Plex Discussion Thread - Page 34 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1008 Unread 01-25-2015, 02:09 PM
Member
 
au-734's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvogue View Post
Unfortunately I have only recently bought my Sony TV, not sure about returning it as its a decent display.

I have decided to order Rasberry Pi B+ with Flirc (have a Harmony Touch coming) and put Rasplex on that, seems to be a cheaper way to get it on there and I think it can pass through everything too.
Last time I checked ( a year ago), the Raspberry Pi would not pass or decode HD audio.

According to the website mentioned above, the Chromebox mod will pass HD audio.

Knowledge is good. - Emil Faber, Faber College
au-734 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1008 Unread 01-29-2015, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi all,

I thought PHT (running on a PC) would allow for airplay of local content of an iOS device (e.g., videos/photos shot on my iPhone) to Plex, but it doesn't. I installed iTunes and restarted so Bonjour should be installed. Isn't Airplay (in this sense, and not streaming from the Plex iOS app to an apple TV, etc) supposed to work?

thanks....confused!

Last edited by skro; 01-29-2015 at 08:30 PM.
skro is offline  
post #993 of 1008 Unread 01-29-2015, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post
Hi all,

I thought d PHT (running on a PC) would allow for airplay of local content (e.g., videos/photos shot on my iPhone) to Plex, but it doesn't. I installed iTunes and restarted so Bonjour should be installed. Isn't Airplay (in this sense, and not streaming from the Plex iOS app to an apple TV, etc) supposed to work?

thanks....confused!
PHT is Plex Home Theater which is just a Plex Playing / Viewing app, where is the Plex Server? You need to have a Plex Server Running somewhere that is pointing to all of you media (movies, music and photos) and once it is set up properly you will be able to view all of them on your devices inside and outside of your house (if you choose).

Denon AVR-X7200 - Klipsch RF-82 II Fronts, RC-62 II Center, RS-52 II Surrounds & R-112SW & Four CDT-5800-C II Ceilings for an Atmos 5.1.4 Setup.
funhouse69 is offline  
post #994 of 1008 Unread 01-29-2015, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi,

Thanks for the response. I've had Plex up and running like a charm for years. I've experimented with PMS on NAS and dedicated computers. Right now, I have PHT and PMS on the same Windows 7 machine. My problem isn't with local media on my server..that works just perfectly...rather, my problem is that it can't act as an Airplay receiver? For displaying Airplay content, I wouldn't think PMS is involved (but I could be wrong).

So, my basic question is:
Can you take a photo on your phone and display it (the photo on your phone) on a TV running Plex via Airplay (without having to move it to your photos folder in PMS)?...ie, do i need to buy an apple TV to do this one act?

Thanks!
skro is offline  
post #995 of 1008 Unread 01-29-2015, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post
Hi,

Thanks for the response. I've had Plex up and running like a charm for years. I've experimented with PMS on NAS and dedicated computers. Right now, I have PHT and PMS on the same Windows 7 machine. My problem isn't with local media on my server..that works just perfectly...rather, my problem is that it can't act as an Airplay receiver? For displaying Airplay content, I wouldn't think PMS is involved (but I could be wrong).

So, my basic question is:
Can you take a photo on your phone and display it (the photo on your phone) on a TV running Plex via Airplay (without having to move it to your photos folder in PMS)?...ie, do i need to buy an apple TV to do this one act?

Thanks!
Ok I missed that part of the equation - From what I see online this should work but there are a lot of posts on the Plex forum saying that it isn't working / hasn't been working since a version update sometime in December.

I don't use Airplay at all so maybe someone else that has more knowledge can assist.

Denon AVR-X7200 - Klipsch RF-82 II Fronts, RC-62 II Center, RS-52 II Surrounds & R-112SW & Four CDT-5800-C II Ceilings for an Atmos 5.1.4 Setup.
funhouse69 is offline  
post #996 of 1008 Unread 02-13-2015, 02:58 AM
Newbie
 
meat-ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post
Has anyone had any luck with the TiVo channel for Plex? I am stuck on the Settings screen.

https://github.com/tivoguy/TiVoToGo.bundle

I haven't had any issues, but it seems like quite a few that have. First thing I would do is grab the forked version of this that was tweaked by a Plex Dev (sanders I believe).
meat-ball is offline  
post #997 of 1008 Unread 02-13-2015, 03:01 AM
Newbie
 
meat-ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Plex Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post
Ok I missed that part of the equation - From what I see online this should work but there are a lot of posts on the Plex forum saying that it isn't working / hasn't been working since a version update sometime in December.

I don't use Airplay at all so maybe someone else that has more knowledge can assist.

