Blu Ray playback in windows media player? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-24-2012, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NYTrojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen a few threads around here talking about using Windows Media player to play Blu Ray Discs. I am well aware of the whole "Windows doesn't support Blu Ray" thing and Cyberlink's software (the stuff that came with my Blu Ray drive) doesn't always work for me. I have trouble playing certain discs using it.

How are you guys getting Media player to play these discs? Is there a plugin I can buy somewhere?

Thanks!
NYTrojan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
jamawass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Carolinas
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYTrojan View Post

I've seen a few threads around here talking about using Windows Media player to play Blu Ray Discs. I am well aware of the whole "Windows doesn't support Blu Ray" thing and Cyberlink's software (the stuff that came with my Blu Ray drive) doesn't always work for me. I have trouble playing certain discs using it.

How are you guys getting Media player to play these discs? Is there a plugin I can buy somewhere?

Thanks!

I use Total Media Theater 5 which is fully integrated with Windows media Center. I don't think any 3rd party software will play Blu Ray through WM player..
jamawass is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 206
you would need a program that breaks the copy protection on the discs. after you do that, you can navigate through the disc folder structure to the largest file on the disc. Windows should be able to play that, possibly needing codecs and/or filters.

there is no way media player or media center can navigate through bluray disc menus. the only pieces of software that could do that are purpose written bluray playback software.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #4 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

you would need a program that breaks the copy protection on the discs. after you do that, you can navigate through the disc folder structure to the largest file on the disc. Windows should be able to play that, possibly needing codecs and/or filters.

Except some to a lot of Blu-rays use seamless branching and thus you can't just play the largest file because the movie is made up of may different m2ts files.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stanger89 is online now  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
jamawass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Carolinas
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

y

there is no way media player or media center can navigate through bluray disc menus. the only pieces of software that could do that are purpose written bluray playback software.

TMT5 does this easily within media center, download the demo and see for yourself.
jamawass is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Playing back BD (physical disc or mounted image) with Windows Media Player is no problem. Of course you have to remove AACS protection by AnyDVD HD (in real-time or at the time of ripping), and you have to use Windows Explorer to navigate through the disc and find "index.bdmv" in BDMV folder (or use WMC+Media Browser that recognizes BD structure [read this post]).

- Install LAV Filter (precisely speaking, you need only LAV Source Splitter filter 32-bit or 64-bit depending on WMP 32-bit or 64-bit)
- Use Win7DSFilterTweaker to tweak video decoder.
- Associate .bdmv with WMP

Using MPC HomeCinema is smarter in that it recognizes BD structure and finds index.bdmv automatically ("Open DVD..."), tweaking filters is easier and you can use even madVR.

Seamless branching is no problem (with WMP, MPC HomeCinema or whatever DirectShow player that can use LAV Splitter Source). The only case that could cause a problem is that there are multiple main titles ("episodes") because the full menu is not supported yet.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
bjterry62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England USA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm always amazed how people will waste hours and hours of their time to save a measly $100 on TMT. And PDVD11 is currently $60!!

BT

Just remember, to the MPAA "We're all guilty until..............."
bjterry62 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 06:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjterry62 View Post

hours and hours

Actually it is as easy as TMT/PDVD to set up a free media player, with proper knowledge.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-25-2012, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
bjterry62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England USA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Actually it is as easy as TMT/PDVD to set up a free media player, with proper knowledge.

Somehow I feel I should be offended by that, but I'm just too tired.

BT

Just remember, to the MPAA "We're all guilty until..............."
bjterry62 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-26-2012, 05:13 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjterry62 View Post

I'm always amazed how people will waste hours and hours of their time to save a measly $100 on TMT. And PDVD11 is currently $60!!

