Any DVDFab blu-ray MKV users here? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-09-2012, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using eac3to and Arcsoft Total Media Theatre DTSHD-MA decoder to rip blu-ray to MKV with original video and FLAC audio. This has worked well for quite awhile.

However, I get distorted audio whenever I try to rip a blu-ray with DTSHD-MA that has 6.1 audio instead of 5.1. Two examples that come to mind are the Star Wars and Lord of the Rings series.

So I wonder if some easier tools, even if they are not free, are finally ready for prime time.

My requirements are no change to the video, MKV container, with the key being convert the TrueHD or DTSHD-MA to FLAC at 24-bit depth. I don't pay for blu-ray just to listen to 16-bit down-rezzed audio via TMT from Arcsoft.

And before someone suggests, I have had little luck with MKV including DTSHD-MA audio track. It seems the codecs aren't quite there today for Win 7 x64. I am using Shark007 from a few months ago and tried this approach back then.

Thanks for any shared experiences from DVDFab users.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-09-2012, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I have simplified bitstreaming audio.
In current releases, Its a single click to set it up.


LL

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-09-2012, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Mark Guebert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have used both DVDfab and MakeMKV with good results. However I don't change the audio at all, I leave the DTS-MA or TRUE HD audio tracks untouched and muxed in the MKV file. It plays back great on my SageTV setup, on my HD300 anyway. My Client is only outputting 2ch analog audio, I have not tried to bitstream in awhile. The last time I did the HDMI audio level was really low.
Mark Guebert is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 02-09-2012, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

I have simplified bitstreaming audio.
In current releases, Its a single click to set it up.

Does this work equally well using analog out via Xonar D2X? Is the full resolution of the original audio track retained for both blu-ray audio formats? I do not bitstream.

Perhaps it is time upgrade to and try your codec package again. When I last tried unsuccessfully it was your first release incorporating LAV.

Thanks for the good work.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-09-2012, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Guebert View Post

I have used both DVDfab and MakeMKV with good results. However I don't change the audio at all, I leave the DTS-MA or TRUE HD audio tracks untouched and muxed in the MKV file. It plays back great on my SageTV setup, on my HD300 anyway. My Client is only outputting 2ch analog audio, I have not tried to bitstream in awhile. The last time I did the HDMI audio level was really low.

I think the difference between our setups is I require decoding in the HTPC as I use analog->amp signal path. It sounds like you are letting the receiver/client/extender decode the audio.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-09-2012, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifespeed View Post

Does this work equally well using analog ...

Use default settings for anolog audio. It will decode the HD audio, including DTS MA to pcm for your soundcard.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 02-10-2012, 12:15 AM
Member
 
chris71478's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: lexington, Ky
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love dvdfab. It's powerful, flexible, and easy to use. I did the crazy "eight steps but its free" thing for a while, and I'm very pleased with the price I paid for this program. I don't use FLAC, though, so can't comment there.
chris71478 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 02-10-2012, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried the trial of DVDFab last night. It appears to want to only provide the Dolby Digital audio track when ripping to MKV, which completely defeats the purpose of Blu-Ray.

I have been able to include the DTS-HDMA track instead of FLAC with an eac3to rip, but even with the help of the esteemed Shark007, have had difficulty getting the proper analog audio from WMC. FLAC just works.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 02-11-2012, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Mark Guebert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is something wrong, I used DVDfab all the time to extract the DTS-MA or TRUEHD soundtracks.
Mark Guebert is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-12-2012, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Guebert View Post

There is something wrong, I used DVDfab all the time to extract the DTS-MA or TRUEHD soundtracks.

Does this have to be done separately from ripping blu-ray to MKV, then merged together with the video? When I tried to create a MKV from BD in the right pane it just showed AC3 audio.

I assume conversion to FLAC audio is not possible with this software.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-12-2012, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Mark Guebert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Conversion to Flac is not possible that I am aware of, when ripping use the bluray ripper to MKV and it will automatically select the AC3 track, I uncheck it and select the DTS-MA or TRUEHD soundtrack, make sure MKVremux is selected at the bottom. It should work.
Mark Guebert is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off