Definitely hasn't stopped working when using a Mac and I have a couple friends that AirPlay from iOS-ATV using their iPhone and iPad and that's been working. Can't speak to a PC though.
I would definitely check the Plex forums as there's going to be lots of info there.
meat-ball is offline  
post #998 of 1008 Unread 02-16-2015, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm sure diehard Plex fans already know this, but the Raspberry Pi 2 was just released and by the looks of things should fix all the last nagging problems of using a Pi as a front end for Plex (except for DTS & Dolby HD of course). I have two on order and am looking forward to running Rasplex on it.
http://www.raspberrypi.org/raspberry-pi-2-on-sale/
Valnar is offline  
post #999 of 1008 Unread 02-19-2015, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Okay, I have a couple of questions I hope maybe some of you have encountered and/or fixed:

I have PMS running on my NAS and I use PHT running on a windows 7 computer.

Can you get video airplay to work with Plex/Plex HT? I always get some error in red saying that this isnt possible? I'm trying to airplay a video podcast from my iphone to plex.


Have any of you gotten 3D to be successfully recognized and played back in Plex? I have the 3D blu-ray of gravity, which I used makemkv to extract. According to the Plex FAQ, all I have to do is name the file correctly, which I did: Gravity.2013.half-sbs.mkv

PMS recognizes the movie right away and gets all the metadata for it. In PHT, when I press play, all I get is a 2D video stream. There's no indication that it is a 3D file. Now, my tv has some screwy feature that will make any 2D video into 3D, and if I enable that, I can get 3D, but that's not what I should have to do right? I shouldn't have to go 3D->2D->3D. do I? If I enable my tv to auto-detect 3D, it recognizes nothing when I play the movie in PHT. So something isnt right, either its MakeMKV or Plex itself.

If I load the iso in powerdvd, that plays the 3D file just fine, so its not the TV, HDMI cable, AVR or the computer, its something to do with the Plex or MakeMKV. What am I not doing right?
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #1000 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 76
About Time!

New Roku app! Plex Pass only for now, must install new Roku Channel: https://owner.roku.com/add/PlexPass

https://blog.plex.tv/2015/02/24/bran...atform-people/










OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | NBA via Ballstreams, MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!

Last edited by Aero 1; Yesterday at 09:30 AM.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #1001 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 09:53 AM
Member
 
vantage78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all. Anyone using Plex with their P Series Vizio? I'm having trouble getting it all to connect.

I'm able to authenticate the TV successfully (after signing up for a Plex Plus pass), but then the app tries to load and goes into an infinite loop stating there is something wrong with my network connection. Any ideas?
vantage78 is online now  
post #1002 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
About Time!

New Roku app!
That's great. I just updated my Roku 2XS and the new interface is a huge improvement.

I hope they add some labels to the transport control buttons. My dad is 73 years old and unlabeled buttons confuse him.
Ken.F is offline  
post #1003 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
That's great. I just updated my Roku 2XS and the new interface is a huge improvement.

I hope they add some labels to the transport control buttons. My dad is 73 years old and unlabeled buttons confuse him.

Does this new app allow direct play from blu-ray rips (mkv)?

I know the older version you had to transcode everything which why i switched to PHT on chromebox.
Glenn Warman is online now  
post #1004 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Warman View Post
Does this new app allow direct play from blu-ray rips (mkv)?

I know the older version you had to transcode everything which why i switched to PHT on chromebox.
Yes, it looks like it does. I'm direct playing Tammy right now.

Code:
Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames                : 2 frames
Codec ID                                 : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration                                 : 1h 36mn
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 24.6 Mbps
Width                                    : 1 920 pixels
Height                                   : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate                               : 23.976 fps
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.495
Stream size                              : 16.6 GiB (82%)
Language                                 : English
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Audio #1
ID                                       : 2
Format                                   : DTS
Format/Info                              : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile                           : MA / Core
Codec ID                                 : A_DTS
Duration                                 : 1h 36mn
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 2 056 Kbps / 1 510 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossless / Lossy
Title                                    : Surround 5.1
Language                                 : English
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No

Audio #2
ID                                       : 3
Format                                   : DTS
Format/Info                              : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID                                 : A_DTS
Duration                                 : 1h 36mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 1 510 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 1.02 GiB (5%)
Title                                    : Surround 5.1
Language                                 : English
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Audio #3
ID                                       : 4
Format                                   : AC-3
Format/Info                              : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension                           : CM (complete main)
Codec ID                                 : A_AC3
Duration                                 : 1h 36mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 640 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 443 MiB (2%)
Title                                    : Surround 5.1
Language                                 : French
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Audio #4
ID                                       : 5
Format                                   : AC-3
Format/Info                              : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension                           : CM (complete main)
Codec ID                                 : A_AC3
Duration                                 : 1h 36mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 640 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 443 MiB (2%)
Title                                    : Surround 5.1
Language                                 : Spanish
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Text #1
ID                                       : 6
Format                                   : PGS
Codec ID                                 : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info                            : The same subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Language                                 : English
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Text #2
ID                                       : 8
Format                                   : PGS
Codec ID                                 : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info                            : The same subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Language                                 : French
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Text #3
ID                                       : 10
Format                                   : PGS
Codec ID                                 : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info                            : The same subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Language                                 : Spanish
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No

