HTPC and wireless HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-13-2012, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cripp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HTPC idea.

Okay, what I have going on is I'm disabled and I use a
computer in my bedroom that I use for controlling all my AV
equipment by voice using DragonDictate and remote control
software on the computer. What also have HTPC, which sits
underneath the TV, but I am not able to really control
anything but the basic commands like up, down, left, etc..
I'm not able to control the mouse or unique keyboard
functions. What I would like to do is use that machine and
had a dragon on it so I can control everything. But having
it by my bed, I cannot run a cable across the floor. I was
looking at getting a wireless HDMI transmitter/receiver and
hook it up to the machine and the TV. So I can control it
a lot better, giving me the function to also surf the
Internet if I want.

Here lies the problem, my computer cart has a monitor on it
to whenever I don't want to use the TV, I can use the
monitor on the cart. In order to have both of those hooked
up, under Windows 7, I can clone both desktops however, it
will take the largest resolution of the smallest monitor
for BOTH monitors. Which means I could not watch it at
1080p, Windows XP was able to clone that allow different
resolutions for each monitor. Is there a way to do this?

Now as far as the sound goes, it does not want to pass
sound through the HDMI cable when a computer speakers
plugged into it. I want the option of being able to have
sound come through both. Is there a way to do this?

I really appreciate any input that you can give me on this.
Thank you.
Howard
cripp7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-20-2012, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cripp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*bump*

any one??
cripp7 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-20-2012, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:


In order to have both of those hooked
up, under Windows 7, I can clone both desktops however, it
will take the largest resolution of the smallest monitor
for BOTH monitors. Which means I could not watch it at
1080p, Windows XP was able to clone that allow different
resolutions for each monitor. Is there a way to do this?

Two ways. One, don't clone the desktops, but Extend them. The larger tv should be able to be set at 1080p (or whatever resolution your tv accepts) white the smaller one will stay at it's resolution. This method should work, provided your video card is powerful enough to push signal to two different resolutions at once.

The second way, and probably better, is to just disable the smaller monitor. Not sure about what computer you are using, but most laptops have a function key to cycle between using one monitor, cloning both, extending both, or using the external monitor. This would probably be the better solution as your computer would only be feeding one monitor.

Quote:


Now as far as the sound goes, it does not want to pass
sound through the HDMI cable when a computer speakers
plugged into it. I want the option of being able to have
sound come through both. Is there a way to do this?

With Windows you can only output sound to one device at a time. So you can either unplug the computer speakers, or you can just set the hdmi device as the default device. Right click the volume icon in the taskbar, hit Playback Devices, then select the hdmi device and Set as Default.
sitlet is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off