Caller ID Notification Working on X64 and in WMC - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Caller ID Notification Working on X64 and in WMC

Home Theater Computers

ckensto's Avatar ckensto
07:20 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 148
Joined: Jul 2008
I have posted before for help on this topic and nothing worked to give me Caller ID notification in WMC7 on my X64 system. I tried YAC including the Babgvant mods, Vista CallerID, TapiRex etc.. Despite repeated tries, registry tweaks etc. Nada. The Caller ID servers always worked in windows but never in WMC even though the addin/pluggin was installed, registered and visible in Extras, the notification poppups never worked in WMC.

But a new Caller ID package W7CallerID and their WMC plugin was recently released and it works! Finally! The last thing off the list to get WAF on the HTPC. With this and the new HDHR Prime firmware. WAF achieved at least for the HTPC. Goodbye Verizon boxes! Although I have yet to try on the Xboxes

W7CallerID is free trial and there is no indication what it might cost later....?
C17chief's Avatar C17chief
07:33 AM Liked: 20
post #2 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 305
Joined: May 2004
With the prevelence of cell phones with blutooth as well as hands free devices, I'm surprised a blutooth on screen caller id solution isnt readily available. Seems like that would be just as usefull if not more so these days.
ckensto's Avatar ckensto
07:44 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 148
Joined: Jul 2008
I agree but I guess we HTPCers are actually a small niche market.

Update W7callerID will be $11.95. That's reasonable I think particularly since setup was easy.
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
10:35 AM Liked: 148
post #4 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
This is something I've been looking for, thanks for the information.

Looking at the setup guide on the site, all the pictures but the first are broken. tI looks like there's a client, MCE plugin and server piece for download. I wonder if the server piece will run on Windows Home Server 2011. It's not clear if the client and MCE plugin both need to be installed on the MCE client or not.

I might try fooling around with it if I can get a cheap modem.

Since the OP didn't include a link: http://w7callerid.com/
ckensto's Avatar ckensto
12:19 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 148
Joined: Jul 2008
The developer person has been very responsive by E-mail. Use his support link or E-mail for questions.. The web site has been evolving.

I have a single HTPC with 3 Xbox extenders so I only use server and MCE plugin, but I think you will need the client and MCE plugin on the MCE client machines (I guess I was wrong, see below).

I used this Ebay external USB modem and it worked.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-56K-Exte...item43ab2627fd

The cheap Rosewill PCI modem wouldn't go on my Mobo PCIe slots.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
12:30 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
If modem is installed on MCE you have to install server and MCE plugin. In other case only MCE plugin required. I did not test server under 'Windows Home Server 2011' but I do not see any problem if .NET 4 has been installed.
ckensto's Avatar ckensto
07:37 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 94
01-30-2012 | Posts: 148
Joined: Jul 2008
As expected, the W7CallerID works well on the Xbox media extenders as well. Easy to add pics with callers etc. I wish I had found this a couple months ago.
valcot's Avatar valcot
10:32 AM Liked: 10
post #8 of 94
01-31-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2012
Does this work in europe?
ckensto's Avatar ckensto
02:55 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 94
01-31-2012 | Posts: 148
Joined: Jul 2008
Not sure. E-mail support@w7callerid.com . They have been very responsive. You can try it for free to see as well. Their setup guide pics seem to be dead on their website now though.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
06:58 AM Liked: 10
post #10 of 94
02-01-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
I do not know, it looks like nobody tried it in Europe yet. I guess it should work if your modem supports caller id and you have the service from your telephone company. Regarding the pics - I tried from 2 different networks using different browsers and computers and had no problem.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
06:54 AM Liked: 10
post #11 of 94
02-02-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
I've added "Configuration Samples" page with 2 diagrams:

Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

This is something I've been looking for, thanks for the information.

Looking at the setup guide on the site, all the pictures but the first are broken. tI looks like there's a client, MCE plugin and server piece for download. I wonder if the server piece will run on Windows Home Server 2011. It's not clear if the client and MCE plugin both need to be installed on the MCE client or not.

I might try fooling around with it if I can get a cheap modem.


sberghici's Avatar sberghici
06:56 AM Liked: 10
post #12 of 94
02-02-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sberghici View Post

I've added "Configuration Samples" page with 2 diagrams:

http://w7callerid.com/configuration-samples.aspx
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
11:37 PM Liked: 10
post #13 of 94
02-07-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
Version 2.0 has been released. Here are the added updates.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
05:00 PM Liked: 10
post #14 of 94
02-16-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
Version 2.0 has been released. Here are the added updates.