Menu
00:00:00.000                             : en:Chapter 01
00:13:15.836                             : en:Chapter 02
00:23:37.499                             : en:Chapter 03
00:34:54.050                             : en:Chapter 04
00:44:04.725                             : en:Chapter 05
00:54:06.952                             : en:Chapter 06
01:03:08.868                             : en:Chapter 07
01:12:22.671                             : en:Chapter 08
01:22:03.293                             : en:Chapter 09
01:31:26.063                             : en:Chapter 10
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Roku direct play.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	565257  
Ken.F is offline  
post #1005 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Wow, that is big news. I was already considering sending back my AFTV and getting a Roku 3, now it's a sure thing.

I don't know why anyone would want to watch Tammy though. :P
wiley165 likes this.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1006 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
chadsdsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Playing my Blu Ray Iso files via PLEX....

I realize this probably is not news to most people, but I have not seen it stated anywhere so I thought I would write it so it can help someone. My movie only blu ray Iso files play on PLEX using a somewhat unorthodox method. As we all know, Iso files are really not directly supported via PLEX, but if you mount the image using one of the widely available clone drive applications ( I use virtual clone drive) it plays fine. What I do is add the clone drive as a folder (in my case it is the (L) drive) in my PLEX library. PLEX does not allow you to choose the drive from the add library list, so you have to manually type it into the path. After mounting the image on my computer or via my phone/tablet remote computer access app (I use teamviewer but splashtop etc will work as well) , they play back perfectly on PLEX. I mostly use this with my mobile devices, so it requires the extra step of remote accessing my computer to mount the image, but at least it works!! Needless to say, this does not allow direct use of the movie info/thumbnail pictures because PLEX does not even recognize my Iso files until they are mounted. As a band aid fix to this, I have put a bunch of short (10 seconds) identical video files of a ticker countdown (you know, the ones that count down from 10 to 1 before old movies) into a second library and named them according to the movies I have stored on Iso files. They are basically "dummy" videos used to get PLEX to recognize them. At least this way I have the movie info, even if the only thing that plays when I click play is the short video clip. Needless to say, this will only work on "movie only" Iso's as PLEX won't work with Java menus etc.


Is there an easier way to do this? Am I missing something? Is there any way to have PLEX mount my Iso's? Maybe using someone's expertise in adding a script to it etc.?


Also, if it really only needs to be mounted, is there any reason why PLEX can't do this natively? At least for movie only Iso files?


Btw, I am well aware that PLEX plays MKV's, but I have way to many Iso's and converting them all is just not gonna happen.
chadsdsmith is offline  
post #1007 of 1008 Unread Yesterday, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadsdsmith View Post
Is there an easier way to do this? Am I missing something? Is there any way to have PLEX mount my Iso's? Maybe using someone's expertise in adding a script to it etc.?
Using Plex? Not that I know of. XBMC and MediaBrowser both handle ISOs just fine although I'm not sure if they offer real-time transcoding like Plex.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadsdsmith View Post
Also, if it really only needs to be mounted, is there any reason why PLEX can't do this natively? At least for movie only Iso files?
The developers have chosen not to support it.
https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/art...Not-Supported-

Their reasoning is primarily due to menus or multi-episode disk images. However, I reckon they didn't bother including support for movie only ISOs because then they'd have complaints about some ISOs working and others not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadsdsmith View Post
Btw, I am well aware that PLEX plays MKV's, but I have way to many Iso's and converting them all is just not gonna happen.
The most time consuming part is ripping from BD-ROM. Unless you have like 5,000 ISOs or something, converting from ISO to MKV isn't actually all that bad particularly if you can make a script for MakeMKV command line.
ilovejedd is online now  
post #1008 of 1008 Unread Today, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
Wow, that is big news. I was already considering sending back my AFTV and getting a Roku 3, now it's a sure thing.
Might want to hold off for a while. My Roku 2XS has been crashing frequently while using the new Plex channel. My Roku got a system update (software version 6.1 build 5605) at the same time I installed the new Plex channel so I'm not sure which one is causing the crashes.
Quote:
I don't know why anyone would want to watch Tammy though. :P
Melissa McCarthy is a hottie.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off