*Official* PowerDVD 12 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cl76 View Post

I gotta say I'm kind of relieved that there are others here that have resorted to buying a separate standalone BD player. Well, relieved that I'm not the only one, but pissed off at Cyberlink.

I bought PowerDVD 8 and it played Blu-rays fine for a while. The only reason I decided on building a HTPC with a BD-ROM was so I didn't have to buy a PS3 or a standalone player. Now Cyberlink has cut support for PowerDVD 8 and is forcing me to pay $45 for an upgrade just so I can play the newer discs. I feel totally gypped. And I imagine they will do the same for 10, 11, 12, and so on.

I can buy a decent Panasonic player for just a little over the price of the upgrade, and I won't ever have to pay Panasonic again to be able to play a newer disc. Cyberlink's scammy "subscription" model totally defeats the purpose of having an all-in-one HTPC.

Arg! Sorry, just venting. I'm just hoping that everyone reading this knows that eventually Cyberlink will cut off support for PowerDVD 12 and you'll keep having to pay $60+ to be able to play new releases.

Off to buy a standalone Blu-ray player...

Yet another reason I insist on using anydvd...no need to update my player for disc compatibility reasons.
SamuriHL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
cl76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Yet another reason I insist on using anydvd...no need to update my player for disc compatibility reasons.

AnyDVD is an actual subscription model. It makes no sense to keep paying $85 USD/year just so you can hack other software to play Blu-ray discs! When did we ever come to accept this as a way to watch purchased movies?
cl76 is offline  
post #93 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unfortunately that's what we bought into with blu-ray. The deader HD-DVD is, the better it sounds, doesn't it?
Andy o is offline  
post #94 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Besides you can get a lifetime license for anydvd last I checked.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #95 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Re: 7.1 with PowerDVD 8.0.2217. Tested it further, and having weird results with 2 different discrete 7.1 DTS-HD MA samples. One of them seems to mix sides with rears, but progressively (for ex. rear-right sounds louder when the rear-right channel is played, but there are "traces" of the sound in the rear-side). This is with a sample of an airplane flying, which is more like a sweep across the 4 surround channels. With another sample, an actual discrete sample, there is no mix whatsoever, and every channel plays just like it should.

I don't know if this should still be discussed here, but if anyone wants to test the difference between PDVD 8 and 12, I can upload the samples.
Andy o is offline  
post #96 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 09:50 PM
Newbie
 
cl76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

Unfortunately that's what we bought into with blu-ray. The deader HD-DVD is, the better it sounds, doesn't it?

Not sure if i bought into an expiring Blu-ray player when I bought PowerDVD from Cyberlink...

If Panasonic, Samsung, Sony, LG, etc. can provide free updates, I don't see why Cyberlink can't.

Anyway, lesson learned. Cyberlink PowerDVD sucks.
cl76 is offline  
post #97 of 265 Old 02-07-2012, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

Oh, great, so in this area it's evolved to PowerDVD 8 capabilities then

So I paid for 7.1 decoding in PDVD 8 ultra, paid for 5.1 decoding in PDVD 9 and 10 Ultra. I skipped PDVD11 now I'm most likely to pay again for 7.1 decoding with PDVD12 Ultra.....
Bignickfly is offline  
post #98 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You don't have AnyDVD HD? If not, that's something you should have bought before you bought all those players. If you do, then you don't need to buy any new players anyway.

EDIT: to be clear. I mean, why are you "most likely" to pay again for 7.1 decoding for PDVD12? There are alternatives, especially nowadays compared to the days of PDVD8.
Andy o is offline  
post #99 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I ended up dumping this build, going to stick with the last build of 11.
Nimo is offline  
post #100 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
omholt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another ridiculous thing with Cyberlink is that they don't give you a new version from scratch when you upgrade from an older on. So if you reinstall windows, you have install the first version, then the upgrade and then patches.

I upgraded from 10 to 11 some months ago. So what happens if I upgrade to 12 and then later need to install everything new again. First version 10, then 11 and then 12.
omholt is offline  
post #101 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Kincaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by omholt View Post

Another ridiculous thing with Cyberlink is that they don't give you a new version from scratch when you upgrade from an older on. So if you reinstall windows, you have install the first version, then the upgrade and then patches.

I upgraded from 10 to 11 some months ago. So what happens if I upgrade to 12 and then later need to install everything new again. First version 10, then 11 and then 12.

I purchased an upgrade from v11 to v12 either the day of release or the next and received the full v12 installer.

In the past, I was forced to install v7 and then work from there all the way up to v11. It was truly loads of fun as you are well aware.
Kincaid is offline  
post #102 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

You don't have AnyDVD HD? If not, that's something you should have bought before you bought all those players. If you do, then you don't need to buy any new players anyway.

EDIT: to be clear. I mean, why are you "most likely" to pay again for 7.1 decoding for PDVD12? There are alternatives, especially nowadays compared to the days of PDVD8.

