"Breaking Dawn" will break if you have AnyDVD on your system - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kegobeer View Post

Serves you right for wanting to watch a Twilight movie. BD+ was trying to save you.


Thirded.

I'm assuming that if you rip this immediately with AnyDVD before running PDVD, BD+ won't be able to do it's thing.
Or play with MPC-HC.
Ruiner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking BD+ is why Apple has yet to offer Blu-ray.

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
post #33 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post


Thirded.

I'm assuming that if you rip this immediately with AnyDVD before running PDVD, BD+ won't be able to do it's thing.
Or play with MPC-HC.

See they are forcing him to pirate just to play his movie, brilliant.
jeffkro is offline  
post #34 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
mcantu1 is offline  
post #35 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Sounds like a new rootkit scheme is in the works on BD discs!
AVTechMan is online now  
post #36 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If that's the case, I suspect the brilliant developers of Slysoft will find a way to clean it.

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
post #37 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I think IIRC my Blu-ray movie that I bought just last week: 'Chronicles of Narnia - Voyage of the Dawn Treader' also had BD+ protection on the disc. However I used MakeMKV to do the work and apparently it did just fine in ripping the disc. I have a bad feeling that these studios are going to try to implement more BD+ crap on these discs to cause more problems.
AVTechMan is online now  
post #38 of 42 Old 02-21-2012, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
jidelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Glen Allen, VA, USA
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Thirded.

I'm assuming that if you rip this immediately with AnyDVD before running PDVD, BD+ won't be able to do it's thing.
Or play with MPC-HC.

Hmmm...I normally use AnyDVD before any of my software players see my Blu-ray movies but I'm curious - would it matter if a PC was not connection to the internet?

jidelite
jidelite is offline  
post #39 of 42 Old 02-22-2012, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kegobeer View Post

serves you right for wanting to watch a twilight movie. Bd+ was trying to save you.


+1
TimA is offline  
post #40 of 42 Old 02-23-2012, 03:02 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

Sat down to view the BD version of "Twilight: Breaking Dawn" I'd purchased at a retail establishment. After the previews were over, the disc tossed up a message on the screen that said something to the effect that it found ripping software on my computer and, therefore, wasn't gong to play. That was it. Done. No menus, nothing.

I shut down AnyDVD and tried to re-start the movie, but nothing doing. PDVD 9 won't go past the splash screen, now. And it tells me I might need an update to play the movie. Clicking "yes" or "cancel" does nothing. Just disabling AnyDVD versus exiting the program also does nothing. PDVD won't run, now.

Going down to my theater shortly to see what the damage is and figure out how to fix it.

Thanks, Hollywood. I had no plans to rip/copy your movie. Now I'm out $22 for nothing.

I popped in the disc and ripped it to ISO with AnyDVD without an issue. This was before the latest update was released, so it was 6.x. I had no issues whatsoever. I just tested the ISO and it works perfectly fine.
cybrsage is offline  
post #41 of 42 Old 02-23-2012, 03:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

I popped in the disc and ripped it to ISO with AnyDVD without an issue. This was before the latest update was released, so it was 6.x. I had no issues whatsoever. I just tested the ISO and it works perfectly fine.

Did watching it make your eyes bleed? Or your man parts shrivel?
assassin is offline  
post #42 of 42 Old 02-23-2012, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,843
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

I popped in the disc and ripped it to ISO with AnyDVD without an issue. This was before the latest update was released, so it was 6.x. I had no issues whatsoever. I just tested the ISO and it works perfectly fine.

The BD verson?

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off