Plex Discussion Thread - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 89Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 1998 Old 06-02-2017, 04:44 AM
Member
 
AzDragonLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbaggins View Post
... there is no Plex app for WMC (other than a third party buggy one that kind of opens the Plex webpage).
If you can find Plex Home Theater version 1.4.1 it does work with WMC. It may be hard to find since they stopped development on it a couple years ago, but it works well and (to me anyways) has a better picture than Plex Media Player.

Media Computer Specs
ASUS H87M-E LGA 1150....Intel Core i7-4770 Haswell....Intel Network Adapter....8GB DDR3 SDRAM....Windows 7 x64.....Plex....Drobo 5N....Drobo Gen2
AzDragonLord is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 1998 Old 06-02-2017, 08:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here ya go.

http://filehippo.com/download_plex_home_theater/

Last edited by Craigslue; 06-02-2017 at 09:04 PM.
Craigslue is offline  
post #1983 of 1998 Old 06-04-2017, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
You might try changing the HDHR's power supply. I had two devices (for a long time) and occasionally on one the moment the second tuner kicked in it would reboot and I would lose both recordings. Since it only happened when I was recording four shows concurrently I keep trying to blame various other aspects... the moment I swapped the power supply I was good to go.
If you don't mind me asking, how did you go about getting a replacement power supply?

I found a post online from nickk with specs:
https://forum.silicondust.com/forum/...ic.php?t=19203


Did you buy a generic power supply that met certain specs, or did you find Silicon Dust OEM parts?
psuKinger is offline  
 
post #1984 of 1998 Old 06-04-2017, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 11,863
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Did you buy a generic power supply that met certain specs, or did you find Silicon Dust OEM parts?
Since I had two of them I swapped power supplies and the rebooting followed the power supply so I knew it was the cause. I looked at its specs (listed on the power adapter) and found a replacement in my "spare parts closest" which worked like a champ.

| 120" Screen | 1080p Projector | 7.2.4 Boston Acoustics & Power Sound Audio | Yamaha RX-A3060 & AudioSource AMP110 | Sony UBP-X800 | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 Server via Kodi/Plex Media Server : LG 65EG9600 OLED TV | TiVo | Roku Premiere+ | Blu-ray Movies for Sale | Digital HD Codes for Sale |

Last edited by Charles R; 06-05-2017 at 07:01 AM.
Charles R is offline  
post #1985 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
jcbaggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Any issues with my plans for Plex?

I just ordered most of these parts for my new build: http://techbuyersguru.com/650-home-theater-pc-build

I'm coming from an older Win 7 machine and am upgrading to Windows 10 (despite the other thread I started where I was attempting to continue to use WMC in Windows 7). I figured dealing with Win 7 driver issues/conflicts with updates breaking stuff, apparently Kaby Lake error messages with future updates on Windows 7, etc that it was time to start new. I spent most of the weekend playing with Plex Live TV and DVR via Plex Media Server installed on my wife's laptop with Windows 10 and the Plex Media Player on the same laptop as well as within the app on my xbox 360s. After trial and error and spending hours reading, here is my conclusion and what i'm planning on doing:

1) Build this PC and install Windows 10 with Plex Media server to run 24/7
2) Continue to use my HDHomeRun Prime with premium cable. I may cut in the future but the wife is insistant we have Nick Jr. and the Disney Channel for the kids.
3) Use Roku Ultras on my main television (where the HTPC is located) and my other two televisions. This is because Plex Live TV does not play live television on my existing xbox 360s. It will only play what you recorded. Same thing with the Plex Media Player installed on Windows 10. According to Plex website, it will work with live television on iOS (which i validated using my Ipad this weekend) and Android (hence using Roku Ultra). I would have loved to just keep my xbox 360s but gotta have live television.
4)Consolidate my two 2TB drives from the older PC onto this 5TB external drive (https://www.costco.com/Seagate-Backu...100301427.html) I would have most of my .mkv movies and the recorded Plex tv on this drive.
5) Using Roku Ultra gives me incentive to finally upgrade my televisions to 4K / HDR during this holiday season if all the above works.

