Plex Discussion Thread - Page 32 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #931 of 939 Old 12-06-2014, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I picked up a PI today & installed RasPlex but I could use some help configuring the PI to prevent stuttering.
I'm using a tiny USB wifi dongle.

My Plex server (i5 core) has a 1:1 MKV I created from my the matrix bluray disc & gigabit internet.

The PI can't handle playing this obviously. So I dropped the bitrate down to 1MBps @ 1080p. Obviously the graphics look bad but this was the fastest way I determined to get smooth playback.
When I change the bitrate on the PI Plex client is that forcing the PI to transcode or is it forcing the server to do so?

I tried upping the bitrate to 4MBps @ 1080p but the video stuttered badly. Just looking for other possible solutions. I'm not ready to give up on the PI yet! Thx
stangstang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 939 Old 12-06-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangstang View Post
When I change the bitrate on the PI Plex client is that forcing the PI to transcode or is it forcing the server to do so?
I'm pretty sure all transcoding is done at the computer that has Plex server installed on it.
Ken.F is offline  
post #933 of 939 Old 12-06-2014, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
I'm pretty sure all transcoding is done at the computer that has Plex server installed on it.
Yes Ken after so more research I believe you are right.

Based on some other things I've ready online I'm going to do the following:
1) Change to a USB 3.0 drive instead of the Class 10 SD Card
2) Getting rid of WiFi in favor of a hard network cable

I'm also reading that the pi isn't good for a bitrate much > 20

Last edited by stangstang; 12-06-2014 at 09:12 PM. Reason: language
stangstang is offline  
post #934 of 939 Old 12-17-2014, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Just wanted to add that a 100mbit connection makes the pi run 20Mbit transcoding very smooth. It has resolved my stuttering issues.
Ken.F likes this.
stangstang is offline  
post #935 of 939 Old 12-17-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,774
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
New PS3 and PS4 app released in Europe and most of Asia, coming soon to the rest of the of us. Yes!!!!
https://blog.plex.tv/
oman321 is offline  
post #936 of 939 Unread Today, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I am having a strange issue when trying to play "If I Stay" which is a full blu-ray rip on my HTPC using Plex Home Theater via "Direct Play" the system is more than beefy enough to play anything I throw at it. I can actually play the video from the NAS Share itself with VLC no problem but through plex it stutters like it is in slow motion and I have no audio/

If I go in and change the setting to anything other then direct play it works fine. Interestingly enough it shows that it isn't only transcoding the video but the audio as well even though I have it set to support pretty much every audio format including TrueHD and DTS-HD.

I can play it on any other client without any issues, I just tried it on my iPhone and it shows that is playing on it via Direct Play.

Any thoughts?
funhouse69 is online now  
post #937 of 939 Unread Today, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Is this the only title you are having trouble with?

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #938 of 939 Unread Today, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
Is this the only title you are having trouble with?
I just checked a half dozen or so other movies back in "Direct Play" mode and they all seem to be fine.

How can you tell what the bit-rate is of the movie? Could that have something to do with it? The movie isn't that long (compared to something like say Avatar) but the Rip is over 41GB is size.

I re-ripped it (using MakeMKV) and I am still having the same issue. I am not doing anything to the movie (like with Hand Brake) this is just a clean rip.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #939 of 939 Unread Today, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
VLC should be able to tell you the bitrate.

Most of the time when I have rip issues it's a disk error.

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off