Plex Discussion Thread - Page 54 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 53Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 3,870
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 1022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
I installed Plex and it did not seem to recognizing my .mkv files. Now I will go back and try to determine what I am doing wrong.
Keep in mind MKV is just a container. Think of it like a zip file but nothing is being compressed. You can put just about any type of audio or video you want in a MKV file. If you want to see what is in your MKV files try MediaInfo.
https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
Hold on, are you not able to play them, or are they not showing up at all. When you say "not seem to recognize" I think it could be either way.

If the movies are not showing up, it's likely a naming issue. Movies need to be named exactly as they are in The Movie DB.
https://www.themoviedb.org/
So, for example, Finding Dory would need to be named:
Finding Dory (2016).mkv
I put each of my MKVs in a folder, because some of my apps like to store metadata in that folder. So I have a folder like this:
Finding Dory (2016)
Then inside that folder is
Finding Dory (2016).mkv

That is, if I had that movie... it was just the first thing I saw on The Movie DB when I went to that website.
As long as the folder is named correctly and there is a media file inside then Plex is happy. You can rename the file, but it isn't required. I have many named title01.mkv and Plex finds it based on the folder name.

bryansj is offline  
post #1593 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
As long as the folder is named correctly and there is a media file inside then Plex is happy. You can rename the file, but it isn't required. I have many named title01.mkv and Plex finds it based on the folder name.
Right. I just do it out of habit because I used to have all the MKV files in one folder.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1594 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
Right. I just do it out of habit because I used to have all the MKV files in one folder.
So far I have not gotten my movies to show up in plex at all. I probably did not know how to tell Plex the drives, directories and files to look for and to use MPC-HC during the install. I named movies to properly to work in media browser and those names should work.

I uninstalled Plex. For now I think Emby or Kodi fits my purpose better.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1595 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
I uninstalled Plex. For now I think Emby or Kodi fits my purpose better.
Kodi is great for local media. No need for Emby or Plex. If you are only playing your media on the local box, Kodi is all you need.

I don't like Emby's interface. Neither does the family. So, I still have it on the server, but I have the service disabled for now.

So, we use Plex for mobile devices, and SPMC with PlexKodiConnect on static devices. And this is another reason we don't use Emby. If you watch with Emby on some and Plex on others, your watched status won't stay synched.

One thing about Emby, when you set up your libraries be sure to set them up via UNC and not drive letter\folder. Your share should look like this:
\\192.168.1.10\movies
NOT
D:\Movies
Otherwise, everything will be transcoded always on any box other than your local one.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1596 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
So far I have not gotten my movies to show up in plex at all. I probably did not know how to tell Plex the drives, directories and files to look for
On the left column, click the + next to Libraries
If it is movies you are adding, click Movies
Next you give it the name, then click Next
Browse for the folder, click it, then click Add
Click Add Library

All done!
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1597 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
So far I have not gotten my movies to show up in plex at all. I probably did not know how to tell Plex the drives, directories and files to look for and to use MPC-HC during the install. I named movies to properly to work in media browser and those names should work.

I uninstalled Plex. For now I think Emby or Kodi fits my purpose better.
Plex has nothing at all to do with MPC-HC. Once you set up Plex Media Server you need to use either Plex Media Player, Plex Home Theater, PlexKodiConnect (Kodi add-on), Plex phone or tablet app, Plex built into the TiVo, Plex built into a SmartTV...

Emby is the same, but not available on nearly as many platforms. However, I think the Emby WMC program can use MPC-HC as an external player.

bryansj is offline  
post #1598 of 1619 Unread 07-20-2016, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Plex has nothing at all to do with MPC-HC. Once you set up Plex Media Server you need to use either Plex Media Player, Plex Home Theater, PlexKodiConnect (Kodi add-on), Plex phone or tablet app, Plex built into the TiVo, Plex built into a SmartTV...

Emby is the same, but not available on nearly as many platforms. However, I think the Emby WMC program can use MPC-HC as an external player.
Yes probably, MPC-HC was an external player on Media Browser before it morphed into Emby.

