Will this work for a BASIC HTPC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-19-2012, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hallpas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will this work?

It's for my mother who loves the look of my HTPC with Media Browser. I've been looking at Boxee Box but have read quite a few negative things about it, and I'd rather not have to worry about having to go to her house every time there's a firmware update, Flash issues with Apps, etc. I figure I'll put the movies/TV she loves on it, set-up MB/WMC and be done with it.
She'd pretty much only use it with Netflix, Hulu Desktop, DVD MKVs rips made with MakeMKV and some 720p stuff (I assume my BD rips won't work).
I'm really just not sure how powerful the PC needs to be for her basic needs.
Hallpas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-19-2012, 11:20 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Here is the Spec's on the RAM, from crucial.com:

Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 (non-ECC)
Maximum Memory: 8GB
Slots: 2
Each memory slot can hold DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 PC3-10600 with a maximum of 8GB Kit (4GBx2) per slot.*

http://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...-UB10P&Cat=RAM

An 8GB kit is only $52, so I really see why not. Personally, if the video card does not offer HDMI output, you are going to suffer.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-20-2012, 12:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
It should work, BD and BD rips are no problem, as long as hardware decode acceleration works (dual core 1.3GHz processor is pretty weak).
renethx is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-20-2012, 05:24 AM
Member
 
dph1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For context, I'm running an old (until I update it later in the year) Intel e2180 with 2gb of DDR2 800 memory without a problem. I use it for XBMC streaming from my server, netflix, and Amazon streaming without a problem. I just overclocked it to 3ghz but it did run just fine at 2ghz stock.
dph1077 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off