*Official* PowerDVD 12 Thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 265 Old 01-31-2013, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
pan2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally upgraded from my 6 year-old TV, and joined the world of 3DTVs for the first time with a "Panasonic TC-P65VT50".

When I play a 3D Blu-ray through PowerDVD 12 Ultra (thru my Core 2 Duo + Geforce GT610 HDMI 1.4a HTPC), the VT50 never detects a 3D signal and never prompt me to switch to 3D.

If I press the "3D" button on the Panasonic Remote, then the TV will then give me two options as,
"2D -> 3D"
"2D"

I suppose that means I will be using the TV's abilities to convert 2D into 3D?

The ironic part is that if I play a 3D MKV file that I download from the Internet (with two video images side-by-side) using PowerDVD 12 Ultra, then the TV would detect a 3D signal and prompt me to switch to 3D.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong here?
pan2013 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 265 Old 01-31-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by pan2013 View Post

Finally upgraded from my 6 year-old TV, and joined the world of 3DTVs for the first time with a "Panasonic TC-P65VT50".

When I play a 3D Blu-ray through PowerDVD 12 Ultra (thru my Core 2 Duo + Geforce GT610 HDMI 1.4a HTPC), the VT50 never detects a 3D signal and never prompt me to switch to 3D.

If I press the "3D" button on the Panasonic Remote, then the TV will then give me two options as,
"2D -> 3D"
"2D"

I suppose that means I will be using the TV's abilities to convert 2D into 3D?

The ironic part is that if I play a 3D MKV file that I download from the Internet (with two video images side-by-side) using PowerDVD 12 Ultra, then the TV would detect a 3D signal and prompt me to switch to 3D.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong here?

Did you enable 3D output in the Geforce config utility?
babgvant is offline  
post #243 of 265 Old 02-03-2013, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metropole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just run into some issues with a Netflix "Total Recall" BlueRay.
I have PowerDVD11. Is there any advantage upgrading to 12?
I am using it just for BlueRay playback, streaming audio directly to the receiver - so I am not using any audio decoding.
metropole is offline  
post #244 of 265 Old 02-03-2013, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
pan2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

Did you enable 3D output in the Geforce config utility?

That was exactly it!!

Went though Nvidia's Stereoscopic 3D wizard in Nvidia's Control Panel, and all the 3D Blu-ray works like a Charm in PowerDVD 12.

Thanks babgvant!
pan2013 is offline  
post #245 of 265 Old 02-04-2013, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by pan2013 View Post

That was exactly it!!

Went though Nvidia's Stereoscopic 3D wizard in Nvidia's Control Panel, and all the 3D Blu-ray works like a Charm in PowerDVD 12.

Thanks babgvant!

Np.

NVIDIA GPUs prioritize gaming use cases over media consumption, so depending on your setup you may need to toggle the setting to play 3D BD in 3D and 2D BD in 2D.
babgvant is offline  
post #246 of 265 Old 02-10-2013, 10:11 AM
Member
 
natas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to get powerdvd 12 to ask to switch to 24fps for m2ts files? When I play blurays it ask me to switch but my m2ts files do not. The m2ts files play at the refresh rate windows is currently in.
natas777 is offline  
post #247 of 265 Old 02-12-2013, 11:13 AM
Member
 
mejinuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

Anyone getting flashes during 1080p playback with Powerdvd 12 ultra?, its only with full HD content the rest is perfectly fine. Im using a Gtx570, 8 gb ram, I5-760 @ 3.6ghz connected to a Panasonic plasma & Denon Avr 1912 through Hdmi 1.4a, thanks.
mejinuf is offline  
post #248 of 265 Old 03-25-2013, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
andretiton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

First sorry for my english. biggrin.gif

My PowerDVD 12 works perfectly, except for subtitles in 3D. Subtitles appear separate, as if the movie always stay running side by side, without turning the 3D effect!

Any solution?
andretiton is offline  
post #249 of 265 Old 04-02-2013, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
lakoros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lakoros is offline  
post #250 of 265 Old 04-02-2013, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
andretiton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andretiton View Post

Hi,

First sorry for my english. biggrin.gif

My PowerDVD 12 works perfectly, except for subtitles in 3D. Subtitles appear separate, as if the movie always stay running side by side, without turning the 3D effect!

Any solution?

Somebody help?
andretiton is offline  
post #251 of 265 Old 04-02-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakoros View Post

PowerDVD 13

Yea, I bought it this morning. The new audio delay option allowed me to fix the audio sync problems that have plagued me since I got my new TV in January. The speed is really impressive. WAY faster than any other version. I like it so far but I've only used it for an hour or so.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #252 of 265 Old 04-02-2013, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Barry C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know whether Power DVD 13 will play 3d video clips from 3d camcorders at their native frame rate- 60i for the JVC TD1? The big problem with Power DVD is that it will only play clips at 24p which means clips shot at higher frame rates can be choppy. It would be great if they fixed this problem in version 13.
If anyone knows the answer to this, who has 13, could you please post it?
Barry C is offline  
post #253 of 265 Old 04-03-2013, 02:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,003
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 339
30-day working trial is available (it won't mess up your existing version). Or if you post a short clip somewhere, I am willing to test it.

Update

Never mind. I found 4 clips here shot by JVC GS-TD1:

- MTS AVCHD 3D (1920x1080i60 AVC, Side by Side (Half)) TXP / TSP
- MP4 (1920x1080i60 MVC) THR / TSR.

I set "3D display" to "HDMI 1.4 enabled 3DTV (720p60)". All files played just fine in 3D. I also tried to play them back with PowerDVD 12 and TMT6, but failed.

