Caller ID Notification Working on X64 and in WMC - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 94 Old 03-12-2013, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok I've been reading this whole thread but have a couple of questions still (and trying to increase the WAF of the HTPC)

I currently have a Comcast provided modem that handles my internet connection but also my regular phone (VOIP). My HTPC is hardwired into the modem but does not have its own dedicated one. If I download the trial version, will this allow me to see incoming calls in WMC just like I would if watching TV through the Cable box?

I know, some dumb questions but just need someone to point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K EX4420, B&K TX4430, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 94 Old 03-12-2013, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
You need a USB modem that supports caller ID to use the caller ID functionality. Mine hangs off my Vonage module but for the Comcast VOIP it would be the same. In from the Comcast VOIP (the telephone line), out to wherever it goes now + USB cable to wherever you're running the W7CallerId. For me, I have it USB connected to my WHS2011 server with W7CallerId server running.

There's docs and examples on the site. E.g.: http://w7callerid.com/configuration-samples.aspx

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #93 of 94 Old 07-05-2013, 08:26 PM
Member
 
sberghici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for CID compatible modem?
10$ USB 56k V90 FAX V.92 Conexant 93010 External MODEM for Windows 7 and 8!

- Works in UK and North America:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-56k-V90-FAX-V-92-Conexant93010-External-MODEM-/230626427751





http://www.w7callerid.com/looking-for-cid-compatible-modem.aspx
sberghici is offline  
post #94 of 94 Old 07-12-2013, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
having some problems with this......have a USB modem installed with upto date drivers. In the settings screen, my modem is detected. Followed the setup guidelines, Windows firewall is allowing access to internet. When I test my modem is says AT+VCID=1 OK......I test it by calling from my cell phone and can see it say RING but no other info is displayed. And I don't even get a POP UP on the desktop or WMC.......frustrated!

Need some help......

Service provider is Comcast and I have plugged the phone cable into the VOIP modem as well as a jack by my HTPC - still get the same result.

Anyone have any suggestons? Should be simple, never thought this would take ALL day long to figure out.

Thanks,
Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K EX4420, B&K TX4430, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off