Cable in other rooms-live and recorded - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-24-2012, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm thinking about building an HTPC. I had one about 4 or 5 years ago but stopped using it when it was too much upkeep. XP gave me fits with never sleeping, the box used too much power, and there was no cable card product available.

Now i'm thinking about giving it another go. The fact that Ceton makes that cable card tuner is really making me think about ditching my cable box.

My question is this:

How do i get live and recorded shows to other rooms? I don't want to use xbox 360's as extenders. Can i jailbreak apple tv2 and use xbmc? I doubt DLNA works because of the live tv.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
GrantMeThePower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-24-2012, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:


How do i get live and recorded shows to other rooms? I don't want to use xbox 360's as extenders.

Well, that's pretty much your only choice at present.

Quote:


Can i jailbreak apple tv2 and use xbmc?

No.

Quote:


I doubt DLNA works because of the live tv.

It doesn't.
kapone is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-24-2012, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Speqtre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're not in a huge rush, wait until we see how the recently announced Ceton Echo extender turns out. Could be the solution many of us have been waiting for, and possibly more.
Speqtre is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-24-2012, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I see...what a bummer! haha. Thanks for your help guys. Yeah, I suppose I'm not in a rush so I'll wait to see what ceton puts out.

I wish i could use the xbox 360s but they are just too loud (even the slim) and they dont have sleep off settings. Those two make it useless for the bedroom.
GrantMeThePower is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off