Thanks for all the advice. I am going to put off Plex until it becomes the better solution for my needs. But every now in then it is good to test drive some other software and expand your horizons.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1599 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I took the time to install Emby and it is a good solution for my needs. Indeed it will use MPC-HC + madVR as an external player and the audio and video are better than ever. I did find that Plex has embedded itself as a 7MC menu item.

There are a number of front end alternatives. Each one has a learning curve and the software is constantly changing, It important to know what you value. However, it seems Emby and Plex can coexist as choices under 7MC so it may not be an either or situation.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1600 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
I took the time to install Emby and it is a good solution for my needs. Indeed it will use MPC-HC + madVR as an external player and the audio and video are better than ever. I did find that Plex has embedded itself as a 7MC menu item.

There are a number of front end alternatives. Each one has a learning curve and the software is constantly changing, It important to know what you value. However, it seems Emby and Plex can coexist as choices under 7MC so it may not be an either or situation.
Plex will launch as an external player from WMC. Emby has the Classic program to run inside WMC. However, since you use MPC-HC it will also launch externally to WMC. I'm not aware of a way to use MPC-HC + madVR with Plex players so you are left with Emby in that case. Emby has a standalone program that doesn't require WMC, but I think it is on the third redesign cycle. Plex has a much much larger user base than Emby (just look in the app stores), but Emby would be more open to tweaking such as external players.

bryansj is offline  
post #1601 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waterboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 152
What are peoples preference for the player PMP, PHT or OPENPHT?
I understand that PHT has been abandoned by Plex and replaced with PMP.... but its closed source with no skinning yet.

One day I will start the new theater....... one day..... THAT DAY HAS ARRIVED
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." Red Green
Family Cave Theater
Automation Thoughts/ Questions
Waterboy77 is online now  
post #1602 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterboy77 View Post
What are peoples preference for the player PMP, PHT or OPENPHT?
I understand that PHT has been abandoned by Plex and replaced with PMP.... but its closed source with no skinning yet.
I don't run a HTPC anymore, but I'd go with OpenPHT.
Waterboy77 likes this.

bryansj is offline  
post #1603 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Plex Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I don't run a HTPC anymore, but I'd go with OpenPHT.


Can I ask what do you use to playback media now? I'm trying to find one that can replace my htpc Intel NUC

I will require HD audio bitstreaming


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is online now  
post #1604 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Can I ask what do you use to playback media now? I'm trying to find one that can replace my htpc Intel NUC

I will require HD audio bitstreaming


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nvidia Shield which does HD audio bitstreaming with SPMC.

bryansj is offline  
post #1605 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok. Any others? Can it playback rmvb files?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is online now  
post #1606 of 1619 Unread 07-21-2016, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 146
i excluseivly use a chromebox with PMP installed. works fantastically, no issues with all audio. the interface doesnt bother me much since i always know what to watch next and i dont care about skinning. on reddit, tobias said that they are working on a new or updated common ui anyway.

Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - 6 TB TiVo Roamio - 3 TiVo Mini's | Plex Pass | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | NBA via Ballstreams, MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #1607 of 1619 Unread 08-10-2016, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone know why a DTS file playing on a Roku 3 via Plex starts out playing in DTS then after about 5 min it stops buffers then starts back up in dolby digital?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #1608 of 1619 Unread 08-13-2016, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
lordhutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm the type that likes to have all my metadata stored locally.
I used to run a HTPC with Kodi. I used Mediaelch to all my metadata and it worked perfectly.

I ditched the HTPC. Got a Synology 1815+ NAS. I am running an Nvidia Shield with Kodi on my TV where the HTPC used to be. Works great... with my metadata and all.

In my bedroom I have a Roku so I was planning on using Plex for that.
When I added my first movie folder I didn't have it set to use all my data.... When I set it to do so its not seeing everything properly.
I have movie-poster and movie-fanart jpgs as well as poster.jpg and fanart.jpg but it doesn't seem to work for all... and the biggest issue I'm seeing right now is that it obviously doesn't like my .nfo files.
I have no movie data and its using the date modified of the file for the date of the movie! So 12 Angry Men from 1957 is showing up as a 2015 movie! You think it would at least get the date right since its in the file name.

