Plex Discussion Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #901 of 939 Old 11-12-2014, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Lighting Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berea, OH
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post
I just did some testing (and wanted to see myself) playing a Full BR Rip on my iPhone / iPad using the Plex app is Direct Play with no transcoding whatsoever. It takes about 20mb/sec to load / buffer then about 6mb/sec sustained after that.
I did not have the same results at all...

Playing a BR rip on my android phone was painful. It played a few seconds, then buffered, then played a few secs, etc. I only let this happen twice since it shouldn't happen at all. This is all internal on my network, not remote. Also, it did transcode both video and audio. I don't get the video transcoding since it is a H264 from MakeMKV, although it is a DTS soundtrack, so down converting to AAC audio is understandable.

My server shouldn't be a problem; I'm running an i5 4460, which has a great (I thought) benchmark, and nothing else is running on that computer.
Lighting Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 939 Old 11-12-2014, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Lighting Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berea, OH
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
FWIW, I'm definitely getting 5.1 audio from Plex on my Xbox360.
What type of files are you playing? AVIs?
Lighting Guy is offline  
post #903 of 939 Old 11-12-2014, 09:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lighting Guy View Post
I did not have the same results at all...

Playing a BR rip on my android phone was painful. It played a few seconds, then buffered, then played a few secs, etc. I only let this happen twice since it shouldn't happen at all. This is all internal on my network, not remote. Also, it did transcode both video and audio. I don't get the video transcoding since it is a H264 from MakeMKV, although it is a DTS soundtrack, so down converting to AAC audio is understandable.

My server shouldn't be a problem; I'm running an i5 4460, which has a great (I thought) benchmark, and nothing else is running on that computer.
The system I am using is well below the power of yours. I am using an old AMD Processor that seems to keep up with my needs without any issues but I have that machine dedicated to it.

The interesting thing I noticed afterward is that the player app on my iPhone shows that it should be using no more than 3mb / sec (hard set in the IOS App Settings) and it was taking way more then that.

Issues like that inside of your house that doesn't sound right at all, you should be able to get flawless playback unless there is some major wireless interference or some other kind of network issue preventing it. Do you have something else you can try it on wirelessly like a laptop?

Last edited by funhouse69; 11-12-2014 at 09:17 PM.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #904 of 939 Old 11-13-2014, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lighting guy View Post
what type of files are you playing? Avis?
mp4
wilbur_the_goose is online now  
post #905 of 939 Old 11-20-2014, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
jnick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the consensus is to due BD Rips to MKV and call it a day. If I wanted to go one step further, and encode with Handbrake, do you guys have any recommendation on the file type/settings I should use? I had a custom preset for Apple TV2 conversions, but now that I've moved to Plex, I know I have a lot more flexibility!

Thanks!

Yamaha RX-V675 | Primus 363s fronts | Primus 163 rears | Primus 351 Center | Rythmik LV12R Sub
jnick1 is offline  
post #906 of 939 Old 11-20-2014, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnick1 View Post
I know the consensus is to due BD Rips to MKV and call it a day. If I wanted to go one step further, and encode with Handbrake, do you guys have any recommendation on the file type/settings I should use? I had a custom preset for Apple TV2 conversions, but now that I've moved to Plex, I know I have a lot more flexibility!

Thanks!
What's the goal?
Ken.F is offline  
post #907 of 939 Old 11-20-2014, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,774
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I make the best file type I can and then let plex transcode if and when necessary, haven't had an issue yet whether it's a mobile device, tablet, ROKU, Apple tv, or computer.
oman321 is offline  
post #908 of 939 Old 11-20-2014, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Plex issue - I can't get the Plex DLNA server to work with a Sony Bravia TV. However, JRiver works perfectly.

Suggestions?
wilbur_the_goose is online now  
post #909 of 939 Old 11-20-2014, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnick1 View Post
I know the consensus is to due BD Rips to MKV and call it a day. If I wanted to go one step further, and encode with Handbrake, do you guys have any recommendation on the file type/settings I should use? I had a custom preset for Apple TV2 conversions, but now that I've moved to Plex, I know I have a lot more flexibility!

Thanks!
I've been messing around with Handbrake lately and I have to say that I am impressed with it. I found this thread and have been trying some of the settings. So you will need figure out what your needs are and take it from there.

I am taking a 30ish GB Blu Ray Rips and compressing it down to a 4-6GB Range that looks awesome on my 55" TV. I play them back to back and can't really tell the difference.

