*Official* PowerDVD 12 Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

WOA!!!!!!! They added bitstreaming HD audio to MKV playback. Well that's impressive. Granted, another company has already added that feature a while ago, but, still it's an improvement.

PGS in MKV is still missing though Once that is put in (along with forced subs support), it becomes a very good solution for playing all Blu-ray backups.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

WOA!!!!!!! They added bitstreaming HD audio to MKV playback. Well that's impressive. Granted, another company has already added that feature a while ago, but, still it's an improvement.

They're getting there, but still a long way to go for proper file support.
babgvant is offline  
post #33 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Sure but it looks like pdvd11 used to let you drop a blu-ray folder on the ui. Pdvd12 still lets you drop a DVD folder on the ui but not a blu-ray folder. Seems like a bug to me.

I'm pretty sure this was an intentional design change.
babgvant is offline  
post #34 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

PGS in MKV is still missing though Once that is put in (along with forced subs support), it becomes a very good solution for playing all Blu-ray backups.

Audio stream selection in MKV is a must as well.
babgvant is offline  
post #35 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

The beta I had still doesn't remember that setting though

The release does. I'm actually genuinely surprised and pleased that it's fixed. I truly thought they'd never get around to fixing it.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #36 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Audio stream selection in MKV is a must as well.

On that topic, multiple angles in MKV aren't supported either :| Btw, does MakeMKV include director commentary as a second angle in the MKV? I know that the M2TS in that case has two video tracks...

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #37 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

I'm pretty sure this was an intentional design change.

So the question is, will they "fix" it by removing Blu-ray folder playback altogether or fix the bug that displays a message that folder playback isn't supported at all? Cause either way you look at it, there's a bug.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #38 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

The release does. I'm actually genuinely surprised and pleased that it's fixed. I truly thought they'd never get around to fixing it.

That's awesome! Going to have to get a copy now and try it out
babgvant is offline  
post #39 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Audio stream selection in MKV is a must as well.

Hey, I never said it was perfect. I agree with both of you. PGS subs, stream selection, etc...all that needs to be added for it to be completely useful. Plus an HD DVD conversion to MKV with VC-1 doesn't seem too happy. The video stutters terribly. I suspect it's because the pulldown wasn't removed. So, an improvement, sure, but, not quite utopia just yet.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #40 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

That's awesome! Going to have to get a copy now and try it out

Yea, like I said, very surprised as that was one of the first things I checked. I didn't even have a blu-ray loaded in the drive and I saw the option for non-decoded HD audio. Not too shabby.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #41 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

So the question is, will they "fix" it by removing Blu-ray folder playback altogether or fix the bug that displays a message that folder playback isn't supported at all? Cause either way you look at it, there's a bug.

Probably not the first one. When I couldn't figure out how to play BDMV on the beta they told me the "right" way to do it with 12.
babgvant is offline  
post #42 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Probably not the first one. When I couldn't figure out how to play BDMV on the beta they told me the "right" way to do it with 12.

Fair enough. Just consider me gun shy when we see messages popping up that folder playback isn't supported at all. If they don't want to support drag and drop of BDMV's, fine, but pop up a message telling them the proper way to do it not a "sorry, you're screwed now go away" message.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #43 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Yea, like I said, very surprised as that was one of the first things I checked. I didn't even have a blu-ray loaded in the drive and I saw the option for non-decoded HD audio. Not too shabby.

Ok, just tested it with a newer build (not sure if it's retail) and the issue I was talking about still exists.

Repro:

1) select HBR bit streaming
2) play a BD
3) play a DVD (PCM output, change to bit stream)
4) play a BD (regular bit streaming)
babgvant is offline  
post #44 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

The release does. I'm actually genuinely surprised and pleased that it's fixed. I truly thought they'd never get around to fixing it.

Holy cow, did Hell freeze over? That's my biggest nuisance gripe about pdvd11: it couldn't remember that you wanted to bitstream the audio as you switched between playing BD, DVD, BD, DVD, etc. I guess we can conclusively determine that Hell froze over if they also fix this bug in pdvd11, or if CL gives me an extremely discounted rate on upgrading to pdvd12.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #45 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Ok, just tested it with a newer build (not sure if it's retail) and the issue I was talking about still exists.

Repro:

1) select HBR bit streaming
2) play a BD
3) play a DVD (PCM output, change to bit stream)
4) play a BD (regular bit streaming)

Ok, I'll meet you half way....without a blu-ray being loaded, can you go back and reset the non-decoded HD audio setting in the options? I haven't tested DVD playback yet, but, if it's resetting the audio setting then it's only half fixed. Still, being able to set it back without having to play a blu-ray first is an improvement.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #46 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post

Holy cow, did Hell freeze over? That's my biggest nuisance gripe about pdvd11: it couldn't remember that you wanted to bitstream the audio as you switched between playing BD, DVD, BD, DVD, etc. I guess we can conclusively determine that Hell froze over if they also fix this bug in pdvd11, or if CL gives me an extremely discounted rate on upgrading to pdvd12.

