Options for Simultaneous Dual HDMI Output? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I have been looking into this option for a specific client but what are some options I may have not thought of with dual HDMI output simultaneously?

Please list. Thanks in advance...
assassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I have been looking into this option for a specific client but what are some options I may have not thought of with dual HDMI output simultaneously?

Please list. Thanks in advance...

Not sure what your asking...

But I run dual HDMI in my house.

My PC can display on a 55" plasma in living room, 100" projector in bedroom, or my PC monitor. It can do all three same time... with HD audio.


What do you need to know?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 03:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
You can buy a simple HDMI splitter. They work wonderful. I have one, as does my father in his system.

I run the HDMI from my PC to my Onkyo receiver. It runs full HD audio and 1080p video easily and flawless. The output from my receiver goes to a splitter and then to a projector and a plasma tv.

But- There is many video cards that will do dual outputs also- So you can go that route too.

I find it easier to go from PC in one room- to home theater receiver in the other with a single HDMI cable that carries all video and audio.

Then from the receiver I go to the projector and tv. I basically do this so I can watch Blu ray, HTPC, TIVO HD, or whatever else is connected to the Onkyo. It acts like a switch for which component I want to watch. Very simple.

In my dad's we did same thing- he has the Denon 3312 I think- and it actually had two HDMI outputs. That works well too. Previously we used a splitter to run both his projector and plasma in living room.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #4 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I know the splitter option.

Trying to see what other options there are and specifically if anyone has any experience with a specific dual HDMI card.

Also anyone ever used 2 discrete cards?

What about running different resolutions on 2 different HDTVs?
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I know the splitter option.

Trying to see what other options there are and specifically if anyone has any experience with a specific dual HDMI card.

Also anyone ever used 2 discrete cards?

What about running different resolutions on 2 different HDTVs?

I have dual 6870's in my new PC, and it can do dual resolutions if needed.

I just run the same resolution since my projector and plasma are both a bit older now and only do 720p.

But my 27" Samsung PC monitor runs 1200x1920 and it can run as the same time over DVI.

Hope that helps.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #6 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
You could probably run dual $50 video cards for two HDMI outputs. Might want to ask a video card mfg tech support via email before you buy to confirm it will work with full HDaudio and dual resolutions- if that is what your trying to do.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #7 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 03:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812500001

ZOTAC Displayport to Dual HDMI Adapter Model ZT-DP2HD


-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 04:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I know the splitter option.

Trying to see what other options there are and specifically if anyone has any experience with a specific dual HDMI card.

Also anyone ever used 2 discrete cards?

What about running different resolutions on 2 different HDTVs?

All the time. I haven't tried but Renethx has stated running TMT in clone hasn't been an issue.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #9 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I am thinking about dual nvidia 430, 440 or 450 depending on the length that will got in the case.
assassin is offline  
post #10 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I am thinking about dual nvidia 430, 440 or 450 depending on the length that will got in the case.

I usually go AMD ... Better value and gaming performance. But for home theater Nvidia drivers are probably a bit more solid.

I would imagine any dual set up would work fine... you don't need more power for simple HTPC use. Two cards is already overkill, even if your getting lower end cards.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #11 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Two cards is already overkill, even if your getting lower end cards.

I can't wait to show you all this thing. Its going to be purposefully ridiculous. In a very good way.
assassin is offline  
post #12 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I can't wait to show you all this thing. Its going to be purposefully ridiculous. In a very good way.

Sweet. I would love to see.

Post some pics.

I will complete my new build this weekend also. I might put up a thread. No one has ever built a HTPC like this before... My build is also purposefully ridiculous.

In life... sometimes EXCESS wins !

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #13 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I can't wait to show you all this thing. Its going to be purposefully ridiculous. In a very good way.

What other hardware are you using? Making this for a client?
What's the budget?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #14 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

What other hardware are you using? Making this for a client?
What's the budget?

1. TBA
2. Yes
3. Can't disclose

I will give you a spoiler in that this is the case that we are using...

assassin is offline  
post #15 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
BTW I decided to go with a NVidia 560 Ti. Thanks for the input as I have been looking at all my options for the past few hours. Our motherboard also has integrated dual HDMI outs.

I guess that's a little more spoilage.
assassin is offline  
post #16 of 143 Old 01-26-2012, 09:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
BTW here is the case sitting in our shop ready to go.

Just have to wait on the arrival of the parts.

Sorry about the crappy cell phone pic. We should have some pictures and maybe even video of this build once complete.

Can't wait.

assassin is offline  
post #17 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 07:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
how much does that case run???

It looks super sweet !!!!

I can't wait to see and learn more. Very cool.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #18 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

how much does that case run???

It looks super sweet !!!!

I can't wait to see and learn more. Very cool.

http://www.shop.perfecthometheater.c...1T-IR310-B.htm
assassin is offline  
post #19 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Lol.