Anyway... is there a scraper like Mediaelch that will scan my collection and make sure I have all the right metadata for Plex?
lordhutt is offline  
post #1609 of 1619 Unread 08-13-2016, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhutt View Post
I'm the type that likes to have all my metadata stored locally.
I used to run a HTPC with Kodi. I used Mediaelch to all my metadata and it worked perfectly.

I ditched the HTPC. Got a Synology 1815+ NAS. I am running an Nvidia Shield with Kodi on my TV where the HTPC used to be. Works great... with my metadata and all.

In my bedroom I have a Roku so I was planning on using Plex for that.
When I added my first movie folder I didn't have it set to use all my data.... When I set it to do so its not seeing everything properly.
I have movie-poster and movie-fanart jpgs as well as poster.jpg and fanart.jpg but it doesn't seem to work for all... and the biggest issue I'm seeing right now is that it obviously doesn't like my .nfo files.
I have no movie data and its using the date modified of the file for the date of the movie! So 12 Angry Men from 1957 is showing up as a 2015 movie! You think it would at least get the date right since its in the file name.

Anyway... is there a scraper like Mediaelch that will scan my collection and make sure I have all the right metadata for Plex?
Plex has its own scrapper built in, you can change the "Source" of the Data to be pulled from various locations including local. I've never done it as I let Plex do its own thing and it works really well as long as you follow the naming conventions from the different sources.

Maybe this will help

https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/art...-Assets-Movies

Denon AVR-X7200 - Klipsch RF-82 II Fronts, RC-62 II Center, RS-52 II Surrounds & R-112SW & Four CDT-5800-C II Ceilings for an Atmos 5.1.4 Setup.
funhouse69 is offline  
post #1610 of 1619 Unread 08-13-2016, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
lordhutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post
Plex has its own scrapper built in, you can change the "Source" of the Data to be pulled from various locations including local. I've never done it as I let Plex do its own thing and it works really well as long as you follow the naming conventions from the different sources.

Maybe this will help

https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/art...-Assets-Movies
Thanks... I've been to that page.
The problem is even if I have all my artwork done properly I still need a nfo or xml or whatever it uses...
Worst case scenario I'll let it do it itself...but since I did go through the effort of picking artwork for 100's of movies and tv shows....
lordhutt is offline  
post #1611 of 1619 Unread 08-13-2016, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhutt View Post
Thanks... I've been to that page.
The problem is even if I have all my artwork done properly I still need a nfo or xml or whatever it uses...
Worst case scenario I'll let it do it itself...but since I did go through the effort of picking artwork for 100's of movies and tv shows....
You could sell the Roku and get another Shield...

bryansj is offline  
post #1612 of 1619 Unread 08-13-2016, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
lordhutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
You could sell the Roku and get another Shield...
That's not exactly out of the question!
I had the Roku for awhile now which is why I was using it. I was running Emby before and streaming from my HTPC.
lordhutt is offline  
post #1613 of 1619 Unread 08-16-2016, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
You could sell the Roku and get another Shield...
That's what I did.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1614 of 1619 Unread 08-16-2016, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,239
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
That's what I did.
I gave mine to my mother in law. She uses it to watch my Plex library. That involves transcoding anyway so it is perfect for her.

bryansj is offline  
post #1615 of 1619 Unread 08-16-2016, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can anyone explain to me while a video file that is DTS audio stops about 5 min in and restarts back using dolby digital audio. I am using plex with b a Roku 3.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #1616 of 1619 Unread 08-16-2016, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
Can anyone explain to me while a video file that is DTS audio stops about 5 min in and restarts back using dolby digital audio. I am using plex with b a Roku 3.
I guess not, nobody answered you. I had a Roku for almost a year, but I never had it on my main system where DTS didn't come into play. I had enough other problems that I ditched it, so I'm no help.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1617 of 1619 Unread Yesterday, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does plex support 24p playback using nvidia shield tv plex app?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is online now  
post #1618 of 1619 Unread Today, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Does plex support 24p playback using nvidia shield tv plex app?
Yes.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #1619 of 1619 Unread Today, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off