*OPTIMAL* settings for Handbrake? (Blu-ray and DVD rips)
Ken.F likes this.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #910 of 939 Old 11-21-2014, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Plex finally gets profiles.

https://blog.plex.tv/2014/11/20/introducing-plex-home/

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #911 of 939 Old 11-21-2014, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
Plex finally gets profiles.

https://blog.plex.tv/2014/11/20/introducing-plex-home/

Mr Zoid
I saw that announcement the other day, pretty cool for sure! I know a few people that have been waiting for it. I bet the people that didn't sign up for their lifetime plex pass before the price went up are sad now
funhouse69 is online now  
post #912 of 939 Old 11-24-2014, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
jnick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
What's the goal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post
I've been messing around with Handbrake lately and I have to say that I am impressed with it. I found this thread and have been trying some of the settings. So you will need figure out what your needs are and take it from there.

I am taking a 30ish GB Blu Ray Rips and compressing it down to a 4-6GB Range that looks awesome on my 55" TV. I play them back to back and can't really tell the difference.

*OPTIMAL* settings for Handbrake? (Blu-ray and DVD rips)
I'm looking to shrink down the file size of the MKV. 30GB, while I do have the space, is a bit large for my liking to stream a movie. I of course am looking for the least amount of compression. I'd love lossless audio and focus mainly on the video for compression, but even that, I'd like to not lose all to much.

Yamaha RX-V675 | Primus 363s fronts | Primus 163 rears | Primus 351 Center | Rythmik LV12R Sub
jnick1 is offline  
post #913 of 939 Old 11-24-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnick1 View Post
I'm looking to shrink down the file size of the MKV. 30GB, while I do have the space, is a bit large for my liking to stream a movie. I of course am looking for the least amount of compression. I'd love lossless audio and focus mainly on the video for compression, but even that, I'd like to not lose all to much.
Here's a pretty good starting point:
Any way to reduce 1080p Video size without losing quality?
Ken.F is offline  
post #914 of 939 Old 11-25-2014, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
FWIW, I'm definitely getting 5.1 audio from Plex on my Xbox360.
I was wrong. I'm only getting 5.1 from my Roku.

Sorry.
wilbur_the_goose is online now  
post #915 of 939 Old 11-27-2014, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by atxxm View Post
Obviously for lightweight clients like the iPhone, you'll probably need to o transcode.
I just tried playing a Full Blu Ray rip on my iPhone and it used Direct Play. Obviously this is inside of my house / network and was using about 30mb/sec of bandwidth.

I know outside of my network it does Transcode (based on the settings in the App / Server).
funhouse69 is online now  
post #916 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I have a HP N40L Microserver which I use as a HTPC. I currently have XBMC on it, but find it too hard to configure and get right. I want a simple interface which just works.

I don't really need PVR functionality as I already have a TIVO and also I have a synology DS414 NAS which I can have my tv tuner plug into. Or I can run 2 programs side by side i.e. WMC as the PVR as well.

My question was, does PLEX Home Theater offer the same video and audio quality as XBMC and the others?

I have a 55" Panasonic VT60 plasma 1080P TV that I use the HP N40L with via HDMI using a low profile AMD 6450 GPU.

I just need to display 1080P MKV's and also HD audio bitstreaming via HDMI.
3D MKV's and also blu ray images would be a bonus...

Cheers,
K.
k3nnis is offline  
post #917 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Hi All,

I have a HP N40L Microserver which I use as a HTPC. I currently have XBMC on it, but find it too hard to configure and get right. I want a simple interface which just works.

I don't really need PVR functionality as I already have a TIVO and also I have a synology DS414 NAS which I can have my tv tuner plug into. Or I can run 2 programs side by side i.e. WMC as the PVR as well.

My question was, does PLEX Home Theater offer the same video and audio quality as XBMC and the others?

I have a 55" Panasonic VT60 plasma 1080P TV that I use the HP N40L with via HDMI using a low profile AMD 6450 GPU.

I just need to display 1080P MKV's and also HD audio bitstreaming via HDMI.
3D MKV's and also blu ray images would be a bonus...

Cheers,
K.
Plex HT Edition is usually set to "Direct Play" which will play the audio / video as it is in the source unless you set something different where it will then transcode the video and or audio down to whatever your settings dictate.

That said - Just to be clear Plex Home Theater is NOT a stand alone player, it needs Plex Server to be running on something be it your PC or even your NAS.

Last edited by funhouse69; 12-01-2014 at 09:51 PM.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #918 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Direct Play sounds good. I don't want any transcoding. Will have PMS on the same PC.

Will Plex HT bitstream HD audio via HDMI? i.e. Dolby True HD, DTS-HDMA?
k3nnis is offline  
post #919 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yes, Plex HT does both DTS MA and True HD.

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #920 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Thanks. Direct Play sounds good. I don't want any transcoding. Will have PMS on the same PC.

