Plex Discussion Thread - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 881 Old 10-18-2014, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
Sorry, I was referring to Plex on the player specifically. Even though BD players can bitstream to an AVR it seems like most Plex apps for devices can't.

I have the ability to do it from my HTPC, but I long for the days of simplicity from a device such as the Nexus Player.

Mr Zoid
Gotcha. I don't have a modern AVR in that room, just an old Kenwood Pro Logic 5.1 receiver with L/R audio channel inputs. No bitstreaming capability in that one. Sorry.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 881 Old 10-19-2014, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Anyone else have any issues with Plex Web Player and Chrome? I've been using Chrome without any issues for months and now it isn't working at all. I've rebooted my Plex box as well as removed / re-installed Chrome and Flash on my system and still no workie. It will get all the way to where it should start playing but never does.

On the same system I can play with IE and Firefox without any issues.

I believe that Chrome Recently updated itself. It is showing version V38.02155-104m and I am running Flash version 15.0.0.189 which also recently updated.

Any other suggestions on how to get it working again?

Last edited by funhouse69; 10-20-2014 at 12:17 AM.
funhouse69 is offline  
post #873 of 881 Old 10-20-2014, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Plex is working fine for me on Chrome. I have version 38.0.2125.104 m (64-bit).
Ken.F is offline  
post #874 of 881 Old 10-26-2014, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Using Plex Home Theater on my Windows 8.1 PC. Is there any way to switch the audio speakers from my PC to my TV with a *.bat file?

I know how to do it manually (Control Panel/Sound, and then select the HDMI output as the default audio device)
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #875 of 881 Old 10-26-2014, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Anyone else having issues with Plex Today?

I went to use my PHT and I got nothing but "Search" Text Instead of my various libraries. I then went to a webpage and it said that my plex server was unavailable but I can access it locally without any issues.

I went to the Plex website and tried to launch my player and I got the attached error.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Plex Error.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	333114  
funhouse69 is offline  
post #876 of 881 Old 10-26-2014, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 246
It's working fine for me. I noticed a family member 5 states away streaming from my server about an hour ago.
Ken.F is offline  
post #877 of 881 Old 10-26-2014, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Its back up now, not sure what the issue was but I checked it from my work computer as well and I was getting the same error so it must have been a temporary glitch.

According to is it down right now it did go down for a little while.

http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/plex.tv.html
funhouse69 is offline  
post #878 of 881 Old 10-26-2014, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Guys, I have a funny issue that I noticed yesterday....
I had updated to the latest version of PLEX Server last week. Over the weekend I decided to check the server backup and do some maintenance. I noticed the Recycle Bin was full, and opened it to see what I may have left in there. (I usually dump whatever files I place in there, right away.) To my surprise, there were multiple small (20 or so kb) files with long numerical/character names. Since I didn't recognize any of this, I did some digging to see where they came from. It appears that PLEX has selected and gleaned all these files for some reason. At first, I thought it was from the update, but the date they were cleaned does not match the install date of the new version. It had been at least 3-4 days later.

Has anybody seen this phenomenon? I have not dumped the files until I can discover what they are.
Thanks to all for any assistance.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is offline  
post #879 of 881 Old 10-27-2014, 03:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
Guys, I have a funny issue that I noticed yesterday....
I had updated to the latest version of PLEX Server last week. Over the weekend I decided to check the server backup and do some maintenance. I noticed the Recycle Bin was full, and opened it to see what I may have left in there. (I usually dump whatever files I place in there, right away.) To my surprise, there were multiple small (20 or so kb) files with long numerical/character names. Since I didn't recognize any of this, I did some digging to see where they came from. It appears that PLEX has selected and gleaned all these files for some reason. At first, I thought it was from the update, but the date they were cleaned does not match the install date of the new version. It had been at least 3-4 days later.

Has anybody seen this phenomenon? I have not dumped the files until I can discover what they are.
Thanks to all for any assistance.
They are most likely old Plex files that were deleted during the server's scheduled maintenance tasks. If you go into the server settings you can check the "Scheduled Tasks" section to see what it does and how often it runs.
kevin g. likes this.
Ken.F is offline  
post #880 of 881 Old 10-27-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
They are most likely old Plex files that were deleted during the server's scheduled maintenance tasks. If you go into the server settings you can check the "Scheduled Tasks" section to see what it does and how often it runs.
Thank you. I will check it.

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is offline  
post #881 of 881 Old 10-27-2014, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,762
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Anyone considering a cheap Plex client and Amazon Prime solution should check out Amazon's new FireTV Stick. If you're a prime customer it's only 19 dollars for the next couple of days.

http://www.amazon.com/
oman321 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off