I'd see babgvant's post. It looks like it still resets the setting, but, my experience is that it at least allows you to set it back easier.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #47 of 265 Old 02-01-2012, 08:33 PM
Member
 
kjoy064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have to say i'm a little pissed, upgraded from 10 to 11 on Saturday and now 12 comes out... arrrhhhhhh
Customer support logged, wait for the outcome.
kjoy064 is offline  
post #48 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Kincaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjoy064 View Post

I do have to say i'm a little pissed, upgraded from 10 to 11 on Saturday and now 12 comes out... arrrhhhhhh
Customer support logged, wait for the outcome.

Good luck. CyberLink customer support is up there with some of the worst I've seen.
Kincaid is offline  
post #49 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Speqtre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I bought the upgrade from 9 to 10, 11 came out within two weeks. Although it took them a bit, they did send me a free key for 11 after I contacted CS.

That is the only good thing I can say about Cyberlink...
Speqtre is offline  
post #50 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcfer View Post

I wonder if there is a tweak to get 23.976 fps? I remember for TMT 5 there was an .ini file line added ( Refresh23HZ=1) to make it work.

"Andrew @ MissingRemote indicated that it locked on to 24 Hz for a 23.976 fps movie."

Anyone know how to have Powerdvd 12 switch to 23.976 instead of 24 fps?
rickcfer is offline  
post #51 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcfer View Post

"Andrew @ MissingRemote indicated that it locked on to 24 Hz for a 23.976 fps movie."

Anyone know how to have Powerdvd 12 switch to 23.976 instead of 24 fps?

Asked about it, haven't heard anything back yet.
babgvant is offline  
post #52 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Asked about it, haven't heard anything back yet.

you might have to get pretty specific with them. hdtv's will show both 24 fps and 23.976 as 24p in the OSD. also no video card that i know of shows the digits 23.976. it will either say 23 or 24
mcantu1 is offline  
post #53 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
You guys pay for playback software?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #54 of 265 Old 02-02-2012, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can't, or at least haven't yet, see any reason to upgrade from 11. I already have a very good refresh rate changer and get HD audio no problem. Am I missing something?
JMGNYC is online now  
post #55 of 265 Old 02-04-2012, 01:13 AM
Senior Member
 
omholt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wish another company could make a player. A company that actually listens to the customers and don't come up with new versions that work worse then the previous.
The support from Cyberlink is really bad. There should be a market for someone who understands service, support and the customers desires. Neither WinDVD or Arcsoft are there in my opinion.

Hmmm. Should I just buy myself a Blu-ray player?
omholt is offline  
post #56 of 265 Old 02-04-2012, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by omholt View Post


Hmmm. Should I just buy myself a Blu-ray player?

I have both software players and an Oppo 93. I only use the software players during the hours that I must listen through headphones because of the hour. A hardware BD player is much better than any software player IMHO and I wouldn't do without it.
Theresa is offline  
post #57 of 265 Old 02-04-2012, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theresa View Post

I have both software players and an Oppo 93. I only use the software players during the hours that I must listen through headphones because of the hour. A hardware BD player is much better than any software player IMHO and I wouldn't do without it.

Never bought and will never buy a standalone player...
balky is offline  
post #58 of 265 Old 02-04-2012, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by balky View Post

Never bought and will never buy a standalone player...

That's your right.
Theresa is offline  
post #59 of 265 Old 02-04-2012, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've had so many problems over the years with PC playback of BDs, unrecognized discs, incorrect audio, stuttering, crashes, that I finally gave up an bough a stand alone player. At one point I went through 3 straight movies from Netflix that my PC wouldn't even recognize as being in the drive, never mind playing back.

Not only do I not have to worry about each and every movie playing back correctly but my BD player provides far superior UIs and streaming PQ for Netflix, Vudu, Hulu+, and Amazon. So, I think it was a very worthwhile add-on to my HTPC.
JMGNYC is online now  
post #60 of 265 Old 02-04-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

I've had so many problems over the years with PC playback of BDs, unrecognized discs, incorrect audio, stuttering, crashes, that I finally gave up an bough a stand alone player. At one point I went through 3 straight movies from Netflix that my PC wouldn't even recognize as being in the drive, never mind playing back.

Not only do I not have to worry about each and every movie playing back correctly but my BD player provides far superior UIs and streaming PQ for Netflix, Vudu, Hulu+, and Amazon. So, I think it was a very worthwhile add-on to my HTPC.

Me too.
Theresa is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off