Will Banned XBOX360 work as W7 Media Center Extender - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rockcola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I keep seeing conflicting reports on this. I saw MS originally disabled extender abilities if the Xbox 360was banned. Is this true or not. I need a second XBOX 360 only to act as an extender to my W7 Media Center (Stream Live TV from my Tuners). I have one and it works great.

Any help before I buy a banned 360 on the cheap??

Thanks
rockcola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
This might help:

http://www.animenews.biz/microsoft-d...consoles-2418/
Zon2020 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rockcola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks but this is an old story, and I know the April 2010 update re-enbles the Hard Drive. Is Media Center Extender functionality still blocked???
rockcola is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Yes, a banned console will work. Just use a removable USB drive with the latest update on it to upgrade to the newest dashboard.

If the console isn't a Slim you might want to reconsider since the Phats are too noisy IMO to be used as an extender.

bryansj is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
JOHNBON00007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which remote control is good and I can used for the TV and the Media Center Xbox,,??
JOHNBON00007 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 01:46 PM
Member
 
JGFreeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lots of options for remotes. There's an xbox-branded media remote, a windows-branded media center remote will work, as well as the logitech harmony remotes.
JGFreeh is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off