I have given this a ton of thought--basically all weekend of reading and playing around. I would appreciate any feedback for this "whole house" Plex solution.
jcbaggins is offline  
post #1986 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,609
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1260 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbaggins View Post
I just ordered most of these parts for my new build: http://techbuyersguru.com/650-home-theater-pc-build

I'm coming from an older Win 7 machine and am upgrading to Windows 10 (despite the other thread I started where I was attempting to continue to use WMC in Windows 7). I figured dealing with Win 7 driver issues/conflicts with updates breaking stuff, apparently Kaby Lake error messages with future updates on Windows 7, etc that it was time to start new. I spent most of the weekend playing with Plex Live TV and DVR via Plex Media Server installed on my wife's laptop with Windows 10 and the Plex Media Player on the same laptop as well as within the app on my xbox 360s. After trial and error and spending hours reading, here is my conclusion and what i'm planning on doing:

1) Build this PC and install Windows 10 with Plex Media server to run 24/7
2) Continue to use my HDHomeRun Prime with premium cable. I may cut in the future but the wife is insistant we have Nick Jr. and the Disney Channel for the kids.
3) Use Roku Ultras on my main television (where the HTPC is located) and my other two televisions. This is because Plex Live TV does not play live television on my existing xbox 360s. It will only play what you recorded. Same thing with the Plex Media Player installed on Windows 10. According to Plex website, it will work with live television on iOS (which i validated using my Ipad this weekend) and Android (hence using Roku Ultra). I would have loved to just keep my xbox 360s but gotta have live television.
4)Consolidate my two 2TB drives from the older PC onto this 5TB external drive (https://www.costco.com/Seagate-Backu...100301427.html) I would have most of my .mkv movies and the recorded Plex tv on this drive.
5) Using Roku Ultra gives me incentive to finally upgrade my televisions to 4K / HDR during this holiday season if all the above works.

I have given this a ton of thought--basically all weekend of reading and playing around. I would appreciate any feedback for this "whole house" Plex solution.
I'm not sure where you got the idea that Roku was Android. The Plex Live TV feature is for Android TV (Nvidia Shield) and not even on Android yet.

The Roku also can't pass through HD audio if that matters.

The Shield could also double as a Plex Server which would eliminate buying the new PC.

bryansj is offline  
post #1987 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
jcbaggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I'm not sure where you got the idea that Roku was Android. The Plex Live TV feature is for Android TV (Nvidia Shield) and not even on Android yet.

The Roku also can't pass through HD audio if that matters.

The Shield could also double as a Plex Server which would eliminate buying the new PC.
Okay, I may have that wrong then if I can't use the Roku Ultra to act as the Plex Media Player and watch live television. Any idea if/when the Plex Live TV will be coming to Roku? I will have to research the Nvidia Sheild more. I really like the idea of having a HTPC so I can pull my iphone pictures/movies onto a folder, rip my blu rays to .mkv, and use this all through Plex.

Thanks for the quick response. Sounds like the Roku Ultra won't work for Plex Live TV.
jcbaggins is offline  
post #1988 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,609
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1260 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbaggins View Post
Okay, I may have that wrong then if I can't use the Roku Ultra to act as the Plex Media Player and watch live television. Any idea if/when the Plex Live TV will be coming to Roku? I will have to research the Nvidia Sheild more. I really like the idea of having a HTPC so I can pull my iphone pictures/movies onto a folder, rip my blu rays to .mkv, and use this all through Plex.

Thanks for the quick response. Sounds like the Roku Ultra won't work for Plex Live TV.
As of today it only works on Android TV and iOS.

Nothing you stated requires a HTPC. It could be done on pretty much any network connected computer.

bryansj is offline  
post #1989 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jcbaggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
As of today it only works on Android TV and iOS.

Nothing you stated requires a HTPC. It could be done on pretty much any network connected computer.
Is Nvidia Shield the only Android TV option for Plex Live TV? I guess I could buy one of those but don't exactly want to buy three for all of my televisions just for watching live television. I could also wait for Plex Live TV to come to other cheaper options like Roku.

