

or some just made better.

HDMI cables
  • don't make the colors clearer
  • don't make the colors muddier
  • don't make the video brighter
  • don't make the video dimmer
  • don't make the audio better
  • don't make the audio worse
  • don't cause ghosting
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkam87 View Post

Try to cut 5$ cable and 50$ monster cable and you will see the difference.

The only differenct to the end-user is the loss of $45 for an overpriced cable.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 01-16-2012, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

It is utterly impossible for an HDMI cable to make a difference in
brightness or colors or anything of the sort.

I too overstated my case saying it was 'physically' impossible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

OK, admittedly it is possible, but at 2 million pixels per frame,
24 or 60 frames per second, the probability that each pixel in each frame
would fail and be recognized by some common difference (ie all 5%
darker) to what it should be is essentially incalculably small.

Plus, the cable would have to leave all the audio and control information
untouched while borking only those particular bits of video. I think a
fair (if invented) analogy would like tossing a coin and having it come up
heads billions of billions of times in a row.

Could it happen? Absolutely. Does it happen? Maybe once by the end of
the universe.
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 01-16-2012, 07:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamilcar Barca View Post

I think a fair (if invented) analogy would like tossing a coin and having it come up heads billions of billions of times in a row.

Could it happen? Absolutely. Does it happen? Maybe once by the end of
the universe.

[url=http://search.dilbert.com/comic/Coin%20Flip]I call edge.[url]


See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off