Pretty impressive. smile.gif
renethx is offline  
post #254 of 265 Old 04-03-2013, 10:27 AM
Member
 
kevin_y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
While playing a 3D Blu-ray in PowerDVD 12 Ultra in 3D mode, if I press time seek (PgUp or PgDn key), I'm instantly kicked out to 2D mode. Has anyone experienced this? Can anyone try to see if they can duplicate this? Pressing FF and REV does not cause this problem. But I prefer to use time seek.

I'm using PowerDVD 12 Ultra, latest update 3/18/13, build 2625, and Nvidia 3D Vision 2 latest driver 3/25/13, version 341.22. I use Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium, EVGA GTX 480 graphics card, and ASUS VG278H 3D 27" monitor.
kevin_y is offline  
post #255 of 265 Old 05-29-2013, 01:39 AM
Member
 
TitanFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using PowerDVD Ultra, and can't figure out how to get the chapter forward/back navigation to work. I have an MKV file that has several chapter markers, and I can navigate to them using VLC, but how do I navigate to the chapter marks using PowerDVD??

Thanks.
TitanFan is offline  
post #256 of 265 Old 05-29-2013, 04:27 AM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm been setting up a HTPC to run XBMC 12.0 and experimenting with both TMT6 and PowerDVD12 as the external player to playback full HD 3D Blu-ray ISO files. Both programs give me 2 issues that I need to figure out how to resolve before I actually purchase 1 of them.

First, the auto play. What a pain in the butt! I mainly put discs into the BD drive to rip them, not to have them automatically launch TMT5 of PowerDVD12. Annoying and thus far I've not found the option that will kill this annoying feature.

Second, HD 3D playback works after doing some testing, but the video is scaled down at least 10% of the screen. I can not find the option to sort this out. I'm running a Radeon 6670 GPU with AMD 3DHD drivers and Catalyst Control installed in Windows 8.

I need to resolve both of these problems, for either program but the more I read about TMT6 the less I like, and the sooner the better as the projector arrives next week!
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #257 of 265 Old 05-29-2013, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
acejh1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You should be able to stop the Autoplay through Windows Control Panel.

Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Autoplay > Change to required setting for a Blu-ray movie (Take no action)
Batiatus Rules likes this.
acejh1987 is offline  
post #258 of 265 Old 05-29-2013, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejh1987 View Post

You should be able to stop the Autoplay through Windows Control Panel.

Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Autoplay > Change to required setting for a Blu-ray movie (Take no action)

Thank You!!!!!

And now I've fixed my scaling issue. Almost there!
Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #259 of 265 Old 06-25-2013, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone experienced choppy video playback during blu ray disk playback? I built a new HTPC with an i3 3225 HD4000 graphics. 8GB Ram, LG 10x blu ray drive. I'm bit streaming HD audio to my Denon receiver and while the audio is fine, I'm getting slight video choppy playback. It's subtle but definitely noticeable. It doesn't always occur but mostly happens every 10 min or so during a show or movie on blu ray. pausing briefly then resuming, or skipping chapters will fix it temporarily till it happens again a few minutes later. Any ideas?
jeff lam is offline  
post #260 of 265 Old 06-25-2013, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff lam View Post

Has anyone experienced choppy video playback during blu ray disk playback? I built a new HTPC with an i3 3225 HD4000 graphics. 8GB Ram, LG 10x blu ray drive. I'm bit streaming HD audio to my Denon receiver and while the audio is fine, I'm getting slight video choppy playback. It's subtle but definitely noticeable. It doesn't always occur but mostly happens every 10 min or so during a show or movie on blu ray. pausing briefly then resuming, or skipping chapters will fix it temporarily till it happens again a few minutes later. Any ideas?

Last time I had that problem it was the drive.
lespurgeon likes this.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #261 of 265 Old 06-26-2013, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTHX View Post

Last time I had that problem it was the drive.

I've had that problem (the drive was spinning down or something similar IIRC) too.
babgvant is offline  
post #262 of 265 Old 06-26-2013, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTHX View Post

Last time I had that problem it was the drive.

Thanks for the input. I currently have an LG 10x blu ray drive and it seems to work fine for everything else I do. Maybe I'll try a brand with better support and firmware updates. What is the choice brand for blu ray playback these days?
jeff lam is offline  
post #263 of 265 Old 06-27-2013, 12:39 AM
Member
 
TitanFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanFan View Post

I'm using PowerDVD Ultra, and can't figure out how to get the chapter forward/back navigation to work. I have an MKV file that has several chapter markers, and I can navigate to them using VLC, but how do I navigate to the chapter marks using PowerDVD??

Thanks.

Any ideas?
TitanFan is offline  
post #264 of 265 Old 06-27-2013, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff lam View Post

Thanks for the input. I currently have an LG 10x blu ray drive and it seems to work fine for everything else I do. Maybe I'll try a brand with better support and firmware updates. What is the choice brand for blu ray playback these days?

I've had really good luck with Pioneer's BD drives. I haven't even thought to look for a firmware update for it in quite a while.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #265 of 265 Old 02-12-2014, 04:35 AM
Newbie
 
kevtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How to Solve PowerDVD 12 bluray playback stutter / judder using ReClock - this is a guide on how to setup PowerDVD12 + Windows 7 + ReClock to remove or substantially reduce Stutter & Judder during Bluray playback http://hometheatre.ie/how-to-solve-powerdvd-12-bluray-playback-stutter-judder/ .
kevtech is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off