Remote control for case with no integrated IR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 04:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Certain requirements (max 37 cm deep etc) means that I'm currently looking at Silverstone GD04/GD05/GD06 and SG07 cases. But these are all without integrated IR. I can't use the IR products that takes up a 5.25" slot as I need that for a BD drive. And I can't use the IR products where the receiver sits inside the casing - without having to drill an ugly hole in my case.

What are my options then, if I still want a pleasant overall design in my living room? What have you done? Do I give up on the IR-part and accept that my HTPC has its own bluetooth remote? Trouble with that solution is, that the introduction of yet another remote does NOT have a high WAF

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Buy one of these:



You could then integrate the remote into a Logitech Harmony if you want although I have to say the one above is a pleasure to use - nicely balanced, includes a mouse function and plug 'n play. You can buy them on Amazon for about $15.
Heuer is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 159
The HP Media Center remote IR receiver is very popular. I have one in my system and it works great. You can set the receiver anywhere you want. Here's one on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-MEDIA-CEN...item2310d45fd7

You can find variations of the remote and you can also find the IR receiver or remote sold separately, although they're usually much cheaper when purchased as a set.
captain_video is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
C17chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yup. Any number of USB IR receivers will work just fine. In fact I would think that route would be more popular then using a sensor built into the case, as it would allow you to place the computer about anywhere instead of having to be within line of sight. I dont even mean going as far as totally hiding the computer away, but even simple placement, like say maybe sticking it in the bottom hole/shelf of a tv stand with easy line of site maybe being obstructed some by coffee table or something.
C17chief is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Heur

What brand is that control?

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@captain_video, thanks, I'll try to read up on the specs - seems quite large. Perhaps too large for me since the GD06 is 15 cm and I only have 17 cm in height.

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by C17chief View Post

Yup. Any number of USB IR receivers will work just fine. In fact I would think that route would be more popular then using a sensor built into the case, as it would allow you to place the computer about anywhere instead of having to be within line of sight. I dont even mean going as far as totally hiding the computer away, but even simple placement, like say maybe sticking it in the bottom hole/shelf of a tv stand with easy line of site maybe being obstructed some by coffee table or something.

Yes that is true. But the issue with external IR like those suggestd here, is that they can't switch on the HTPC from the remote, right?

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrjinglesusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Silverstone GD05B case and went with this Rosewill remote because it has a small USB IR dongle that I can plug into a front USB port.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details
mrjinglesusa is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITemplate View Post

Yes that is true. But the issue with external IR like those suggestd here, is that they can't switch on the HTPC from the remote, right?

--
Werner

I guess the question is why you would want the HTPC off in the first place. Most use either S3 sleep or in my case, on 24/7.

bryansj is online now  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITemplate View Post

@captain_video, thanks, I'll try to read up on the specs - seems quite large. Perhaps too large for me since the GD06 is 15 cm and I only have 17 cm in height.

--
Werner

The HP IR receiver is about 2.2 cm in height. It's got a long enough cord that you can place it just about anywhere. It doesn't have to sit right on top of the PC case. It's also got two 1/8" jacks on the back so you can attache a couple of IR repeaters to control additional devices.

There are other IR receivers that are smaller and will also work well with a Media Center PC. However, you will probably have to get them bundled with a remote. The HP receiver is one of the few that I've seen sold separately.
captain_video is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

I guess the question is why you would want the HTPC off in the first place. Most use either S3 sleep or in my case, on 24/7.

Well 24/7 is not an option, but S3 would certainly be. But would an external IR using the USB be able to wake the PC from S3?

EDIT: Seems it works for some while fails for others running Windows 7.

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjinglesusa View Post

I have a Silverstone GD05B case and went with this Rosewill remote because it has a small USB IR dongle that I can plug into a front USB port.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

Very nice! I searched all night trying to find a very small dongle - that one would probably be small enough to be accepted here

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chad473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Comcast-Lancaster, PA
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITemplate View Post

@Heur

What brand is that control?

--
Werner

the remote itself is unbranded, but it's in the harmony database under ortek vrc-1100

xbox live/PSN: Chad473
chad473 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad473 View Post

the remote itself is unbranded, but it's in the harmony database under ortek vrc-1100

Yes, got it, thanks.

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
C17chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITemplate View Post

Yes that is true. But the issue with external IR like those suggestd here, is that they can't switch on the HTPC from the remote, right?

--
Werner


I know the OEM microsoft receiver/remote works fine. Used it on a couple iterations of my desktop (remote been around longer then the last couple upgrade cycles) and now my dedicated HTPC...remote resumes from sleep just fine with each. Cant speak for other receiver/remotes.
C17chief is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-22-2012, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ITemplate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@C17chief,

Thanks. I already ordered the Ortek thing. If it turns out bad It seems I will have at least the MS and the HP remote to fall back to.

Thanks to all participants.

--
Werner
ITemplate is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off