Yeah, this would be my only networked computer so it's more of the HUB for doing HTPC media across my house, burning dvds/blu rays we buy so we can go disk-less, and downloading our iphone pics/movies when they get full. The last one did awesome for seven years so I figure the $500 is worth another few years.
jcbaggins is offline  
post #1990 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,609
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1260 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbaggins View Post
Is Nvidia Shield the only Android TV option for Plex Live TV? I guess I could buy one of those but don't exactly want to buy three for all of my televisions just for watching live television. I could also wait for Plex Live TV to come to other cheaper options like Roku.

Yeah, this would be my only networked computer so it's more of the HUB for doing HTPC media across my house, burning dvds/blu rays we buy so we can go disk-less, and downloading our iphone pics/movies when they get full. The last one did awesome for seven years so I figure the $500 is worth another few years.
There is the discontinued Nexus Player and I think Android TV is built into some Sony TVs.

It sounds like you are building a media server instead of a HTPC.

bryansj is offline  
post #1991 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
jcbaggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
There is the discontinued Nexus Player and I think Android TV is built into some Sony TVs.

It sounds like you are building a media server instead of a HTPC.
You are actually right. Okay, the Nvidia Shield has me intrigued. I just ordered one. I am actually going to try that + my external 5 TB hard drive I bought so see if that can just take the place of my HTPC. I have 30 days to return all the components to Amazon so I'm going to try that first with Plex and my HDHome Run Prime. If not, i'll just build the mediaserver/HTPC and move the shield to a bedroom for one of the players.

Thanks for the advice. I should have came here first
jcbaggins is offline  
post #1992 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,609
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1260 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbaggins View Post
You are actually right. Okay, the Nvidia Shield has me intrigued. I just ordered one. I am actually going to try that + my external 5 TB hard drive I bought so see if that can just take the place of my HTPC. I have 30 days to return all the components to Amazon so I'm going to try that first with Plex and my HDHome Run Prime. If not, i'll just build the mediaserver/HTPC and move the shield to a bedroom for one of the players.

Thanks for the advice. I should have came here first
On the Shield the Android Live TV app works much better than the Plex version. You'll get to test both.

bryansj is offline  
post #1993 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
On the Shield the Android Live TV app works much better than the Plex version. You'll get to test both.
I prefer Silicon Dust's HDHomeRun (Grey; Beta) app over the Android Live TV app, personally, but that seems to be a minority opinion around here.

I'm gonna try to mess around with the new Live TV feature within Plex this week.
psuKinger is offline  
post #1994 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,609
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1260 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I prefer Silicon Dust's HDHomeRun (Grey; Beta) app over the Android Live TV app, personally, but that seems to be a minority opinion around here.

I'm gonna try to mess around with the new Live TV feature within Plex this week.
I'll try the Grey app. However, I'm not part of the paid beta if that matters.

The Plex version isn't very good right now.

bryansj is offline  
post #1995 of 1998 Old 06-05-2017, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I'll try the Grey app. However, I'm not part of the paid beta if that matters.

The Plex version isn't very good right now.
Changing channels real fast (up-down) on the live app often causes me some sort of error/failure that can't be recovered from without closing the app and reopening it. I don't experience that sort of error issue with the HDHR app.

I don't know if you can use the Grey app without paying for access.
psuKinger is offline  
post #1996 of 1998 Old 06-06-2017, 03:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Grey is still free to view, just no recording

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #1997 of 1998 Old 06-06-2017, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Changing channels real fast (up-down) on the live app often causes me some sort of error/failure that can't be recovered from without closing the app and reopening it. I don't experience that sort of error issue with the HDHR app.

I don't know if you can use the Grey app without paying for access.
I was having this experience while changing channels with the Android Live TV app. That is no longer the case. It also improved with Pluto TV feeds through the Live TV app.
groove93 is offline  
post #1998 of 1998 Old Today, 04:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 4,329
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1607 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
I got a pleasant surprise last night. After I installed the latest Plex server update I saw an orange notice banner across the top of the web UI. Plex found my Hauppauge 2250 PCIe tuner card and asked if I wanted to set it up for use with Plex DVR. I bought that card back in 2010. I didn't think they would bother supporting hardware that old.
Ken.F is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off