BT

TMT5 is only $100 if you do not stop in and search the TMT5 thread for coupon codes and snag the most recent dated one...or use the 404 code listed in the thread. TMT5 is always on sale for AVSForum readers.
cybrsage is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 01-26-2012, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamawass View Post

TMT5 does this easily within media center, download the demo and see for yourself.

oh this is how I do it too, but it's not really media center playing it. Its TMT5 in a custom skin to look like media center. still the best way (in my opinion) to get an integrated experience with it. and they haven't taken away hd-dvd playback yet (they're only a buck or two each on amazon!).

i was under the impression op was referring to trying to play the disc without purchasing extra software.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #12 of 20 Old 01-28-2012, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NYTrojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

oh this is how I do it too, but it's not really media center playing it. Its TMT5 in a custom skin to look like media center. still the best way (in my opinion) to get an integrated experience with it. and they haven't taken away hd-dvd playback yet (they're only a buck or two each on amazon!).

i was under the impression op was referring to trying to play the disc without purchasing extra software.

Yeah the goal was to be able to install some kind of plugin so that I could just drop a Blu Ray disc in and let it start playing, preferably in something like XMBC or BOXEE.

Does TMT5 typically work better than PDVD? I've had so much trouble getting PDVD to play my discs.
NYTrojan is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-28-2012, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYTrojan View Post

Yeah the goal was to be able to install some kind of plugin so that I could just drop a Blu Ray disc in and let it start playing, preferably in something like XMBC or BOXEE.

Does TMT5 typically work better than PDVD? I've had so much trouble getting PDVD to play my discs.

Both TMT5 and PDVD have their set of problems...

You either spend time tweaking WMC + LAV or spend time on the TMT5 / PDVD forum looking for solutions... one thing or the other is always wrong...

In my case, I simply rip to MKV keeping original quality intact and playback in MPC-HC +LAV + MadVR...
That takes some time too...
balky is online now  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-29-2012, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by balky View Post

Both TMT5 and PDVD have their set of problems...

You either spend time tweaking WMC + LAV or spend time on the TMT5 / PDVD forum looking for solutions... one thing or the other is always wrong...

In my case, I simply rip to MKV keeping original quality intact and playback in MPC-HC +LAV + MadVR...
That takes some time too...

This is what i ended up doing too. Still not done converting everything (It does take a LOT of time) but 390 and counting and loving the MKV container!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
damelon is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-29-2012, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

This is what i ended up doing too. Still not done converting everything (It does take a LOT of time) but 390 and counting and loving the MKV container!

With LAV Splitter with MPC-HC , you could also read the .mlps playlist and playback directly without ripping.
Problem is finding the right one

JRiver mediacenter automates this to some extent . it is a paid app and is a nice and less bloated alternative TMT/PDVD

No BD menus in either case.
Tong Chia is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 01-29-2012, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Save yourself the hassle/headache and just use a standalone blu ray player.
JustaSheep likes this.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 01-29-2012, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfett View Post

Save yourself the hassle/headache and just use a standalone blu ray player.

+1

Picked up a Panny 110 for circa $100. It's wired to the house ethernet so accessable with any smart TV. I can also control it using a free app on my Itouch from any room.

I realize there are others who can get BR to play for them on their HTPC. As the HTPC is just one of the components in the entertainment center, adding this panny worked for me. Just another way to skin the cat.
tomandbeth is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 12-24-2013, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
berserke77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Windows Media Player do not support to play Blu-ray disc because the protection.You need to download the Blu-ray Player or an third-Party conversion software to rip it the supported format of Windows Media Player

berserke77 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 12-24-2013, 06:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by berserke77 View Post

Windows Media Player do not support to play Blu-ray disc because the protection.You need to download the Blu-ray Player or an third-Party conversion software to rip it the supported format of Windows Media Player

Don't know if you noticed but you bumped a thread that was almost 2 years old.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 05-26-2014, 12:52 PM
Member
 
hushdrops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's ok I think that they bumped an older thread as to this day , this is still a major issue - Win7 playing back pressed BD movies. May 2014 and still no free / easy solution :-)
hushdrops is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off