H3.SODD Fanless HTPC build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-23-2012, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

This is my build:









System config

Case: H3.SODD Fanless HTPC Chassis 248 USD
PSU: Industrial 80W AC-DC ATX Fanless Power Supply 58 USD
Motherboard: ZOTAC Z68ITX-A-E LGA 1155 Intel Z68 165USD
Processor: Intel Core i3-2100 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core 125USD
Memory: Kingston ValueRAM 4GB (2 x 2GB) KVR1333D3N9K2/4G 32 USD
HDD1 (System): OCZ Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III 105 USD
HDD2 (Data): Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 170USD
Drive: Lite-On DL-4ETS Bluray Combo Drive 78 USD
IR Receiver: Internal IR receiver with MCE Remote Control(RC6) 18 USD

Total: 999 USD (funny, isn't it)

A few considerations:

I wanted my system to:
- work as a HTPC
- act as a router for my small home network
- serve as a http server - light load only ofc
- be as silent as possible
- consume as little power as possible
- look nice and blend with my other stuff in the cabinet

I also considered that SATA III and USB 3.0 should be mandatory.

H3.SODD Fanless HTPC Chassis is a very nice case and it's TOTALLY SILENT. I mean I have to check the power light to see if the computer is on.
Beware that this case needs a little space around it to have a little bit of airflow. If you use it for HTPC/router purposes I highly recommend it.
Also it does have a USB 3.0 port on the front which is very good (and rare). Also it is very nice.
I would have bought the H3.S case (which is the same but without the slot loadind bluray) but it was not available.

ZOTAC Z68ITX-A-E LGA 1155 Intel Z68 is totally overkill for a HTPC build, but I need a motherboard with:
-two Gigabit ports (remember the router function)
-USB 3.0
-SATA III
-HDMI output
-miniITX form factor
-Sandy Bridge platform
The Zotac was the only one I could find.

Intel Core i3-2100 is also too much, but could not find in my area a 2100T in a reasonable amount of time. 2100T it's the same proc but restricted to 2.5Ghz max freq, hence 35W.

OCZ Vertex 3 is also totally overkill, because you can use the mSATA port of the ZOTAC for a smaller mSATA drive. But could not find one at the moment.
Anyway any SSD solution is too much, because this system will boot once and act as a router for a very long time. So the speed of the SSD is not used. After a while when I'll build my next
system I'll get rid of the OCZ and make a partition on the Western Digital for the Ubuntu system.

I bought the blu-ray drive only because of the case. IMHO I consider that bluray distribution will silently fade away.
Normally I would go with the H3.S case, but not available.

============================================================ ==
A few tests:

Operating system, Ubuntu 11.10 minimal & Xserver
All temperatures measurements at 24C ambient & WITH THE CASE IN THE CABINET AS IN THE PICTURE.
Power consumption measured at the wall.


- idle, Intel Core i3 2100 3.1Ghz ondemand (will scale down to 1.6Ghz), ------ 29W, 49°C
- xbmc 11.0 Eden beta1 - 1080p h264 hardware playback (vaapi & intel linux graphics) ---- 36W, 57°C
- prime95, 4 cores, blend test, 90 min run, Intel Core i3 2100 3.1Ghz, ondemand (will scale up to 3.1Ghz) ---- 70W, 86°C


As I mentioned all the tests are done with case in the cabine with a somewhat restricted airflow.
If I place the case on a table, in "open space" temps are:

- idle 43°C
- prime95 75°C

Regards,
Cristian
Kuky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-23-2012, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Nice build. Love that Case...was it a pre built system? A little cramped for my taste but overall looks awesome.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-23-2012, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfett View Post

Nice build. Love that Case...was it a pre built system? A little cramped for my taste but overall looks awesome.

Built it myself.
Yes, it's cramped SSD over the bluray drive is not officially suported by manufacturer, but doable, as in the picture
Kuky is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-12-2012, 01:46 PM
Member
 
jsketto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great build....im looking into using the same motherboard with similar specs all in a streamcom fc8 case......i was wondering how you are liking the performance when using XBMC (the main use for my build)...i was something insanely fast and silent....also, have you tried out the dual HDMI? can you use both at the same time at 1080p without killing the CPU?....thanks for your help

Streamcom Fanless FC5
Zotac Z68-ITX Wifi
Intel i3 2125
G Skill Sniper DDR3-2133 8 GB x2
Mushkin Chronos 60GB SSD
jsketto is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-12-2012, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XBMC performance is flawless, interface & playback.
Never tried dual HDMI, can't tell you about that.

Remember, unless you need something like two gigabit wired to the motherboard this Zotac is way overkill for this build.

BTW don't trust Streacom. They just shamelessly copied the case from HD-Plex. See this http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post21045307
Kuky is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-12-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,758
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Sweet build.

Nice SSD.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-23-2012, 02:46 PM
Member
 
jsketto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how did you set this up as a wireless router??

Streamcom Fanless FC5
Zotac Z68-ITX Wifi
Intel i3 2125
G Skill Sniper DDR3-2133 8 GB x2
Mushkin Chronos 60GB SSD
jsketto is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-23-2012, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wireless was removed, as in the picture.
No need for it It's routing to a separate AP

If u place the case in a cabinet it's not ideal for the antennas, anyway.
Kuky is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-23-2012, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Wow, gorgeous HTPC!
almostinsane is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-24-2012, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have a very similar set up. I have mine in a dual-"monitor" system, to a regular monitor and to a projector. I like it, just wish it was cheaper. I bought 8GB RAM for my system and am running Windows 7 64. The only problem I had was bad RAM that caused very infrequent random reboots. After I replaced the RAM, everything works great. Mine is situated on the top of a stack of equipment and is open to air, so it runs relatively cool.

I compare it to my Dell Zino, and I can hear the Dell from 15 feet way while sound is playing.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-24-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Wow, that case alone almost cost as much as my entire htpc!
StinDaWg is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-24-2012, 05:26 PM
Member
 
dnhrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't that bd drive have the eject button on the right side?
dnhrio is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 06-28-2012, 07:11 AM
Newbie
 
prabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The H3.SODD case's eject button is connected via USB and causes an eject via software--not a mechanical connection to the drive's eject button. The system works very well.
prabbit is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off