Crucial M4 SSD Frimware Update Available Now for 5000 hour problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 01-13-2012, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Available: http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-St...p/80282#M24370
assassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 01-13-2012, 09:05 PM
Member
 
PartyRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting this. Now the fun of updating two of my systems with the M4.
PartyRunner is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 05:59 AM
Member
 
ckensto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty quick and easy.
ckensto is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 10:38 AM
Member
 
PartyRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats a good program to use to burn ISO's to USB? The one I tried doesn't appear to be working properly.

Edit: Found the proper way to do this. http://www.storagereview.com/how_upg...l_ssd_firmware
PartyRunner is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
wiggindude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For some reason, I'm not able to do the update. I downloaded the CT064M4SSD2 firmware. Extracted the ISO file, burned it to a CD but when I tried to boot the pc from the cd I get a message saying 'disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter'. I checked the BIOS and it's in the IDE mode. Wonder what I'm doing wrong.

I'm using Toast Titanium (mac) and burned a Data CD.
wiggindude is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by PartyRunner View Post

Whats a good program to use to burn ISO's to USB? The one I tried doesn't appear to be working properly.

Edit: Found the proper way to do this. http://www.storagereview.com/how_upg...l_ssd_firmware

ImgBurn works well and is free.

bryansj is online now  
post #7 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 04:49 PM
Member
 
ddiehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

ImgBurn works well and is free.

I double clicked on the iso, which opened Windows Disk Image Burner.. Worked like a charm..

Did the update with AHCI too..
ddiehl is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddiehl View Post

I double clicked on the iso, which opened Windows Disk Image Burner.. Worked like a charm..

Did the update with AHCI too..

How long did the entire process take you?

Might be some fantastic deals on these Crucial drives due to this "problem" that scares some away.
assassin is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 05:03 PM
Member
 
ddiehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

How long did the entire process take you?

Might be some fantastic deals on these Crucial drives due to this "problem" that scares some away.


Took a few minutes each to burn the iso, and apply the update..
ddiehl is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddiehl View Post

Took a few minutes each to burn the iso, and apply the update..

That's what I thought.

Hopefully we can see these drop in price due to this little scare and spend 5 minutes to fix the issue.
assassin is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 01-14-2012, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Josh3693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiggindude View Post

For some reason, I'm not able to do the update. I downloaded the CT064M4SSD2 firmware. Extracted the ISO file, burned it to a CD but when I tried to boot the pc from the cd I get a message saying 'disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter'. I checked the BIOS and it's in the IDE mode. Wonder what I'm doing wrong.

I'm using Toast Titanium (mac) and burned a Data CD.

You need to burn the disc image not as a data disc. Do not extract the iso. Not sure about Mac, but I'm pretty sure most modern burning software will give you the option to burn the .iso image to disk.
Josh3693 is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 01-15-2012, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digital desire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just did this using the usb stick method. With the gigabyte Z68 motherboard, did not have to change anything in the bios other than boot sequence.

Lot's of low rent stuff stacked up into a medium rent pile.
digital desire is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 01-15-2012, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I have a new HTPC and I'll be installing windows, drivers tomorrow. If I understand you correctly I should first install the original version, then upgrade to this one?

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 01-15-2012, 09:29 PM
Member
 
pippipseed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dropkick Murphy View Post

I have a new HTPC and I'll be installing windows, drivers tomorrow. If I understand you correctly I should first install the original version, then upgrade to this one?

What version ?
just initialize your ssd "did it with an external dock" then upgrade to the new firmware
as a new disk without any data it will only take a few seconds , and voila
pippipseed is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 01-16-2012, 01:51 AM
703
Member
 
703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did the upgrade. Working fine so far, update took about 40secs.

As I leave my PC on, 5000 hours won't take that long to reach!

Founder | BullsEye Calibration | www.bullseyecal.co.nz
703 is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 01-16-2012, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by 703 View Post

As I leave my PC on, 5000 hours won't take that long to reach!

Just around 208 days.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 01-16-2012, 09:14 AM
Member
 
GuyLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the tip Assassin. The upgrade went in with no problem and the M4 is flying along as good as ever. I was really happy when the new firmware was announced because I sure didn't want to give up on the performance that it gave my HTPC. Before I installed the M4 last Summer I was just about to give up on having a HTPC because WMC was so sluggish but it was just the thing to make my system come together and work like I wanted.
GuyLR is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 01-16-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
thanks for posting this, wasn't even aware of the issue and would have been blissfully ignorant. Had to change the port to IDE to get it to see the drive, other than that no issues.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 01-16-2012, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
A buddy just bought a M4 for the build that I am helping him with.

Looks like a firmware update is in my future!
assassin is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 01-16-2012, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My M4 gets here tomorrow, and the first thing I'm doing is applying the firmware update.
kegobeer is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 01-17-2012, 05:00 AM
Member
 
mandophish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lincoln, DE
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Total time from firmware download to actually installing it took less than five minutes. Everything seems to be working fine.
mandophish is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 02-06-2012, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I'm a little "fuzzy" on this. The install guide says..

Crucial® m4 SSD Firmware Revision 0309

Boot from CD update guide (Update from Rev 0001, Rev 0002, or Rev 0009 to Rev 0309)


But the driver in my system doesn't match up with the literature. I just bought this thing in the last 60 days. Am I just not looking in the right place?

In my device manager I clicked on SSD/properties and the driver is listed as

Driver Date: 6/21/2006
Driver Version: 6.1.7600.16385

I really don't want to screw this thing up because I've spent the last few weeks tinkering and tweaking to get things the way I want them. Anyone have advice?

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 02-06-2012, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dropkick Murphy View Post

I'm a little "fuzzy" on this. The install guide says..

Crucial® m4 SSD Firmware Revision 0309

Boot from CD update guide (Update from Rev 0001, Rev 0002, or Rev 0009 to Rev 0309)


But the driver in my system doesn't match up with the literature. I just bought this thing in the last 60 days. Am I just not looking in the right place?

In my device manager I clicked on SSD/properties and the driver is listed as

Driver Date: 6/21/2006
Driver Version: 6.1.7600.16385

I really don't want to screw this thing up because I've spent the last few weeks tinkering and tweaking to get things the way I want them. Anyone have advice?

I believe that is the WINDOWS driver. You want to verify that A) you have a Crucial C4 SSD, and then use a bootable CD or USB stick and flash the firmware on the SSD itself. Somebody mentioned they flashed another SSD and toasted it so VERIFY you have the Crucial C4.
tomandbeth is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 02-07-2012, 06:40 AM
Member
 
jbilliel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this as well about 30 days ago and will be doing this update this weekend. Looks pretty self explainatory
jbilliel is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off