Onkyo TX-SR607 Video Cuts During Blu-ray Playback - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 04:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all-

I have an Onkyo TX-SR607 receiver connected to a Samsung 55" TV using a HTPC for Blu-ray playback. My HTPC works great connected to receiver then TV for any type of playback except Blu-ray. Randomly during Blu-ray playback the audio will cut out along with video, this doesn't last more than 1-2 seconds. The video/cuts every 10 seconds to 1 minute, seems to happen more during high action scenes.

Any ides would be greatly appreciated, this problem has rendered blu-ray playback for me not watchable.
tonydotigr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan on trying a direct run from PC to TV tonight, bypassing receiver.
tonydotigr is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just bought this one so I would be quite interested to hear what you find out .

Sorry ? I can't help .

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...pf_rd_i=507846

Edit : What cpu are you using ? Have you checked your cables (assuming HDMI) ?
flocko is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
duff99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I hate to break it to you but more that likely your receiver is dying. How do I know this? Because I have a 606 and I went through the same thing. The HDMI board is going out. Mine went out gradually with certain ports working better than others. In the end the only one that worked was the DVD port. I'd try changing the ports and see if you can find one that works better. If you find one that works you can change the naming so it's the same as what it was. Good luck.
duff99 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
That bites ! How long did you have it .... if I may ask ?
flocko is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
duff99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Not very long. Probably less than 2 years before it started showing symptoms. There's a thread on the receiver section of this forum on repairing them. So it appears to be quite common. I thought it was only on the older models like my 606 and the others from that year. If the newer models are having problems that doesn't bode well. I upgraded to the 607 in my main viewing room when the 606 started having problems. I moved the 606 to my bedroom then. When it was down to one input I replaced it with a 509 and moved the 606 to my computer area. Since I only needed one input I have a ridiculously overpowered receiver hooked up to my computer now.
When it was working I really liked the 606 and nothing else can touch Onkyo's price to features ratio. So thinking that they had fixed the problems I stuck with them. If the newer models are having problems I'm probably screwed because I've got three of them now.
duff99 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-16-2012, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydotigr View Post

I plan on trying a direct run from PC to TV tonight, bypassing receiver.

Let us know how it works with a direct connection to the tv.

Has it always been this way? Could be a HDCP problem? Not sure but you should try different hdmi ports on the receiver and different hdmi cables.
audit13 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-17-2012, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll know more tonight, but how could I troubleshoot/fix HDCP problems?
tonydotigr is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-17-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydotigr View Post

I'll know more tonight, but how could I troubleshoot/fix HDCP problems?

What are you using for a video card? Does it have an hdmi and dvi connection?
audit13 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Directly connecting to the TV I had NO problems, this left the receiver.

I was able to temporarily fix the problem. Moving to a different input resolved the problem. Apparently the ports are failing on the receiver.

Where can I go for the fix (TX-SR607), someone mentioned soldering capaciters, etc?

For anyone with this type of problem I would recommend updating the firmware on your drive, also on TV, and software for playback.
tonydotigr is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Does your video card have a dvi and hdmi connection? Are you using Win7? If the answer is yes to both questions, try connecting the hdmi directly to the receiver and the dvi directly to the tv. Set the tv as display 1 and extend the desktop to display 2 which is the Onkyo.

I used to have an Onkyo 705 and it had problems with video and audio. By extending the desktop, I was able to bitstream HD audio without a problem. I also thought my hdmi inputs were failing but they weren't, it was just a compatibility issue with my htpc's Ati 4550 video.
audit13 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only have 1 TV/monitor available. Using HDMI & Windows 7. Not sure that explains it working fine, then suddenly stopping. Not to mention the fact that changing a port on receiver fixed the problem instantly.

I don't have the option of running an extended display in my living room.
tonydotigr is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydotigr View Post

Only have 1 TV/monitor available. Using HDMI & Windows 7. Not sure that explains it working fine, then suddenly stopping. Not to mention the fact that changing a port on receiver fixed the problem instantly.

I don't have the option of running an extended display in my living room.

You only need 1 display. The 2nd display is the Onkyo. This is what I did with my Onkyo, htpc, and HDTV.

I suggested using an extended display to alleviate the problem that some users experience whereby they lose audio when switching inputs on the tv and avr.

Since switching inputs on the Onkyo seems to have fixed the problem, it does sound like the problem is with the Onkyo. Using a different hdmi cable with the same input may provide additional confirmation that the Onkyo is the culprit.
audit13 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good to know, I'll give that a try. Hoping the different input holds out...
tonydotigr is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
duff99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here's the thread on repairing the HDMI board.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1246078

I warn you this is not for the faint of heart, you need to be handy with a soldering iron.
duff99 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-18-2012, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tonydotigr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you!
tonydotigr is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off