I thought my pc case was expensive @$350.

That pc the case costs more than 90% of the entire HTPC's that owners in this forum have.

When will this pc be built? I can't wait to see the rest of the parts and set up

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #20 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yup that case alone is more than the total cost of the all of the htpcs I've recently built. Looks like it is going to be a sweet setup though.
utee05 is online now  
post #21 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 03:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Assassin,

What exactly do you need to do with this HTPC?

Shoot one resolution to a projector and another to a TV?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #22 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Assassin,

What exactly do you need to do with this HTPC?

Shoot one resolution to a projector and another to a TV?

Customer wants dual hdmi.
assassin is offline  
post #23 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Customer wants dual hdmi.

For what?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #24 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

For what?

I am assuming to have the option of a second display in the future. Right now he "just" has a 80" Sharp LED HDTV.
assassin is offline  
post #25 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 03:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I am assuming to have the option of a second display in the future. Right now he "just" has a 80" Sharp LED HDTV.

There is other ways to do that without needing dual HDMI.

My PC displays on a plasma, projector and monitor.... all in different rooms and I only have a single HDMI out.

Usually you run it to a surround receiver for audio reasons anyhow. In his class of stuff I would imagine his A/V receiver has multiple HDMI outs.

Any $1000+ receiver now has this.

Seems redundant.

Even if I had 4 HDMI outs on my PC I would use one... and go to the receiver - then branch off from that output to the displays.

Does he want to run total 7.1 audio and video in multiple locations at the same time? Like two systems?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #26 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

There is other ways to do that without needing dual HDMI.

My PC displays on a plasma, projector and monitor.... all in different rooms and I only have a single HDMI out.

Usually you run it to a surround receiver for audio reasons anyhow. In his class of stuff I would imagine his A/V receiver has multiple HDMI outs.

Any $1000+ receiver now has this.

Seems redundant.

Even if I had 4 HDMI outs on my PC I would use one... and go to the receiver - then branch off from that output to the displays.

Does he want to run total 7.1 audio and video in multiple locations at the same time? Like two systems?

He doesn't have any specific needs now. Just wants lots of options for the future. He will have that.
assassin is offline  
post #27 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

He doesn't have any specific needs now. Just wants lots of options for the future. He will have that.

at any rate it looks like he will have one kick ass PC.

What CPU are you using ?

(I am going to laugh if it's LGA2011)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #28 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

at any rate it looks like he will have one kick ass PC.

What CPU are you using ?

(I am going to laugh if it's LGA2011)

i7 LGA1155 of course.

512GB Crucial SSD

16GB RAM (Not even I could justify the wasted cost of 32GB)

Custom CPU cooler and fans.

Seasonic X-Series 750-850 watt PSU

Lite-On Bluray burner

We are looking for two 4TB hard drives. If anyone in the US knows where to get them please send me a PM.
assassin is offline  
post #29 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 04:55 PM
Member
 
T0R0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm wrestling with a similar situation and have yet to nail it all down.
My equipment: HD5870
Silverstone Cw-03 (7inch vga lcd) connected thru dvi/vga adapter. Elite 101fd plasma connected thru hdmi . HP L2335 connected thru active display adapter/displayport. Pioneer sc-37 AVR

the main viewing area contains all the equipment except for the hp screen which is on the other side of wall of all the equip (different room). Cable lengths are short. Also have a wired mouse/keyboard running thru wall. Ideally I want to game/work in small room and htpc,light gaming in main viewing room using my 1 pc.

I am having issues tho. I never use all 3 at the same time. I love my case but in hindsight wasn't the smartest move I've made. All it is, is eye candy. Doesn't get used at all. It also makes multi-monitor setup a pain. Windows keeps juggling my monitors, hdcp issues and now unless i disable the hp monitor, live tv doesn't work in 7mc. And this just started happening yesterday, if I turn off the plasma, my hp goes to sleep......wtf.....

Anyway I'd be interested on how this all works out.
You guys think an hdmi splitter will work out better than using the displayport for HP monitor (since these 2 screens,plasma and HP, will always be duplicated)
T0R0 is offline  
post #30 of 143 Old 01-27-2012, 05:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,144
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post


We are looking for two 4TB hard drives. If anyone in the US knows where to get them please send me a PM.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145563

Does this not count?

honestly- $800 is heavy for 8TB. That is $100 a TB. I would rather Hardware Raid0 4x2TB's or 3x3TB's.

The price is about the same. The performance would not be the same. It would be superior. Once those drives fill up they get slow.

How about this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145472

Not as energy efficient- but faster. You can RAID this better than the 5400rpm variety. Two would be 6TB and 3 would be 9TB.

For $300 X 3 = $900. Still $100 a TB.


Does the motherboard have RAID by Z68 ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off