ripped bds do not get DTS master audio, why? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 Old 02-17-2012, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I rip a BD and select DTS master audio, but when I play the movie back my receiver only shows it as DTS, not DTD Master audio

I have made sure I am ripping correctly.

Any ideas? Receiver being picky?

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 02-17-2012, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 266
What player are you using? It could be extracting the DTS core from the DTS HDMA file. You should be using software that can bitstream the audio correctly. ie FFDShow, LAV Filters or software like PowerDVD or Arcsoft Total Media Theater.
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3 of 38 Old 02-17-2012, 07:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
List all hardware involved.

List all software involved.

List all codecs involved.

That would be a good start.
assassin is offline  
post #4 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

List all hardware involved.

List all software involved.

List all codecs involved.

That would be a good start.

Sorry silly of me not to.

-Using DVD fab to rip BD disc to MKV file.
-Use XBMC or VLC for playback, both same result
-HDMI from HTPC(i3-2100, gigabyte mobo z68ma)to Pioneer Elite SC-27 AVR

How do I figure out which codecs are being used?

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 06:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,499
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 915
proBABLY not ripping the movie with DTS-HD MA track...

That's my guess.

Can you confirm your video file contains this track before we trouble shoot other stuff?

VLC is a rather simple and excellent player.. and it auto plays DTS over the digital out.

If your using a current version of VLC the problem is not in your player.;

It's in how you making the video file or the video file itself.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

proBABLY not ripping the movie with DTS-HD MA track...

That's my guess.

Can you confirm your video file contains this track before we trouble shoot other stuff?

VLC is a rather simple and excellent player.. and it auto plays DTS over the digital out.

If your using a current version of VLC the problem is not in your player.;

It's in how you making the video file or the video file itself.

DVD fab shows I do have the DTS master selected. I will try again though and let everyone know.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I use JRiver and have to copy the file dtsdecoderdll.dll to the Windows Sys32 folder (or its equivalent folder for x64 systems) to get DTS-HD MA playback. I believe this file is needed with other players too.

DTS-HD MA will only decode the DTS "core" (which usually is 5.1 48Khz) unless you supply the dtsdecoderdll.dll, which then enables full decoding of the HD lossless parts.

You can get this file from the "trial" version of Arcsoft TMT. Or serach this forum for "dtsdecoderdll" and there may be a link/copy of it.
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just ripped another. Made sure DTS-HD track was selected in DVD fab.

I believe I am ripping correctly....? I don't check the 'remove HD audio'.

I opened the file in Handbrake afterwords and it shows only DTS. I thought there was a DTS-HD option if the audio file had it?

Sean

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 07:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
VLC or XBMC (except for a certain build) does not support HD audio bitstreaming. Use a DirectShow player (e.g. MPC HomeCinema) with LAV Filters.

MediaInfo tells you what tracks are in the file.
renethx is offline  
post #10 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Correct. You have to use hardware AND software that BOTH support HD Audio bitstreaming.
assassin is offline  
post #11 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Your hardware (Core i3-2100, Pioneer SC-27) is OK. You just need to use a correct player and a source that includes HD audio track.
renethx is offline  
post #12 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
i dont think movies come with just dts as the main track.

in my experience, it is always dts-hd ma, truehd+ac3, ac3, or lpcm.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #13 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the help.

I downloaded MPC-cinema and CCCP.

When I look at media info audio it says its only DTS.

So why is DVD fab not ripping with DTS-HD even though it lets me select DTS-HD as an option?

I am guessing that is what the issue is at the moment?

Thanks

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #14 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post

I use JRiver and have to copy the file dtsdecoderdll.dll to the Windows Sys32 folder (or its equivalent folder for x64 systems) to get DTS-HD MA playback. I believe this file is needed with other players too.

DTS-HD MA will only decode the DTS "core" (which usually is 5.1 48Khz) unless you supply the dtsdecoderdll.dll, which then enables full decoding of the HD lossless parts.

You can get this file from the "trial" version of Arcsoft TMT. Or serach this forum for "dtsdecoderdll" and there may be a link/copy of it.

Not for 'bitstreaming' to the receiver which I think is what the OP is trying to achieve.

Is this method not just required where the user wants the player to decode the audio track?
steelman1991 is offline  
post #15 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by ser_renely View Post

Thanks for the help.

I downloaded MPC-cinema and CCCP.

When I look at media info audio it says its only DTS.

So why is DVD fab not ripping with DTS-HD even though it lets me select DTS-HD as an option?

I am guessing that is what the issue is at the moment?

Thanks

I recommend MakeMKV (or BluRip+AnyDVD HD).