Yes I have AnyDvd HD this is the only way I keep Pdvd10 going. AnyDvd HD does not help with decoding 7.1. But is a great refesh rate switcher, The Pdvd build I have is 2429
Bignickfly is offline  
post #103 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What I meant to imply is that with AnyDVD HD you can bitstream 7.1 audio through ffdshow or better, LAV filters and MPC-HC, and other free alternatives. You do lose menus though, but you can select playlists at least. Also, you can have other cheaper commercial ones that will do the job and you still don't have to update.

PowerDVD 9 took out 7.1 DTS-HD decoding, and neither 9, 10 nor 11 were advertised as having it, so you really can't complain if they don't update them for 7.1 decoding.
Andy o is offline  
post #104 of 265 Old 02-08-2012, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Use AnyDVD's new speed menu. Then you don't ever need to update a player again.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #105 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
omholt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kincaid View Post

I purchased an upgrade from v11 to v12 either the day of release or the next and received the full v12 installer.

In the past, I was forced to install v7 and then work from there all the way up to v11. It was truly loads of fun as you are well aware.

Ok. I didn't receive a full v11 when I upgraded from v10. Improvement then.
omholt is offline  
post #106 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought PowerDVD 12 to be alble to watch my Blurays and my DVD's. There is u Bluray drive in my PC. My video card is a ATI HD5670 and it has a HDMI output.

If I use a HDMI 1.4 cable to connect my PC to my 3D Sony Bravia TV, will I be able to watch 3D on my TV?
Palabra is offline  
post #107 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Palabra View Post

I just bought PowerDVD 12 to be alble to watch my Blurays and my DVD's. There is u Bluray drive in my PC. My video card is a ATI HD5670 and it has a HDMI output.

If I use a HDMI 1.4 cable to connect my PC to my 3D Sony Bravia TV, will I be able to watch 3D on my TV?

Not with that videocard, no.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #108 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the fast reply, I was hoping my card was good enough because on this page:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#2

At the bottom it says: "3D stereoscopic display/glasses support14"

and on the "Footnotes" tab it says:
14. Requires 3D stereo drivers, glasses, and display.

Which video card will be good enough?
Palabra is offline  
post #109 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 5xxx cards are not 1.4 capable. So the stereoscoped 3D is not what most people think of when they talk about 3D blu-rays. I think the 6xxx cards support it but I don't know. The 7xxx cards surely do.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #110 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I don't know what stereoscoped 3D means. (English is not my native language).
On this page: http://www.cyberlink.com/prog/suppor...ent.do?id=2577 CyberLink answers the question "What graphics card do I need to play Blu-ray/Blu-ray 3D Disc and TrueTheater 3D on my computer?"
and there I read:
"ATI:
Minimum: ATI Radeon X1600 series, X1800 series, X1900 series
Recommended: ATI Radeon HD 2400 series, 2600 series, 2900 series, 3300 series, 3400 series, 3600 series, 3800 series, 4500 serids, 4600 series, 4800 series, FireGL V3750, FireGL V5700, FireGL V7750, and FireGL V8700."

So I find it all very confusing.
Palabra is offline  
post #111 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

The 5xxx cards are not 1.4 capable. So the stereoscoped 3D is not what most people think of when they talk about 3D blu-rays. I think the 6xxx cards support it but I don't know. The 7xxx cards surely do.

Actually AMD 5x cards can do HDMI 1.4, MVC just isn't decoded in hardware (so a good CPU is required).

Andy VT -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
babgvant is offline  
post #112 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have new computer with i7 cpu and 8Gb RAM and Windows 7. I really hope it will work then.

I mean to remember there is also a build in GPU in the i7, I can try to connect to that one as well. As soon as I am back home I will try.
Palabra is offline  
post #113 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Actually AMD 5x cards can do HDMI 1.4, MVC just isn't decoded in hardware (so a good CPU is required).

Fascinating. Learn something new every day. I was unaware of that.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #114 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Fascinating. Learn something new every day. I was unaware of that.

This is a perfect e.g. of why everyone should read Missing Remote

Andy VT -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
babgvant is offline  
post #115 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 09:00 AM
Member
 
PrinzII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I subscribed to this thread because I am planning to upgrade my PowerDVD and HTPC this year.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick
Cheap is cheap and nice is expensive. It's how life works.
PrinzII is offline  
post #116 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

This is a perfect e.g. of why everyone should read Missing Remote

I agree. I admit I don't read it enough.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #117 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

This is a perfect e.g. of why everyone should read Missing Remote

Do you know if anyone has tried to flash a 5770 with a 6770's BIOS?
Andy o is offline  
post #118 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

Do you know if anyone has tried to flash a 5770 with a 6770's BIOS?

I do not. It's a very interesting idea though.

Andy VT -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
babgvant is offline  
post #119 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

I do not. It's a very interesting idea though.

If you can trust random people on the Interwebs, it is possible.

Andy VT -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
babgvant is offline  
post #120 of 265 Old 02-09-2012, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's interesting. I don't think I can test MVC decoding if I do it with my 5770, but I could never get smooth output out of the DXVA "copyback"decoders, either the Cyberlink, the PotPlayer or the LAV ones, at leat not with madVR, which chokes on the decoder queue.
Andy o is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off