Cox's new MPEG-4/H.264 channels + Intel Video 2000 + Ceton = black screen? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 79 Old 08-19-2012, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I see that there is a new Driver available, it was not there last time I checked.

Product Detected Intel® Processor Graphics 3000
Current Driver Installed 8.15.10.2696
Newer Driver Available: 15.26.12.64.2761 (8.15.10.2761)

I guess I will have to get another CableCARD and try again. I used my HDHomeRun Prime CC in my new TiVo Elite/XL4 last month.

I am not holding my breath tough.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 79 Old 08-19-2012, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post

I see that there is a new Driver available, it was not there last time I checked.

Product Detected Intel® Processor Graphics 3000
Current Driver Installed 8.15.10.2696
Newer Driver Available: 15.26.12.64.2761 (8.15.10.2761)

I believe 2761 has been out since June 21 on Intel's downloadcenter. But it seems to take a while for various other indices to pick up changes.
jim2100 is offline  
post #63 of 79 Old 11-17-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Has anyone tried this new Intel Driver to see if the Cox MPEG-4 (H.264) Plus Pak channels will now display?
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=22083

I do not currently have a CableCARD for my Tuner, But might get one if the issue is resolved. Thanks.

Release Notes:
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/22083/eng/releasenotes_gfx_2875-64.pdf
DRIVER VERSION: 15.28.8.2875 and 15.28.8.64.2875
DATE: October 30, 2012
SUMMARY:
This document provides information about Intel’s Graphics Driver for Microsoft Windows 8* and Microsoft Windows 7* operating systems. This combined driver for both Windows 8 and Windows 7 includes support for hardware accelerated Ultra HD (4096 x 2048) H.264 decode, support for Ultra HD monitors, OpenGL* 4.0 and fixes multiple bugs.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #64 of 79 Old 11-17-2012, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I haven't yet... waiting for a hard drive to back things up first (needed the space for recordings) and/or try another clean install just in case I decide to believe Eric who says it must be something else on my end blocking it since his laptop can play h.264 as well as handle protected content, though I don't think he realizes its the combination of the 2 on the cox plus pack channels that messes it up.

Right now I don't feel like spending $100 for 2TB or $120 for 3TB when on Friday it will be $64/$99 or less - hopefully the fry's deals will be better. Will definitely try by the end of next weekend. I noticed my windows update wanted to install wddm 1.2 updates for the intel graphics this week but since I don't have anything hooked up to the intel graphics I passed.

I'll also try it in Windows 8 to see if it makes a difference.
signcarver is offline  
post #65 of 79 Old 11-18-2012, 02:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by signcarver View Post

in case I decide to believe Eric who says it must be something else on my end blocking it since his laptop can play h.264 as well as handle protected content, though I don't think he realizes its the combination of the 2 on the cox plus pack channels that messes it up

I asked Eric at one point if he had ever tested on a Cox system using H.264, He said No, there were no Cox markets being tested. Considering there is No report of them working with Intel HD Graphics 2000/3000, as much as I respect Eric, He is wrong in this case. The channels do work fine on my laptop too, but my laptop is using Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family Graphics and it is not an i3/5/7 CPU.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #66 of 79 Old 12-04-2012, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
daidavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post

Has anyone tried this new Intel Driver to see if the Cox MPEG-4 (H.264) Plus Pak channels will now display?

I did, and no, they still will not play. Unbelievable that Intel can't/won't get this fixed.

The release note quote you highlighted in bold seems to be qualified (a little further down in the document) with "3rd Gen Intel Core processors with Intel HD Graphics 4000/2500 now supports" though ... I have a 2nd gen with HD Graphics 2000.
daidavel is offline  
post #67 of 79 Old 02-25-2013, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Newer driver is out, is this working for anyone with 2nd Gen HD Graphics 2000/3000. Still no luck for me.