MPC HomeCinema and LAV Filters (and madVR) are all what you need (check the sticky thread "Advanced MPC..."). In general you'd better stay away from a codec pack.
renethx is offline  
post #16 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
dtsdecoderdll.dll is necessary to *decode* DTS-HD to LPCM. For bitstreaming, you don't need it.
renethx is offline  
post #17 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

I recommend MakeMKV (or BluRip+AnyDVD HD).

MPC HomeCinema and LAV Filters (and madVR) are all what you need (check the sticky thread "Advanced MPC..."). In general you'd better stay away from a codec pack.

Hmmm, I just bought dvdFAB BD Ripper. Should it not be able to rip DTS-HD?


I am going to uninstall the CCCP. I am getting a bit ahead of myself.

Thanks.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #18 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

dtsdecoderdll.dll is necessary to *decode* DTS-HD to LPCM. For bitstreaming, you don't need it.

I am bit streaming, correct? As my receiver is decoding...

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #19 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by ser_renely View Post

I am bit streaming, correct? As my receiver is decoding...

Yes, you are bitstreaming HD audio. You receiver decodes HD audio.

MakeMKV is free (as long as it is beta), so try it anyway. This is the simplest program to rip BD in MKV with all video/audio/subtitle tracks intact.
renethx is offline  
post #20 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Yes, you are bitstreaming HD audio. You receiver decodes HD audio.

MakeMKV is free (as long as it is beta), so try it anyway. This is the simplest program to rip BD in MKV with all video/audio/subtitle tracks intact.

MakeMKV tells me the evaluation period has expired and I need to purchase an activation key.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #21 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 12:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by ser_renely View Post

MakeMKV tells me the evaluation period has expired and I need to purchase an activation key.

Read: Can't get beta working? or MakeMKV is free while in beta
renethx is offline  
post #22 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Read: Can't get beta working? or MakeMKV is free while in beta

Ahhhh, that makes more sense now.

Thanks.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #23 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Zagor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Install this version of XMBC. It supports bitstreaming of DTS-HD and TruHD.
Zagor is offline  
post #24 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Knight_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similar problem riping BD discs into mkv using makemkv. If i play the BD DISC with Powerdvd it will show DTS-HD MA however if i rip that disc into mkv, and i do select the DTS-MA track, when playing it shows a different name on the information tab, it will say DTS 7.1. But i know its playing HD content because of the bitrate, which is around 6k on avg. So my guess is that there is an issue with the way the audio tracks gets tagged when it gets converted to mkv.

P.S: I tried DVDFAB also and did the same thing.

Whenever there is any doubt, there is no doubt.
Knight_2000 is offline  
post #25 of 38 Old 02-19-2012, 09:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
PowerDVD 11 supports only DTS core in MKV. PowerDVD 12 supports DTS-HD in MKV.
renethx is offline  
post #26 of 38 Old 02-20-2012, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got it to display DTS-MA on my receiver with the CCCP pack and MPC when I used and MakeMKV. It also worked in the DVDFAB rips I did as well, but it was real slow - un-watchable - that was odd.

When I deleted the CCCP pack and followed the directions to install MADVR and LAV filters from the sticky thread I could not get DTS MA to display on my receiver. Seems pretty simple to me, but I just can't get it to work.

How do I check the bit rate of the audio?

I feel like an idiot. Seems like it should be so basic

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #27 of 38 Old 02-20-2012, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagor View Post

Install this version of XMBC. It supports bitstreaming of DTS-HD and TruHD.

ahhh I will try that as well, thanks.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #28 of 38 Old 02-22-2012, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, it seems that if I play DTS-HD on MPC it will only work with FFDshow, and I cannot get it to work with LAV audio filters. No idea how or why.

On top of that, it seems that if I rip with Makemkv I can get DTS-HD audio. If I rip with DVDfab the video skips all around and does not play correctly when I try and get DTS-HD.

So one of my question is this, if my receiver says I am getting DTS-HD am I really getting it? How can I check?

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #29 of 38 Old 02-22-2012, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ser_renely View Post

Thanks for the help.

I downloaded MPC-cinema and CCCP.

When I look at media info audio it says its only DTS.

So why is DVD fab not ripping with DTS-HD even though it lets me select DTS-HD as an option?

I am guessing that is what the issue is at the moment?

Thanks

You have to select .mkv pass through in the profile pain.

With the newer versions it's a lot easier to make blu ray 3d to .mkv's. I just ripped POTC Stranger Tides and the file size is only 10gigs for 3D even with the lossless.
Nimo is offline  
post #30 of 38 Old 02-22-2012, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

You have to select .mkv pass through in the profile pain.

With the newer versions it's a lot easier to make blu ray 3d to .mkv's. I just ripped POTC Stranger Tides and the file size is only 10gigs for 3D even with the lossless.

Thanks. I think I have the newest version, 8.1.6.3?

Where exactly is the "profile pane"?

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off