- Added import of contacts from Google and Outlook.
- The number of supported remote computers is increased to 8.
- The number of supported MCE extenders is increased to 5.
- Fixed issue with the program's popup window not always showing up on screen if blocked by another window.
- Added sorting of callers by phone number and by name.
- A double click on the Logs row will open a new Caller window.
- Limited support of Bluetooth (unfortunately not all cellphones support the Bluetooth modem).


scoyne88's Avatar scoyne88
07:51 PM Liked: 10
post #15 of 94
02-16-2012 | Posts: 235
Joined: Oct 2005
Very interested in this, hopefully the bluetooth portion will be expanded. I would love to be able to connect multiple bluetooth phones.
tawd1992's Avatar tawd1992
10:00 PM Liked: 12
post #16 of 94
02-16-2012 | Posts: 197
Joined: Apr 2007
sberghici,

Could you clarify the difference between the free & paid versions? Is the free version only a trial offer? Thanks.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
09:40 AM Liked: 10
post #17 of 94
02-17-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
tawd1992,

It's not free - 30 days free trial
ckensto's Avatar ckensto
05:06 PM Liked: 10
post #18 of 94
02-17-2012 | Posts: 148
Joined: Jul 2008
Do you have to first uninstall the "old" version to install the new one?
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
09:32 PM Liked: 10
post #19 of 94
02-17-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckensto View Post

Do you have to first uninstall the "old" version to install the new one?

Yes, but do not worry about the database - installer does not touch it
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
09:53 PM Liked: 148
post #20 of 94
02-17-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
I tried this in a 2 PC configuration tonight. I have a server with MCE plugin on 1 machine. I also have an MCE plugin on another machine. I get notifications on the machine with the server running no problem. I tried later with the remote machine and no notifications there. I did netstat -a and see it is listening on 8000 so I am not sure why it's not coming up. The only messages I see in the server log are errors connecting to 127.0.0.1:8000, likely because MCE was not running on the server machine. No issues with setup I can see -- I have localhost and the name of the remote machine listed. I can ping the remote machine no problem from the server machine.

Other than that, not sure how to debug this.

It'd be great if on the server side there was a way to "fake" a phone call like I've seen in other similar apps like this I've tried. It helps with setting up w/o having to call the phone.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
07:53 AM Liked: 10
post #21 of 94
02-18-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
1. Try to turn off firewall on both computers
2. Check if your router has any port blocking
tawd1992's Avatar tawd1992
10:26 AM Liked: 12
post #22 of 94
02-19-2012 | Posts: 197
Joined: Apr 2007
I had the same problem where the notifications on the server worked fine, but I got nothing on the client. Try downloading the newest W7callerid server & MCE plugin software, that fixed it for me.
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
01:06 PM Liked: 148
post #23 of 94
02-19-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
It's working now. I've ordered the recommended USB modem for my server and I am going to give the server a try on WHS2011. I'll report back what I find.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
06:59 PM Liked: 10
post #24 of 94
02-19-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
I've fixed some problems reported by users with Gmail and network security. Please download and reinstall server, mce plugin and client. Sorry for inconvenience.
gonzo90017's Avatar gonzo90017
12:19 AM Liked: 17
post #25 of 94
02-20-2012 | Posts: 436
Joined: Apr 2006
Any idea if this would work with Ooma?
juspifool's Avatar juspifool
01:04 PM Liked: 10
post #26 of 94
02-20-2012 | Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post

Any idea if this would work with Ooma?

Also interested in this.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
03:31 PM Liked: 10
post #27 of 94
02-20-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
Yes it works with ooma:
http://www.w7callerid.com/v-10-released.aspx
tawd1992's Avatar tawd1992
05:56 AM Liked: 12
post #28 of 94
02-24-2012 | Posts: 197
Joined: Apr 2007
For anyone that's looking to add Caller ID to your HTPC the Hiro H50158 low profile PCI modem works well. I had a hard time finding anything low profile with Caller ID so hopefully this will save someone some time who's looking for a modem.
sberghici's Avatar sberghici
02:39 PM Liked: 10
post #29 of 94
02-24-2012 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tawd1992 View Post

For anyone that's looking to add Caller ID to your HTPC the Hiro H50158 low profile PCI modem works well.

Thanks! Have you tested "Drop call/is blocked" functionality?
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
02:45 PM Liked: 148
post #30 of 94
02-24-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
I have the W7CallerId server working with WHS2011 with W7 MCE and PC clients. It took some manual tweaking of the WHS2011 firewall to get things working. I had to add the W7CalledID server as an allowed program and then open TCP ports 8000 and 8010 (inbound & outbound) I also opened TCP ports 8000 and 8010 on all my clients (inbound & outbound).

Popup, caller id and drop functionality all work. I am using the USB Hiro modem recommended on the W7CallerID website.

Kudos sberghici.

Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3