Product Detected - Intel Processor Graphics 3000
Current Driver Installed - 9.17.10.2932
Date: 12/18/2012

Driver Package version 15.28.12.64.2932 (9.17.10.2932) for Windows 7

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=22375&lang=eng&OSVersion=Windows%207%20%2864-bit%29*&DownloadType=%0A%09%09%09%09%09%09%09Drivers%0A%09%09%09%09%09%09

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #68 of 79 Old 02-25-2013, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Did not work for me for 2000/3000... With windows 8 and my laptop's hd4000 (i7-3517U), I have no problems with h.264 channels but did have problems on same machine running windows 7 (did this early January so it may not have been latest driver). . Tried windows 8 with my desktop and hd2000 and had no luck with 12./18/2012 driver.
signcarver is offline  
post #69 of 79 Old 04-01-2013, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Was this ever resolved or is the case that a discrete video card is required?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #70 of 79 Old 04-02-2013, 04:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 200
There isn't any new driver released since. So the last post on this issue stands (2/25/13).
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #71 of 79 Old 04-02-2013, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mo0sic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
mo0sic is offline  
post #72 of 79 Old 04-02-2013, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 200
It has not been released yet. We will see what the new driver brings us.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #73 of 79 Old 04-04-2013, 11:23 AM
Member
 
darekd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New drivers have been posted - version 15.31.3.3071(9.17.10.3071) but only for HD GFX 4000/2500.
darekd is offline  
post #74 of 79 Old 04-22-2013, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
daidavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, its been more than a year since I started the thread; I guess I'm ready to give up. Cox is tempting me by adding more channels in this format ... ESPN 3D just came online for example.

So I'm thinking of biting the bullet and getting this card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=14-121-475

That should be fine for 3D BluRay and bitstreaming DTS-MA and Dolby TrueHD, correct ?

Also I assume adding this card doesn't count as a change that will render all of my DRM'ed recorded TV unplayable ... anyone know for sure ?

Thanks!

PS
FWIW, I still have an open ticket with Intel on this ... other than initially requesting my system/setup information, I never heard a word from them.
daidavel is offline  
post #75 of 79 Old 04-23-2013, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
If you are going to go with nVidia, look for one with 96 or more CUDA cores.

I use this one quite successfully and recommend it if you are on a budget. Otherwise a GTX 660 or so would be a good choice to take full advantage of all madVR has to offer for local content playback. These get quite spendy though.

BTW, a video card is considered part of the protected playback path so changing it will most likely require resetting your DRM usage rights. Try to watch as much copy protected content before making the switch.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #76 of 79 Old 04-23-2013, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I can now confirm the latest Intel driver for HD4000 IGP on Windows 8 works for H.264 copy-protected channels (using the Cox 3D channel for testing which is H.264 and copy-once confirmed via 411-info). The older HD graphics on 1st Gen Core i5 still not working (there is no new drivers for it).

I can also confirm that the Windows 8 WMC key MS given out for free last year still works even though MS claims that it must be used before 1/31/2013.

Thanks OP for pointing out that Cox 3D channel is H.264 copy-protected. In my area, it is channel 896 and its content is seasonal. Last year, it is London Olympics. Now, it is ESPN 3D.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #77 of 79 Old 04-23-2013, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That was my experience that hd4000 under windows 8 now works, at first only the hd4000 of my laptop worked not my desktop... none that I have tried worked under windows 7 (I believe there is one newer version out that I have not tried) I will retry again in May when I have a month "off" to play around with it a little more. I have not tried HD2500 in quite awhile as I don't have one but occasionally one gets brought to me for repair. I have not got HD2000 or 3000 to work but I should be able to try latest drivers on this again in May for both win7 and win8 (hopefully as my keys for win 8 are running out)
signcarver is offline  
post #78 of 79 Old 04-23-2013, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 200
The latest driver (15.31) for HD4000/2500 are for both Windows 7 and 8.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #79 of 79 Old 05-18-2013, 08:11 PM
Member
 
richdmoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I have been looking at an i3 nuc, paired with the upcoming sd 4 cablecard with h264 hardware encoding. Nice to know this issue has been resolved with the latest drivers.
richdmoore is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off