Will Plex HT bitstream HD audio via HDMI? i.e. Dolby True HD, DTS-HDMA?
This is from the Plex Website

HDMI: This handles both video and Audio and is the best choice if you want to have full codec support. HDMI has the most available bandwidth in its current form and handles all formats natively (AC3, DTS, TrueHD, DTS-MA, LPCM).

Also worth mentioning - I use Plex HT and I haven't had any issues with Full Blu Ray Rips at all.

Last edited by funhouse69; 12-01-2014 at 09:57 PM.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #921 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Will install and give it a try.
Is there a list of file formats that Plex direct plays without transcoding on the mobile app?
I know MKV is not one of them....
k3nnis is offline  
post #922 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 10:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Thanks. Will install and give it a try.
Is there a list of file formats that Plex direct plays without transcoding on the mobile app?
I know MKV is not one of them....
Plex absolutely supports MKV files for Direct Play that is the main file format that they support / push. They also support MP4, H.264 and AVI to name a few. There are some variables like even thought the Video is compatible the audio might not be. Even something like a subtitle can force a full Transcode of the Video.

Every single file I have on my NAS for Plex is an MKV File.

I can say for sure that a Full Blu Ray Rip with DTS Plays via "Direct Play" on my iPhone within my house. Outside of my house it obviously has to Transcode it down due to bandwidth limitations.

Here is a link to a post on the Plex Support Site:

https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/art...-Direct-Stream
funhouse69 is online now  
post #923 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Hopefully my HP N40L have enough processing power to direct stream MKV's

Have you tried direct streaming DTS-HDMA mkv's? Will that be the same as standard DTS?
k3nnis is offline  
post #924 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Thanks. Hopefully my HP N40L have enough processing power to direct stream MKV's

Have you tried direct streaming DTS-HDMA mkv's? Will that be the same as standard DTS?
If your Client Supports it then it should Direct Play / Direct Stream which is very low CPU Overhead. Only when you start to transcode can you get in to some serious CPU Requirements.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #925 of 939 Old 12-01-2014, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok thanks for the info. I will install PMS and PHT on my HP N40L, while my Synology DS414 NAS will hold all the data. i.e. point PMS to the NAS...
k3nnis is offline  
post #926 of 939 Old 12-04-2014, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey everyone its not real clear to me, especially with this thread being started so long ago...

Is the Raspberry pi with RasPlex installed going to allow me to stream from my Plex server to my TV? Is it going to be slow like I've read about?

Are the issues in Plex resolved now so that playing a MKV file gets HD audio?

Just looking for the best solution... watching MKVs on TV without much lag.

Thanks
stangstang is offline  
post #927 of 939 Old 12-05-2014, 01:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 66
If you have a Plex server set up already, I think you should just look for a decent NUC, install XBMC on it and install the PleXBMC plugin and you should be golden...

PHT, IMO is not worth the hassle as it is always one or two steps behind XBMC...

If you get to install the current Kodi RC1, you will be amazed at how stable it is and how all formats are well supported,

PHT on the other hand doesn't bit stream DD+, no support for THD that contains Atmos data, doesn't play Video_TS folder (or the BD equivalent) and doesn't play physical discs... how more crippled can it get?

And the Raspberry thing... I don't believe in them as such...
balky is offline  
post #928 of 939 Old 12-05-2014, 01:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I wish MediaBrowser and Plex would join forces and combine into one HTPC offering, that would truly be epic ^_^

Projector: BenQ w1070 v1.06 + Painted N9 Grey 120" Screen
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR636 ATMOS + Darbee Media Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT 321 + ChromeCast
Speakers: Polk Audio TSX550t (FL, FR), CS2 Series II (Center), Monitor40 Series II (RL, RR),
Onkyo THX Bookshelf Speakers (Ceiling L,R) + Dual JL Audio 12" Subs + ButtKicker LFE Arrangement: 5.2.2
Daniel Chaves is offline  
post #929 of 939 Old 12-05-2014, 02:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangstang View Post
Hey everyone its not real clear to me, especially with this thread being started so long ago...

Is the Raspberry pi with RasPlex installed going to allow me to stream from my Plex server to my TV? Is it going to be slow like I've read about?

Are the issues in Plex resolved now so that playing a MKV file gets HD audio?

Just looking for the best solution... watching MKVs on TV without much lag.

Thanks
How about a Roku? They are pretty inexpensive and have a Plex App that works very well. There are other Media Players that do as well like the Amazon Fire TV and even a Chrome Cast.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #930 of 939 Old 12-05-2014, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Chaves View Post
I wish MediaBrowser and Plex would join forces and combine into one HTPC offering, that would truly be epic ^_^
I hope they don't join up. I like having choices. The way it is now they are both doing an awesome job at refining their products. I'd hate to see them get lazy due to the lack of competition.
Ken.F is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off